We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Dinner”

Red Grill House and Cocktail Bar
Ranked #12 of 130 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We went to Red Grill house for my birthday whilst in Guernsey visiting my wifes family who live on the island.

Starting the meal with a couple of rather potent cocktails was fantastic, as was the fantastic steak that was recommended to us. We were very pleased with the meal and I would highly recommend the chips!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PiersB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    54
    20
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a fantastic meal here. After worrying we wouldn't get a table, we were squeezed in at 9. The service was truly excellent. The staff were fantastic, topping up drinks, taking our order promptly and clearing our plates quickly. As a vegetarian I was very well catered for with the impression that nothing was too much trouble. My partner was equally very pleased with advice on steak and the provision of blue cheese sauce. The owner Dave was excellent, passionate about food, drink and service. We will definitely head back on our next visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I visited here for a weekday lunch date and had the Tuna Steak (med/rare), Spinach and Triple Cooked Chips.

The tuna steak was absolutely cooked to perfection - the best one I have eaten to date!

The spinach in cream was to die for.

Staff where extremely friendly and always on hand for drinks/ service.

Will definitely be eating here again - hopefully for dinner next time!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magwah88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding In every way”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was over seeing a client and looked this up on Trip Advisor

The fillet steak we had was to die for , as were the mixed starters and accompanying side dishes.

The service was faultless and for a Tuesday night the place was full and buzzing.

My advice is "Just go"

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Faultless food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

For a restaurant that specialises in steaks, what really impressed me was the attention given to the serving of the vegetables. Each veg dish was an impressive mouthful, with contented and appreciative murmurs from around the table.
The steaks were like cutting through butter, and melt in your mouth good. The quality of the food was first class, and the owner is quietly passionate about his craft, and it shows.

The menu is extensive, and will have me going back for more.

As pricing goes, for the quality of the food, it's spot on. For food this exceptional, the bill was as you'd expect. A venue to be used sparingly, for those very special occasions.

Staff were delightful, service excellent.

If there were a downside, it would be the noise level, and the actual decor. There is little in the way of soft furnishings, so the noise bounces around and makes conversation reach shouting level early on. I left with a sore throat!

Nevertheless, I'll be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GuernseyGirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Grill House and Cocktail Bar also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Red Grill House and Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing