We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop for coffee (and a purchase!)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guernsey Pearl

Guernsey Pearl
Ranked #80 of 123 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Description: This is the restaurant tearoom at this visitor attraction. I was most impressed by what was on offer. It closes at 5 which is a pity, but the people working there are great and the range on the menu was extensive. A real chef in charge. I tasted Soulanka for the first time and it was amazing, and amazing value.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stop for coffee (and a purchase!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Lovely, expensive jewellery but worthy of a coffee or ice cream in the café next door. Very picturesque spot right opposite Fort Grey.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good basic but no more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Had a late breakfast here or early lunch depending on your outlook. Full English, good portion size although a little greasy. Sat outside with views of the sea on a beautiful sunny day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice food, big portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I visit here only occasionally as I live in St Peter Port so its quite a long way out as I don't drive. Went here in March with my friend one afternoon and again a few weeks ago and whilst there with my parents we had a bowl of chips (which was quite a large bowl of them) and a slice of apple pie each, the apple pie was already cut into slices and was a big bit of cake. Would recommend this restaurant/cafe to people as it's lovely and the seating area is pretty big. The prices are very reasonable as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay96_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“nice place to eat so long as there are no coach parties in”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Good food and good value in a tea shop - just steer clear of busy times. The food is well cooked and lots of dishes cooked to order - delicious sandwiches. Fish goujons good value and generous portions supplied

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzbuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,644 helpful votes
“Visit at a slack time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We popped into Guernsey Pearl to look at the goods and have a coffee. There were about a dozen people there in a large layout that has probably over 200 seats. Most seats are at tables covered with oilcloth tablecloths. Although on a coastal site, few of the tables have sea views.
The coffee was OK but the service was nothing special.
What might have been an average run of the mill tourist refreshment stop was taken down in our view by the pervading stink of garlic. The smell spread into the associated pearl showroom.
We won't be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Normanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guernsey Pearl also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Guernsey Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing