We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special”
Review of Guernsey Museum

Guernsey Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guernsey Museum at Candie is a small, award-winning museum set in beautiful public gardens in St. Peter Port. We have a permanent exhibition of the early history of Guernsey and artworks from the museum collection. Our three other galleries house varied, non-permanent exhibits and displays (please see our website or Facebook page for up-to-date information). Our gift shop is well stocked with local gifts and souvenirs, locally produced art, cards, toys and sweeties. We also sell a large selection of local books both fiction and non-fiction. We have a café on site serving meals, snacks and drinks and a dedicated space for young visitors called the Discovery Room.
Saint-Tropez, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The local art rooms were more interesting than the current exhibit. Not recommended unless you have a special interest in nautical art or Guernsey art.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    36
    34
    16
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Island in a nutshell.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Guernsey Museum gives you the history of Guernsey, not to mention including a wonderful art collection. In addition, they have a great gift shop and cafe. Stop by to learn about the island, have a bite to eat and then step outside to the Gardens to get a breathtaking view of St. Peter Port harbor. Amazing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxChapelTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Museum with a View”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We called in at this museum because it was included in our Discovery tickets and were pleased to spend half an hour looking around the exhibits. The exhibits had clearly been designed with young children in mind but were interesting and informative. On a rainy day we imagine this could be an essential place to seek shelter.

We enjoyed sitting in the grounds, which happen to be the Candie Gardens, in the sunshine with some drinks from the cafe as well as our visit to the museum.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DaveWilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“empty room and unfinished exibtion”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Went to the muesum yesterday for the opening day of their exhibition on crime and punishment. After we had paid we were then told one room was empty but didn't think much of it and didn't think it would effect what we wanted to see. we then entered to find people still setting up cardboard boxes everywhere and no signs up to say what anything was and this was aprox. around 12ish and the museum had been open for 3 hours very disappointed and ruin the rest of the museum for us.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HenryDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK but nothing to go back for”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Not a lot to see although the grounds are very nice. Make sure you get the key to the Victoria Tower nearby and spend some time there. You will need to be fit to get to the top....

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guernsey Museum also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Guernsey Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing