We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic”
Review of Baan Thai

Baan Thai
Ranked #47 of 126 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A beautiful little owner run restaurant tucked away in the old quarter of Guernsey's town, the menu isn't vast but the prices are reasonable and you are always going to get a great meal, if you get asked if you want your food spicy make sure you really do, spicy means spicy! If a group of you are planning to go make sure to book in advance, the restaurant is small.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews Guernsey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“We dined like princes.”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

In this modest little restaurant we dined like princes on aromatic and crunchy wonders served on golden plates.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Thai Restaurant”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This restaurant is very unassuming from the outside but the food is simply wonderful. It is a rather small restaurant so you do need to book and reserve a table but if you are looking for a very relaxed and chilled atmosphere with great food and service, this is the one for you.

Thanks for a great evening Baan Thai :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephEddyRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
channel islands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A favourite Revisited - But Space Sure is Tight!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We hadn't been here for perhaps two years - no reason except perhaps we had been too often. Housed in a tiny cramped single room, the tables hug each wall with just enough space for the server to shimmy through. When we arrived on a wet windy night recently we nearly walked away - the number of people in wet rainwear queuing for take away orders stretched from the back of the restaurant half way to the door between the tables, all but one of which was taken yet no one seemed to be eating. The atmosphere though was buzzing and that persuaded us to stay - and I was very glad we did. With remarkable efficiency and lots of charm the solo server presented us with menu's, a bottle of wine and a quick catch up chat before dashing off down a steep flight of stairs to bring up bags of take away food and diners dinners.
The food was as good as remembered best described I think by a Thai friend who told me it was like eating favourite food at home - I was glad to be asked how much chilli I liked in my food - and the lively atmosphere made it well worth turning out in the wind and rain.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Britannia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Thai food I've eaten”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

As a local, I don't know why this place isn't ranked higher! It's such a great little place and consistently good. The decor is authentically Thai (never having been to Thailand myself, but friends who have agree) as is the food, which is fresh, zingy and delicious. You don't get that Thai-food hangover as they don't use any MSG here either. Make the effort to order the Som-Tam papaya salad a day in advance and be sure to only order Thai-style if you can take the heat!

The staff are friendly and work really hard and the food is as good whether you eat in or take-away. Cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mervalino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baan Thai also viewed

Guernsey, Channel Islands
 
 

Been to Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing