We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thomas de la Rue

Thomas de la Rue
Ranked #34 of 123 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I ate dinner here and I saw that the average price for a main course was about £10. For that I thought the food would be okay but nothing special. However, I have to say it was fantastic. It was freshly cooked and the ingredients were of a good quality.

It's good pub food and I would definitely eat here again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 68AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    45
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

A really nice glass of Merlot was served within minutes of my arrival. I ordered the minute steak ciabatta, which was served promptly and with a smile! The steak was good as were the accompanying chips! Small variations to the order (no onions with the steak, plain mayonnaise instead of garlic) were noted by the waitress and my requests relayed to the chef! A most enjoyable ice cream sundae followed, and a first rate cappuccino finished off a good lunch. All this in about an hour. I had a table in a ground floor area with doors open to the street as it was a bright, warm day. I have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone who needs a fairly quick but nonetheless enjoyable meal at lunchtime in the centre of St Peter Port. Well done to the waitress. She appeared to be working alone and was obviously very busy. Grateful thanks also to the chef! I shall be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarkanglican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Crunchy crab”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I went on a work bash a little whole ago to the Front Room at the De La Rue, which is the more salubrious part of the pub. The two girls (one of whom I think may have been the manageress) and the guy working the floor and the bar were pretty good and very friendly, and the bill paying experience, which can descend into a farce on work bashes, was made very easy.

On the down side, the food really wasn't up to very much at all. I shared a seafood platter which was ok, it contained various sea creatures either battered or breadcrumbed served with a tartare sauce and a 'mystery' sauce, none of which (I don't think) was prepared on site (which is fine, it's a pub). For my main I had the crab linguini, which unfortunately contained four decent size pieces of shell / cartilage for me to crunch away on.

Some others had ok food, others didn't fare too well, at least three of the steaks for example were overcooked.

The wine list was cheap and contained various animals (parrotfish, lizards etc.). There were a fair few beers / ales / ciders on tap and in bottles.

This was pub food as opposed to gastro pub food, at prices erring towards the latter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quityourjibberjabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food for a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Now, this restaurant deserves to be higher on the lists since the food they serve is very good. It may sound stupid but the peas served with the food were so fresh they really tasted great. We all took some sort of fish and were not disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcellinoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Came in just for a drink but spotted the Summer Seafood menu and returned for a meal the following day. Friendly staff and some delicious fresh crab! Thanks.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thomas de la Rue also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Thomas de la Rue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing