We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Pleinmont Observation Tower and Dolman Battery
Certificate of Excellence
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Go on a Sunday to climb to the top of the Tower - very interesting but lost my sun hat in the wind,. Interesting to see the fortifications made by the Germans in WW2.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    36
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
1,127 reviews
746 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 593 helpful votes
“WW2 German Defenses: Undamaged by War, Great Access!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

When the Germans occupied Guernsey in June 1940, they began to build costal defenses as they did all along the French side of the English Channel. Some call these Martello Towers, but this tower was built much later. The 5 story tower and nearby battery allows you to move through different areas and gives great access. You can use the original range finder and experience the reconstructed barracks. Climb to the top for a commanding view of the coast. For the adult price of £3.00, the value is amazing for what you get to see and do.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JT_Turner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Stark german fortification”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A very interesting place to view the largest german tower fortifications. There is good information in each room, and you see a MG34 artillery range scopes etc and on a blustery day we got up onto the roof. My only quibble was the guides were quite keen to move us on, turning out lights before we'd got down the stairs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank daveashuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Something Different”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Go on a Sunday afternoon to be able to access the Tower which contains displays and you can climb right on to the roof if you can manage the metal rung ladder to get there. We visited as part of a circular walk from the Imperial Hotel to take in Fort Pezeries as well. Lovely afternoon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank OzzyKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radstock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pleinmont Observatory tower”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Having wanted to visit this site as part of my WWII visits, I walked up from the cafe at the bottom of the hill, which took me a while, but it was worth every step.
Some fantastic views from the top after climbing another 6 lots of steps. Again, very much worth the effort.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank coinman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pleinmont Observation Tower and Dolman Battery also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Pleinmont Observation Tower and Dolman Battery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing