We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stayed for two nights on business. excellent central location. happy with room, which was a good size. Very good breakfa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke of Normandie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“stayed for two nights on business. excellent central location. happy with room, which was a good size. Very good breakfa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

stayed for two nights on business. excellent central location. happy with room, which was a good size. Very good breakfast, especially the sausages. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    202
    42
    13
    6
See reviews for
55
287
43
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

This hotel is well placed in St Peter Port and offered a reasonable room rate. The website presented a smart boutique hotel appropriate for the business traveller.

I arrived around 9pm and room service had already finished for the night. Fair enough, it is only a 2 star hotel.

On arriving at my single room I found it to be very small and largely filled by the bed and a tiny desk that was too small to be practical for working on. There was also an open fuse box on the floor under the desk.

The room windows had been left open and the room was full of flies and other insects. Not ideal having to sort out when all you want to do is crash. The waste bin in the room had not been emptied since the previous resident.

The room was decorated in a pleasant modern colour scheme as shown on the website but the paint was scuffed in places giving an untidy appearance. The corridors also suffered from a lot of scuffed paint taking the edge off otherwise pleasing aesthetics.

A decent wall mounted LCD TV was provided. However, there was no remote control to be found and this limited me to 4 Sky channels and no BBC News accessible through the buttons on the TV itself.

There was loud music emanating from outside of the room, either from the hotel bar or from a nearby bar. This didn't quieten down until closing time around 11pm which mid-week in a business oriented hotel is pretty poor.

The hotel provided WiFi, but there was no password information in the room. In fact there was no hotel information in the room at all.

The bathroom was positively minuscule, there was not enough room to bend over to wash my face at the sink without opening the door and I'm not that tall! Added to that the hot water tap didn't work, meaning that having a wet shave was interesting when there was no mirror in the shower either.

The chap running the reception desk was pleasant and sorted out taxis for me with no problem.

When compared to the Moores where I usually stay I found the value for money here to be very poor and won't be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Navmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

We stayed for two nights at this lovely town hotel and had a wonderful time. Our room was large, modern and beautifully decorated with a huge flat screen TV on the wall. The king size bed was comfortable and the shower had good pressure. The food in the Restaurant was faultless for both breakfast and dinner as well as good value for money as the hotel was part of the "Tennerfest" food festival that runs on the Island in October. We did not use the bar as we found it old fashioned to our taste and could enjoy the minibar selection in our bedroom. All in all, the lovely hotel made up for the horrible weather we had all week end; I'd recommend anyone going to Guernsey to check the weather forecast first! There's not much to do when it's raining!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reginamartin208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

upon arrival we found the reception staff to most helpful and friendly, we were upgraded to executive rooms and were very pleasantly surprised at the modern high standard of the rooms, we coudn't find fault with anything, they were comfortable, clean and very well presented, we found all the staff to friendly and attentive from bar person to chefs..the location is excellent to

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

sorry to say very disappointed with this hotel....the breakfast time was very poor- people waiting for a table it was so crowded, little or no choice for breakfast self service (just one tinned peach left in bowl !), dirty dishes everywhere, moody waitress...and the standard room we stayed in was damp, smelly and dark...do not recommend...I was fooled by the reviews I read here on trip advisor so made the wrong decision to stay at this hotel which almost ruined my first holiday in guernsey

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tourist10157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

I travel to Guernsey ona regular basis and have stayed in most of he hotels available.

Pound for pound tihs is the best by far

Staff are very helpful, food in therestaurant and the excellent bar is outstanding

The rooms are of a very good quality and I believe the courtyard rooms which have attracted some critcism are all being refurbished.

I do tarvel a lot and this is a real home from home

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david_spring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

Working as a Contractor in Guernsey, I need a hotel that is cheap enough for me to be able to afford to stay here (I pay my own expenses) yet meets my (exceedingly!) high standards - I'm used to staying in 5* hotels.

Having stayed in 5 other hotels on the island that my colleagues recommended, I've found that The Duke of Normandie manages to meet my needs so well that I have been 'living here' for a month and plan to stay here for the rest of my contract.

It is fairly central in the main part of St Peter Port, yet being close to the Courthouse in a quieter area of town (not that town is generally noisy!). It is a 2/3 minute walk to the Harbour & sea front (down hill).

The rooms vary in size, a single has a double bed, and a double a king. All are clean and well presented, with everything in working order.

All the staff are friendly and bend over backwards to help you - from Reception offering to carry your bags, to the Bar Staff remembering your 'usual' tipple, and Breakfast staff how you prefer your eggs.

The food is good, healthy, pub grub in The Admiral's Bar. I'm busy working through the bar menu, then starting on the Restaurant :)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ali_katxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Les Rocquettes
Les Rocquettes
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Normandie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Normandie Hotel

Property: Duke of Normandie Hotel
Address: Lefebvre Street, St Peter Port GY1 2JP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#10 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Normandie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Normandie is a small hotel in Guernsey offering a warm welcome and modern facilities. We are conveniently situated in the heart of St Peter Port in a quiet location just 75 metres from the High Street. Our 17 executive rooms and 20 en-suite standard rooms offer a choice of accommodation to appeal to business travellers or to those taking a break in Guernsey, and uniquely amongst hotels in Guernsey we offer the convenience of a private town centre car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Duke of Normandie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duke Of Normandie
Duke Of Normandie Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing