We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel yet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2011

we have been going to guernsey for several years,we have never gone back to the same hotel twice,but next time we go we are seriousley considering going back to this one. when you walk in to the room you go wow, its clean.fresh looking,well stocked fridge,loads of gadgets.the staff are fantastic.and the food out of this world,for breakfast i have never seen so much choice. for the evening meal menu the quality and choice ranks the same as a five star hotel menu.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janet g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
There are newer reviews for Duke of Normandie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed there for a five day break, found the staff on reception very helpful on arrival. Both my friend and I had large double rooms with a very comfortable king size beds, (Though had paid a single supplement) my room had a bath in the bedroom, took a little getting used too!!. The room was very clean the staff were all very pleasant and friendly.
We had half board the food was very good, excellent breakfast with plenty of choice as with the rest of the hotel the staff were very helpful and friendly.
I would fully recommend this hotel and stay there again. Very good value for money.
Very central location in St Peter Port.

Room Tip: If you are not so agile and like some privacy when bathing, suggest you ask for a separate bathroom
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MasieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

all staff very helpful could not do enough for you. levels of cleanliness high, room very comfortable had everything i needed. bar had lovely choice of food and my meal was lovely. there was a member of staff who offered a massage service which was brilliant and wonderful value for money.

Room Tip: although my room waas smaller than average it did not matter as i had everything i needed and it was...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate our Silver Wedding. Once we had been dropped off by a rather grumpy taxi driver we were greeted by a smiling check in desk and from then on the next 10 days were simply perfect.
Our executive room was spacious and well equipped, with chocolate and champagne a lovely touch for our arrival and our big day.
Food in the brasserie and bar was very good, and the waiting, bar and reception staff were unfailingly courteous and cheerful.
A hotel full of charm and character in the centre of a lovely town. The return taxi driver redeemed his trade. He was lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

From the moment we arrived at reception to our last morning, we were made to feel so very welcome. All staff were friendly, helpful and charming. We stayed in an executive room which was an excellent choice,both bright, spotless, all mod cons and have to mention the very comfortable beds.The towels were fluffy and the dressing gowns were a nice touch. The breakfasts were superb and plenty of choices fresh fruit, cereals,continental breakfasts and cooked breakfasts too. One of us is a vegetarian and used to making do with whats available,but what a surprise, veggie food on the menu every day, mouth watering dishes and beautifully presented.The chef deserves a special mention as all food was tasty, fresh and looked amazing.
Location is great enabling us to stroll to the bus station where we got buses to various destinations and walk to the docks to gain passage on the ferries to Sark, Herm etc. We had glorious weather to walk along coastal walks, breathtaking views.We got lost sometimes but found the locals charming and very helpful, always finding time to chat with us. My sis and i will return to this hotel next year and bring our partners next time as we now know they will grow to love it as much as us. We felt this hotel is better than a 3star.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This is a lovely hotel for a break in Guernsey. Our room was very comfortable and well equipped, with an excellent bathroom. Breakfast was delicious, with plenty of choice, and dinner was also very good, and great value for money. The hotel staff are charming and very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gos44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed at The Duke of Normandie from the 13th of august to the 17th loved it
Beautiful breakfast excellent selection
Staff very helpful and friendly
Bedrooms of very high standard
Looking forward to going back next year

Over 65s
Co kerry Ireland

Room Tip: book Executive
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
873 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
820 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.6 mi away
Les Rocquettes
Les Rocquettes
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Normandie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Normandie Hotel

Address: Lefebvre Street, St Peter Port GY1 2JP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#10 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £78 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Normandie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Normandie is a small hotel in Guernsey offering a warm welcome and modern facilities. We are conveniently situated in the heart of St Peter Port in a quiet location just 75 metres from the High Street. Our 17 executive rooms and 20 en-suite standard rooms offer a choice of accommodation to appeal to business travellers or to those taking a break in Guernsey, and uniquely amongst hotels in Guernsey we offer the convenience of a private town centre car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Duke of Normandie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duke Of Normandie
Duke Of Normandie Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing