We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2008

Date of stay: 10 – 24 January 2008,

I had to come to Guernsey at the beginning of the year to visit a sick friend, who was bed ridden at home. Not wanting to get in the way of her family, I looked online for Hotels in Guernsey, granted I did find the hotel on a random click, but looks like fate smiled on me then. I booked my room and also got the half board option to include dinner on top of the usual rate, since I didn’t really know many people in Guernsey and didn’t want to stray to far from the hotel. For a little bit extra I took advantage of a promotion which they had going and got upgrade to an Executive room.

Upon arrival I was warmly greeted and shown to my room. I felt like I was in something out of fashion catalogue. This must be what all those photo models must be use to. Quite posh décor, although I was a bit clueless to how the DVD player worked, someone came up each time to help operate it.

As for the dinner, that little bit extra for half board went a long way. 3 courses for only £10? A bargain, even though I was too full for dessert anyway.

All in all, I must say that my stay at the Duke of Normandie has been one of my better experiences, and my friend is also feeling allot better now.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank richard-h20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2008

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jersey001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2008

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KalleOWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2008

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2008

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Kaza16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2008

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank roger_madden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2007

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelweary_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
880 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
1.3 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Peter Port
754 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Normandie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Normandie Hotel

Address: Lefebvre Street, St Peter Port GY1 2JP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#10 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £57 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Normandie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Normandie is a small hotel in Guernsey offering a warm welcome and modern facilities. We are conveniently situated in the heart of St Peter Port in a quiet location just 75 metres from the High Street. Our 17 executive rooms and 20 en-suite standard rooms offer a choice of accommodation to appeal to business travellers or to those taking a break in Guernsey, and uniquely amongst hotels in Guernsey we offer the convenience of a private town centre car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Duke of Normandie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duke Of Normandie
Duke Of Normandie Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing