We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2013

A really good hotel, beautiful rooms, big beds!! Mini bars and snacks. Big baths very spacious room.food were wonderful answell especially the tai fish cakes! No complaints at all, very friendly people also a very quite environment. The pubs/resteraunts been decorated very interesting.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2013

Three night break in really great small hotel. Excellent, well decorated / furnished, rooms and in good location for shops marina etc. Nice bar with reasonable priced meals. Also given that I was not able to get out and about as much as hoped the free dvd library came in very handy !
Our trip was somewhat spoiled by having put my back out quite badly - this made walking difficult. We must make comment on all of the staff, ( Aine in particular ) who were so considerate, concerned and kind given the problem with my back. This was shown in that we were allowed to stay in our room well beyond normal checkout time while waiting for late pickup. Return to Guenrsey would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supa_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Room a good size and nicely decorated. Tv dvd player, mini bar. Bathroom too small, sitting on loo meant knees against bath and sink cramped in corner.
Free dvd collection most welcome. Staff helpful. Reasonable choices for breakfast. Very central location with free parking.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacredcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

we stayed here for an overnight stay and werent dissapointed the hotel was lovely the staff were so friendly and helpful had to ask for directions to find this hotel but was easy when we got there just turn up from the archway at boots we would defenitly recommend this hotel and stay there again if visiting guernsey

Room Tip: go for the executive room they are like little apartments we couldnt fault this hotel well done aga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenmo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Just come back from a short business trip. I have to say that this is one of the nicest small hotels that I have stayed in for some time and I stay in a lot. I had a courtyard room that was finished to a very high standard with all the facilities one could wish for, the staff were all very friendly and helpful, room service quick and the food superb. Well done to all, I will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I'm currently staying at the hotel. It's 10pm and I've tried calling reception 4 times but no one is answering, so I can't arrange a morning call or taxi. I've been down to reception and this is closed. It look good on the outside but it's service that counts.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robbo900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeManager, operations manager at Duke of Normandie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

Dear Robbo 900

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Duke. Please accept our sincere apologies for the problems you had getting through to our front desk. This has highlighted an issue with our telephone switchboard which we have now resolved. We pride ourselves on the service we provide to all our guests, and hope you give us the opportunity to prove that we are one the Islands top 3 star hotels in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Brian markland
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The hotel is very central, literally a 2 minute walk to the High street and main shopping area and anywhere in Town is walkable.The staff were all very friendly knowledgeable and helpful.The rooms are split with some in the main hotel and then there are rooms in the courtyard.They all seem to have been upgraded recently to a high standard and were of a reasonable size.Breakfast was very good with a selection of cereals, fruits and juice etc and then cooked breakfast done to order.The breakfast room as well as the restaurant all looked like they had recently been renovated.There is also a bar which looks to be older and more traditional in the main part of the hotel which sold a good selection of beers and wines although only local beers were in bottles and not draught.We ate in the restaurant on New Years eve and the food and service were excellent.The rooms were cleaned every day and the staff were very efficient and friendly.Overall a very good hotel and comparativly for Guernsey and the channel islands very good value for the standard of service we received.The only slight hiccup was finding the hotel in the car.As it is so central there is a maze of one way streets in the town centre and all the roads and streets seem very narrow.Once we had found it once then it was straightforward after that.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sroden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
880 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.6 mi away
Les Rocquettes
Les Rocquettes
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Normandie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Normandie Hotel

Address: Lefebvre Street, St Peter Port GY1 2JP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#10 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £80 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Normandie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Normandie is a small hotel in Guernsey offering a warm welcome and modern facilities. We are conveniently situated in the heart of St Peter Port in a quiet location just 75 metres from the High Street. Our 17 executive rooms and 20 en-suite standard rooms offer a choice of accommodation to appeal to business travellers or to those taking a break in Guernsey, and uniquely amongst hotels in Guernsey we offer the convenience of a private town centre car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Duke of Normandie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duke Of Normandie
Duke Of Normandie Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing