We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem, lovely staff”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just returned from four days in Guernset with this hotel as a base and we were delighted with our choice. The room was very comfortable, breakfast was excellent and the lovely staff could not have done more to make our stay a success (despite unseasonal weather!). Highly recommend this as a mid-price quality hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaretW469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    228
    47
    13
    7
See reviews for
60
332
48
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I travel to the Channel Islands pretty often for business and always stay in various locations in the hope that I will find a gem! This one is a great location but the room was very small and insanely hot with a broken air con unit so not pleasant. Service and location was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HampshireNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey, channel islands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for Easter weekend. Very very central location. Had a courtyard room which was lovely though a little compact. My only gripe was that my cooked breakfast was served to me cold on a cold plate. Ingredients were good quality though. Overall very good. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ratcliffejersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Just back from guernsey, lovely stay at the duke of normandie.
Staff were very helpful and room was lovely clean and cosy (all you needed was there).
If I had to say anything, it would just be the toilet flush was abit broken and water dripped out for ages after flushing (room 38) we didn't mention it because It Didn't effect our stay, still nice place would stay again. Maybe a summer visit will be due. Thanks

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank F J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Dec, Wow What friendly people, rooms lovely,
Going back in Sept
Location so close to shops, Very central
Resturant was closed, But ate in the bar area , which was lovely, food great, would
Recommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is my 4th stay at this lovely hotel. Staff are always so friendly,welcoming & helpful.
Travelling on business alone i always feel safe in such lovely surroundings.
Hopefully back again in June to my Favorite hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely the court yard is great for summer but the rooms inside the main building are j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 831izzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2013

A really good hotel, beautiful rooms, big beds!! Mini bars and snacks. Big baths very spacious room.food were wonderful answell especially the tai fish cakes! No complaints at all, very friendly people also a very quite environment. The pubs/resteraunts been decorated very interesting.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
854 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.6 mi away
Les Rocquettes
Les Rocquettes
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Normandie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Normandie Hotel

Property: Duke of Normandie Hotel
Address: Lefebvre Street, St Peter Port GY1 2JP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#10 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Normandie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Normandie is a small hotel in Guernsey offering a warm welcome and modern facilities. We are conveniently situated in the heart of St Peter Port in a quiet location just 75 metres from the High Street. Our 17 executive rooms and 20 en-suite standard rooms offer a choice of accommodation to appeal to business travellers or to those taking a break in Guernsey, and uniquely amongst hotels in Guernsey we offer the convenience of a private town centre car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Duke of Normandie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duke Of Normandie
Duke Of Normandie Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing