We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the Duke of Normandie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“We love the Duke of Normandie”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

On arrival we were greeted by Sasha who we had met when we stayed before.
There seemed to be a mix up with the rooms which Sasha sorted out straight away for us.
We had 3 rooms booked with our party.
My partner & i had a lovely room outside the main building.
A queen bed and the room was lovely and modern. A free safe, plenty of storage space, tea & coffee, just lovely.
The only down side is that the bathrooms haven't been renovated in this part of the hotel.
The screen on the side of the bath didn't stop water from going all over the bathroom floor and the taps on the sink were falling apart.
We had dinner in the bar and the food was fantastic. I had the goats cheese salad which was stunning.
We then popped back to the bar later in the evening and saw some staff that we had met on our previous trip which was great.
We had a few drinks in the bar and then slept very well in our lovely bed.
Breakfast was a treat. Cereal, pastries, yoghurts etc and something cooked from the hot menu.
I had the full english which was yummy. :-)
We managed to get a later check out time as our flight wasn't till mid afternoon. So thank you to the staff for allowing us to do this.
Overall it was a fantastic stay and hopefully one day we will go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchi700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    223
    46
    13
    6
See reviews for
60
326
48
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

At the top of St Peter Port, do not attempt to walk to the hotel unless you are reasonably fit as there are steep inclines from the port area up to the hotel. Once there the check in was efficient and the room was clean and tidy. My room had a very small bathroom/shower area though I do not know if this was typical of all rooms. A couple of eating areas - the brasserie for pretty (and more expensive) fare and the Irish pub for beer and pub grub (which was quite good). Be aware that the Reception does not open until 7.00am so any earlier departures will need to be arranged with the management.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STTKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleurtuit, France
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Our second visit to this great, centrally located hotel, just a couple of minutes from the town centre and the reason we'd booked it.
The first time we booked we got a very spacious room which was, however, a wee bit dark. This time we had, apparently, a "superior" room which was much smaller than the first one we'd had. Nevertheless it was adequate for our needs as we were just in transit overnight, so all we needed the room for was sleep.. The bed was comfortable, the service was excellent but some may feel that the edge of the bath, for instance, is a bit high. My wife certainly found it a bit difficult. Myself, I found that getting the shower to work was definitely a question of trial and error. Certainly it's workings are not obvious and I feel that a small notice of how it works would have been:
1. useful
&
2. a saving in terms of time and water as it took me about 10mins to work it out.
For instance, it isn't obvious that one of the taps on offer regulates temperature and the other, if you turn it one way, fills the bath but if you turn it the other way, feeds the shower head. As I say, a small notice could save some frustration.
One thing I found very surprising was the state of the towels and bath mat. They were clean, no problem, but very frayed with the result that when I towelled myself dry my bath towel started to rip down the middle. not something you expect to see in a hotel charging £120,-- per room. A shame.
That aside, the breakfast, full English, or other hot dishes like Eggs Benedict, AND buffet if you can handle all that early in the morning is excellent as was the attentive service. Being a Marmite Baby I was pleased to see that that was also on offer in addition to the usual assortment of jams and marmalades. Cranberry juice was also a pleasant addition to the usual orange juice.
An added bonus is the decking area of the bar in the very secluded and sheltered courtyard, getting sun late in the afternoon. A pleasant place to enjoy a chilled glass of something you fancy after your day sightseeing or shopping.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gogif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Very quiet hotel, ideal base for travelling around the island. Very friendly staff food excellent. Rooms well equipped modern and clean. Hotel set close to the centre of town and yet near enough for a walking excursion to the cliffs. Reasonably priced, recommended for those who are after a quiet break. Very much enjoyed our stay and would return. Couldn't fault the staff who would go out of their way to be of assistance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 208John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed here in early June, having booked a package through the "Channel Islands Direct" division of Premier Holidays. We flew from Bristol airport on a twin-prop ATR-72 run by Aurigny Air Services.

Premier Holidays were very professional. An elderly member of our party has difficulty walking, and Premier/CID very very good liaising with Aurgny to select the best seat, to arrange a lift to the aircraft and arrange a wheelchair. Though these precautions turned out to be unnecessary on the day, the excitement of a trip on a plane giving extra strength to the old legs. Premier/CID also had a friendly rep waiting for us at the airport to direct us to our waiting minibus.

Aurigny were also very good. The hostess allowed some young Guernsey schoolboys returning from a cricket trip to blow off a little bit of steam, then skillfully got them settled. Our outward plane had some problems and was an hour late. For the return, the same(?) plane couldn't even get to Guernsey, so our return turned from a 50 minute hop to a long journey via Gatwick on a more modern version of the ATR-72. So, if your Aurigny plane has 4 bladed propellors, keep your fingers crossed! If it has the later, more powerful engines with 6 bladed props, you're probably okay.

All the staff in the hotel were polite, friendly and helpful. We like proper milk with our tea, and they were happy to provide us with a jug of fresh Guersey milk to replace the little pots of white fluid. The rooms were stylishly modern, though not everyone liked the brown decor. I thought it was fine myself. The beds were comfy and the bathroom was spacious and clean with a deep bath and a good shower. I think the breakfast team were struggling a little to cope with the hotel being full: Each day, at least one breakfast item was cold/lukewarm. We felt a little pressured to finish and leave our table. The last day, when we had a taxi booked in an hour and a half, they were slow to take our order and breakfast took 41 minutes to arrive after ordering. Our elderly part member consequently got stressed and worried about missing the taxi and plane. She did however manage each day the short but fairly steep incline up to the hotel from the high street. Though it was long enough and steep enough to put her off popping out for a stroll or similar.

The best thing we did in Guernsey was take the 20-minute ferry to Herm (£11) and (except mother) walk around its coast - absolutely lovely. The harbour steps at both ends took a bit of negotiating. I also hired a bike - £10 - and cycled clockwise round most of the island (not the south). Also lovely, though the first bit, heading west out of St PP through lovely rolling green countryside, was a bit hilly. The rest, following the coast past many beautiful deserted white-sand beaches, was flat, mostly on a purpose-built cycle path. There's a hire place next to the tourism office, but they had sold out so I walked 10 minutes to Millards on victoria road. Some cycle-hire companies will deliver and collect.

Would we go to the Duke Of Normandie again? Yes. Would we book through Premier/CID again? Definitely. And that has nothing to do with the surprise welcome-home complimentary Hotel Chocolat mini-box that was waiting for us beneath our letter-box... Lovely touch.



(not needed in the end)

Room Tip: Most first-floor rooms are accessed via an outside spiral staircse from the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpitfireTriple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

A nice hotel , well located just off the high street.The hotel calls itself " boutique" not sure what that actually means , but our room was rather dark, due to lack of light and dark furnishings/carpet etc.Bed was very comfortable and we selp well.
Good breakfast, attentive staff

Room Tip: We were upstairs in the courtyard, maybe the rooms in the hotel building itself may not be so dark?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We spent three nights at the hotel in early May.
This is a pleasant but unpretentious hotel very well situated in the centre of St. Peter Port.

For those who do not know Guernsey you are only 75 yards from the High Street and close to the harbour and business centre. This does not mean that the hotel is noisy. Lefebvre Street is a very quiet street.
The hotel is built round a courtyard with an open air sitting area which is a delight in fine weather. The breakfasts are very good and the kitchen produces very good simple food, which is efficiently served in a small but attractive resaurant.

Our bedroom was on the first floor with access up a spiral staircase to a covered verandah. (Those who would struggle with the staircase should ask for a ground floor room.)

Our bedroom was fine with a clean and modern ensuite bathroom. If we had any criticism it was that because of the outside verandah other guests pass outside your bedroom window, which is fitted with smart wooden blinds. The verandah and the dark furnishings make the rooms rather dark and the lights are, as per the modern style, rather dim.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timspurrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
776 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
2.2 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
571 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Normandie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Normandie Hotel

Property: Duke of Normandie Hotel
Address: Lefebvre Street, St Peter Port GY1 2JP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#10 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Normandie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Normandie is a small hotel in Guernsey offering a warm welcome and modern facilities. We are conveniently situated in the heart of St Peter Port in a quiet location just 75 metres from the High Street. Our 17 executive rooms and 20 en-suite standard rooms offer a choice of accommodation to appeal to business travellers or to those taking a break in Guernsey, and uniquely amongst hotels in Guernsey we offer the convenience of a private town centre car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Duke of Normandie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duke Of Normandie
Duke Of Normandie Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing