We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Hotel Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quirky Hotel Bar”
Reviewed 14 September 2009

I quite like this place I have stayed here twice now and will probably need to return to the Island again so will again stay. Two words of advice the heating is not on during the day so get a fan heater from reception. Plus the water pressure on the showers is better on the lower floors.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitrvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    224
    46
    13
    6
See reviews for
60
327
48
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We enjoyed our stay our room was perfectly adequate and the staff very very nice and helpful. Although up a hill once there the nice patio area gave a pleasant place to sit in the sun. The system for charging things to your room is flawed. Guests dont sign for items to be charged and on our return home and examining our bill I discovered two bar meals charged to our room. We did not at any time eat in the bar and can only assume that someone overheard our room number and used it. Some days we only had tonic water and it appeared we were always charged for gin and tonic. Partly our fault for not paying cash and not checking our bill at the time of paying it. Otherwise a good holiday

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elrigScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

I booked the Duke of Normandie mainly because of the location which was excellent, just a short stroll from the main shopping street, harbour and bus stops of St Peter Port. I wondered if this might mean there would be noise in the evenings but it wasn't the case. The room was small - which tends to be the way with single rooms - but hi-tech with wifi, flat-screen tv, safe, mini-bar, shiny new bathroom fittings and modern decor. Breakfasts were nicely presented, swiftly and cheerfully served. The hotel also has parking space if you need it and a restaurant and pub.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tadpole99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We had searched very carefully for a hotel as my husband and I were going on holiday with my elderly father who is disabled. We found the Duke of Normandie Hotel to be perfect for us. They have ground floor rooms which lead off the main courtyard/car park - Dad had one of these which was completely wheelchair friendly and meant that he could get to all the public areas of the hotel easily. These rooms were a good size but rather dated and could perhaps do with a bit of sprucing up, but Dad was quite happy with it. We had chosen one of the Executive Rooms which was upstairs. This was fantastic! The room was a great size and had recently been refurbished. It was very contemporary in its furnishing and decoration with lots of leather! There were extras like dressing gowns, safe, wider range of tea/coffee/chocolate etc, mini-bar. There wasn't much of a difference in price at all between the Standard and Executive Rooms but a huge difference in what you got - I would definitely recommend going for the Executive Room.

We stayed for a week half board and the food was continually fantastic. Breakfasts were buffet for the fruit and cereal and then a range of items cooked to order (the chef made the most delicious scrambled eggs!). The dinner menus were inventive and were beautifully presented at all times.

The hotel is in a great, quiet position tucked just behind one of the main cobbled streets of St Peter's Port - very easy to walk into the shops or down to the harbour. The only problem we found was that the road in and out of the hotel was quite steep and not good for pushing a wheelchair.

All the staff were brilliant and couldn't have been more helpful. They were all friendly and more than willing to help us with any requests we had.

We would definitely recommend this Hotel to any of our friends/family. It was very good value for money and we had a great holiday there.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoDiscover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Nice hotel based on an 18th century farm, with 2star hotel room but to my taste 4star gastronomy and staff. Hotel has a square shape with a (most valuable!) parking lot and a small beer garden in the middle. No views but most pleasantly only a few steps to High Street (shopping street with some cosy pubs) and to the harbour, yet it is very quiet. My room (basic version) was somewhat old-fashioned yet renovated and clean, included tea-and coffee making facilities, blowdryer, phone) and cosy. Not so nice the small windows with limited chance to have fresh air but it was ok, I liked it anyway, again it is labeled 2star. Absolute positive surprise was the restaurant with very tasty food, and the allover very friendly and helpful staff. When parking lot was full, they offered to leave the key with reception and would shuffle around the cars if necessary, instead of telling people to simple go park at the harbour. The atmosphere in the little restaurant was stylish and nicely decorated. The food was excellent, breakfast as well as 3-course-dinner. No buffet style but always choice of several freshly prepared alternatives. For breakfast offer of hot breakfast, any eggs, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, warm croissants, kippers, juices, tea, coffee, whatever you like. For dinner always choice of several alternatives per course with food that made me waive my diet for the week I stayed there. Integrated in the hotel is cosy Pub in a mixture of old English pub style and sportsbar.

As for the Island: don't drive a car unless necessary, it is not a pure pleasure due to the overall very narrow streets on the island and a lack of both city and street signs, I got lost several times; also you might find it necessary to reverse a few hundred meters if there is no room for a second oncoming cars. With the local busses you have a great and very cheap alternative to get around on the island. In St. Peter Port, which is not too big, and especially from the hotel with its great location, everything is easily accessible on foot (like the central bus stations, the harbour, the shops, the pubs, Victor Hugos house (an experience in architecture and very worth seeing)).

I really recommend to do both daytours to Herm and to Sark, every island has its own particular and individual charm and atmosphere. There are always several ferries per day; ticket booths on the beginning of the pier (for Herm, < GBP 10 roundtrip) resp. in a building further down the pier (for Sark, ca. GBP 25 roundtrip). For Herm don't forget beach accessories like suntan lotion and hat as it might be hot on the beaches; take your own food to Shell beach, it is wonderful there but the minishop there has little choices and is expensive. For Sark, I took a 2h horsecoach tour (GBP10) which stopped at the Seigneurerie gardens (another GBP3, quite nice) and then led to La Coupee; there however the time of 10 minutes stop was far too short, maybe you'd like to take a walk of ca. 45 minutes back to the village. For Jersey, a daytrip would be much too short, you rather might want to spend another week there as there is so much to see and do.

You can always pay with GBP 1:1 but will receive Guernsey Pound in return. As you can't get this changed back anywhere else, see to it that you either spend it before leaving, or re-exchange it on the mini-bank at the airport (BEFORE!!! you enter the duty free & shopping zone).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ixalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
augsburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2009

The Duke of Normandie Hotel is located right in the city centre of St. Peter Port, the capital of Guernsey. It is a very nice and cozy hotel with a big car park in the front which is very helpful if you travel by car. The executive rooms provide all the luxury you need if you want to spoil yourself e.g. stylish bathtub in the middle of the room. In addition to that, the main shopping street of St. Peter Port (High Street) is just a few steps away by foot and the haorbour and ferry station are also very close. The hotel includes a pub, which is also very popular with the locals -not only because of a great choice of food - , as well as a restaurant which provides a good english and continental breakfast and a set menu in the evenings with luxurious dishes. The international staff is also always very friendly and helpful.
I can recommend it to everybody - it is a great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adavroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

The bedroom was filthy, the staff did nothing to affect a positive result, the supervisor in charge on first complaint did not even bring the problems to the attention of the hotel manager. The bathroom was not cleaned and in the end, I went to reception, requested cleaning materials and cleaned it myself. This is the first hotel that I have stayed in, in Guernsey that has produced this response, if this was my first trip I would not return to the Island again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 100ck9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
776 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
2.2 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
572 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Normandie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Normandie Hotel

Property: Duke of Normandie Hotel
Address: Lefebvre Street, St Peter Port GY1 2JP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#10 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Normandie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Normandie is a small hotel in Guernsey offering a warm welcome and modern facilities. We are conveniently situated in the heart of St Peter Port in a quiet location just 75 metres from the High Street. Our 17 executive rooms and 20 en-suite standard rooms offer a choice of accommodation to appeal to business travellers or to those taking a break in Guernsey, and uniquely amongst hotels in Guernsey we offer the convenience of a private town centre car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Duke of Normandie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duke Of Normandie
Duke Of Normandie Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing