We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive rooms well worth the extra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Stayed here for three nights Friday / Saturday / Sunday, Have stayed here on a few occasions when on business in Guernsey.
Short walk down hill to the town centre. Quite steep though.
Staff are very helpful and rooms are clean and to a very good standard. I don't know why it is rated as a two star hotel. However, we stayed in the executive rooms in the main building and are well worth the extra price.
Large LCD TV, this time it had a DVD player inbuilt other times there has been a PS2 attached to play games and DVD's. DVD's and games can be obtained from reception free of charge.
Room was clean with plenty of tea/coffee. Large bath/shower with good quality fittings. In other rooms the bath and shower are separate. One room we stayed in had a huge bath on a plinth in the main bedroom.
Waiting on the bed were some bathrobes and the towels were lovely and soft and fluffy.
Bar food is good and recommended. Whenever we have stayed the bar has been quiet. Breakfast is excellent with freshly prepared full English, poached eggs, fresh fruit coffee/tea and juices.
For its closeness to the town centre it is pretty quiet.
Oh, they also do a deal at the moment of three nights for two when staying Fri/Sat/Sun. You have to mention it at the time of booking to get it.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2010

Booked this hotel as part of a well-priced deal through 3X travel. Took the car too. Good staff, room (off the courtyard) a bit worn, but well up to 2 star standard. Heating was working 24/7. Breakfasts big enough to make lunch an option. We ate in the bar most nights - good pub-style food and reasonable wine prices, but no real ale. Up the slope, but well within easy walking distance of the High Street and the real ale pubs along the quayside. Access for a car is abit tight - dont take a big/long one. We felt it was a good choice for an off-season break, when being in the town was a distinct advantage - the weather was freezing most of the time.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpyfuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We stayed at the hotel with my Sister and Brother-in-law for a Birthday celebration we did not expect to be sharing the place with workman and other guest's who came back at 1.30am and on one morning 3am making a lot of noise also there is a night club in the close area and a lot of noise came from there too, we stayed three night's and only got one good night's sleep.

The room's are basic and dated should anyone stay there avoid the balcony room's as there is a spiral staircase which you will probably use at least four time's a day and the the noise of people thumping past the bedroom window's at all hours is quite disturbing.

Don't be fooled by the brochure photo's as the hotel is through an arch off the road and overlook's the car park from all angles.
Having said all that you couldn't fault the staff who were pleasant and obliging.

If you wish to use the restaurant don't go in winter as it only open's for breakfast so you would have to use the bar area which was it appear's mainly for workman and young people the music was very loud.
The Hotel is virtually in town so there are lot's of very nice place's to eat.

Stayed: December 2009
Thank OliveSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rox2208, Assistant General Manager at Duke of Normandie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2010

Response to Trip Advisor – Review 08.12.2009

It is unfortunate that their stay was not to their satisfaction, but to address the points that were raised in the review –

1)“we did not expect to be sharing the place with workman” = We do not discriminate who we do and do not allow to stay in the hotel, all bookings we accept are made in the same way. Prince or Pauper, all are treated equally, however we do not generally allow soiled work clothes within public areas, our dress code is smart to casual.
2)“guest's who came back at 1.30am and on one morning 3am making a lot of noise” = We do our utmost to advise guests to be mindful of other guests if they are returning late, but we can not control the actions of a few individuals who choose to do otherwise nor restrict them on what they can or can not do outside of the hotel property. If there are any direct complaints from one guest about another, we will do our best to resolve the situation quickly and diplomatically.
3) “there is a night club in the close area and a lot of noise came from there too” = Our hotel is situated 1 minute walk from the centre of town so Friday nights town can be a bit noisy as that is when it is most active. There are a few bars nearby, but they all close by 00:30, latest. That is why we have soundproofed most of our rooms and if the windows are kept closed, this won’t be an issue.
4) “The room's are basic and dated “ = We are in the process of refurbishing the whole hotel. ¾ of our rooms are already finished and upgrades to our executive, refurbished, rooms are usually always available for small extra charge, however they are subject to availability.
5)“avoid the balcony room's as there is a spiral staircase which you will probably use at least four time's a day and the noise of people thumping past the bedroom window's at all hours is quite disturbing.” = As was mentioned before we do what we can to advise our guests to be respectful to other guests and the staircases are not noisy. The actions of a few inconsiderate individuals do not reflect on our standards and wishes. As to this particular problem we could have easily of upgraded them to executive rooms with the main building if this had been brought to our attention at the time.
6)“Don't be fooled by the brochure photo's as the hotel is through an arch off the road” = We are not off-road. True the entrance is through an arch, as this is the way the building was originally constructed in order ensure more privacy and insulate noise from town, as was mentioned previously.
7)“overlook's the car park from all angles.” = As was made clear before, we are a hotel in the centre of town surrounded by buildings on all sides, meaning landscape vistas can not possibly be expected. We have never claimed to be situated anywhere else. In the summer half the car park is converted into a beer garden, as is what is viewed in the brochure, but in the winter the garden is dismantled and car park is expanded.
8) “If you wish to use the restaurant don't go in winter as it only open's for breakfast so you would have to use the bar area which was it appear's mainly for workman and young people the music was very loud” = Our bar is intentionally designed to be a Traditional English Pub, and is frequented by many different types of people. We do not discriminate age / race / religion / occupation. All are welcome, so long as they behave. The food is from a large and varied menu prepared by a team of seasoned and experienced chefs, easily competing with the top rated restaurants in terms of quality. If the menu was not to their satisfaction then we could easily have made something more to their liking, had they only asked or mentioned it at the time. As for the restaurant being closed, due to the recent economic crisis that has affected the UK as well as the rest of the world, we’ve needed to close the Brasserie for the winter only this year because of this.
9) “The Hotel is virtually in town” = As mentioned before, the hotel’s entrance is not directly on the main shopping street, but the main shopping street is only 1 minute walking distance away, making us one of the closest hotels to the centre on the island.

We strive to make each of our guests’ stays as memorable as possible. To anticipate their needs beforehand, but we can not always anticipate everything and do encourage guests to share their thoughts or voice their concerns during their stay, should there be any, so we can address them as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

What a lovely place, very friendly and helpfull staff, just a short walk from the high street. I was a bit worried that it was only a 2 star but neednt have been as it had all the qualities of a 3 star. Was there on my own for a break but did not feel a bit uncomfortable, ate in the restaurant one night and can recommend the food, breakfast was very good, very well presented. Had room 29a which was a free upgrade -lovely room - small but had everything i needed. Would go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jigra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Nice hotel with 2star hotel room AA classed but to my taste 4star gastronomy and staff. We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. I would most certainly return to it again. Food well served and excellent. One morning I had the best kipper for breakfast I have ever tasted. The steak is good. Amount of food adequate although I could have done with more vegetables with the meal. The room we had for 3 nights was comfortable, good sized with a good bathroom. However it was off the Hotel courtyard up some spiral metal staircase steps. Anyone disabled may have a problem staying there. But we have good tastes and I can warmly recommend it. Our room was a standard double room but the hotel do have executive rooms as well

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GGvicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

I quite like this place I have stayed here twice now and will probably need to return to the Island again so will again stay. Two words of advice the heating is not on during the day so get a fan heater from reception. Plus the water pressure on the showers is better on the lower floors.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitrvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We enjoyed our stay our room was perfectly adequate and the staff very very nice and helpful. Although up a hill once there the nice patio area gave a pleasant place to sit in the sun. The system for charging things to your room is flawed. Guests dont sign for items to be charged and on our return home and examining our bill I discovered two bar meals charged to our room. We did not at any time eat in the bar and can only assume that someone overheard our room number and used it. Some days we only had tonic water and it appeared we were always charged for gin and tonic. Partly our fault for not paying cash and not checking our bill at the time of paying it. Otherwise a good holiday

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elrigScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
864 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
885 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.3 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Normandie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Normandie Hotel

Address: Lefebvre Street, St Peter Port GY1 2JP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#10 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Normandie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Normandie is a small hotel in Guernsey offering a warm welcome and modern facilities. We are conveniently situated in the heart of St Peter Port in a quiet location just 75 metres from the High Street. Our 17 executive rooms and 20 en-suite standard rooms offer a choice of accommodation to appeal to business travellers or to those taking a break in Guernsey, and uniquely amongst hotels in Guernsey we offer the convenience of a private town centre car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Duke of Normandie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duke Of Normandie
Duke Of Normandie Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing