We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“badly in need of refurbishment”
Review of Dunchoille

Dunchoille
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunchoille
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“badly in need of refurbishment”
Reviewed 12 September 2010

The outside of the Hotel is far better than the interior, the bar area had the owners dogs constantly in the room and were always sniffing around for food, the bar was only open for a couple of hours. The bedroom was in need of decoration as was the en-suite. The breakfast room was the best part of the hotel and the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyclarke1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    16
    11
    6
    9
See reviews for
11
12
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ALDERNEY CHANNEL ISLANDS
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2010

we stayed the hotel dunchoille and we had a wonderful 3 days there and have booked to go back in the summer. the food and staff were fantastic and nothing was to much trouble for them to make our holiday memorable.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEREK029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Great Hotel, brilliant staff. Nothing was too much trouble, even driving you in order to make an event. Breakfast was very varied, always hot and fresh. Has new internet facilities available for guests. I cannot recommend this hotel too highly for everyone. The atmosphere in the bar in the evenings was second to non and was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemgemchesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2010

I have read some of the reviews and was disappointed to see the bad ones as i think a bed and breakfast pretty much does what it says and if these people wanted such a high class of hotel then thats what they should of booked. My stay there was lovely i cant complain of anything really the staff were all lovely and friendly they made the effort to talk to you, the rooms were always kept tidy and clean. there were clean towels everyday and the ones we didn't use were re-folded and placed neatly on the bed, the pool was closed due to the time of the year so i cant comment on that. The owners came accross very approachable and if i had of had any problems i got the impression they'd do all they could to rectify it. The breakfast was always prompt and hot. I would definately stay there again and if we go back in June we will definately stay there. To anyone wanting a top class hotel please dont come here as you'll only spend your time complaining instead of appreciating its charm.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2006

Unfortunately, Hotel Dunchoille looked better on the outside than it did on the inside.

The overall first impression was of a slightly shabby, forlorn atmosphere.

The attraction when booking was that there is a swimming pool, but we never used it - it really was not very inviting, just a few delapidated loungers and no facilities at all.

The room was cramped and the bathroom was very small - it was quite difficult to turn round - and it was definitely past its sell-by.

The manager did in fairness make an effort to be friendly but when we returned to Guernsey we did not stay there again.

  • Liked — Dining room was very pleasant
  • Disliked — Poor condition and size of bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paintitblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Peter Port hotels

England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2006

My husband and I have been visiting at Hotel Dunchoille for the last four years. We have found all of our stays very enjoyable.
We even spent our honeymoon in september 2004 and our first anniversary september 2005 there.
The staff make you feel very welcome and at home and will do anything to make your stay enjoyable.
There is a swimming pool but we have not been able to try this out yet as we've only stayed out of season.
The hotel is short pleasurable walk from town but it is up hill returning.
The prices are very good and they will book travel arangements and insurance all at the same time as booking your room.
We find the food very good and rooms are very comfortable.
As well as us my farther in-law also frequently stays at the hotel. The last time he was there we had bad family news and the staff mad sure he was well looked after until he could get the next ferry home, we felt reasured he was ok as he was almost 78 years old and on his own.
We are looking forward to going again later this year.
This hotel is a friendly and relaxing environment to have a relaxing holiday.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — a few evenings bar closed early ans not many people using it.
  • Stayed September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank syscmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 October 2005

Awfully expensive (80 pounds) for a 9 square meters room, very noisy during the night because of some air conditioning machine outside or anything else I did not really identify. The bed was quite uncomfortable. The shower is as old as would be my grand-grand ma' if she was still alive! not very clean. The advantage is that it is so small that you can wash your feet in the shower while you're using the toilets. No time lost!
And sherry on the cake (this is a french adage, is it english too?), they debited 3 times our credit card. Sure, they recredited it, but with the game of bank change, we were debited 119 euros et recredited 110. So we lost 18 more euros.
We never felt as much as stupid french tourists!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
761 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#15 of 19 in St Peter Port
155 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grange Lodge Hotel
Grange Lodge Hotel
#11 of 19 in St Peter Port
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunchoille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunchoille

Property: Dunchoille
Address: Dunchoille Hotel Guelles Road, St Peter Port GY1 2DE
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunchoille 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Dunchoille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunchoille Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing