We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location”
Review of The Yacht Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Yacht Inn
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Booked late so choices were limited for a family of 4, with room working out at £120 incl breakfast for a family room on the top floor. Older people may find the climb challenging as it was some 3-4 floors before you reached the flat, but it was spacious with great views over Castle Cornet. Breakfast was cooked freshly after a small selection of cereals or pastries, sometimes had to ask the staff for fruit juice, as only a litre was poured out at a time regardless of the number of guests.We eat out in other restaurants so didn't try the bar in the evening, although on the weekend it was very busy. The one advantage is that it is outside the bus terminal so easy to transfer your suitcase from bus to hotel, and within about 10 minutes walk to most tourist attractions and shops. We considered getting a hire car, but the Guernsey bus family day ticket was so reasonable, £8? that we didn't bother with a car.

Room Tip: Top floor family flat great views and spacious, but need a good pair of legs
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveashuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for The Yacht Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

The room was very basic the curtains weren't attached properly,the wall paper was ripped,then go to the teas and coffee omg the tray was filthy you wouldn't dare make a cuppa the cups were dirty.on to the breakfast the girl serving you didn't speak English everything we asked she didn't no,that weekend guernsey had a festival and the waitress new nothing about it.the breakfast was terrible couldn't eat it.they had some toilets on the landings again omg.had no toliet seat no soap no towel disgusting.i wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: None.dont stay there
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishface003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I found a The Yacht Inn in St Peters Port to be a wonderful little spot, I really enjoyed my 24 hours there. The room was somewhat dated (to say the least) but the public areas were lovely. The German guy behind the bar was so helpful and extremely friendly too. Great location, highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

As a base from which to make daily excursions this Inn met our requirements with a good sized room, comfortable bed and seating, ironing board & iron, hair drier and ample tea & coffee making ingredients. There was plenty of storage space and the shower produced hot water at a good pressure. A minor gripe would be that the lighting is inadequate for comfortable reading.
A good choice is available at breakfast. All the staff are friendly and very helpful. There appear to be few bargains on Guernsey and were satisfied with our deal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Failsafe659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

After arriving and them having no room we were allocated what seemed like an unused twin room that smelt old and musty and wasn`t all that clean, the paper was pealing off the wall the room was just old and basic as was the bathroom and had a hole in the bottom of the shower cubicle, for £100 a night, never have i felt so ripped off.
Having said that the staff were very nice but you don`t pay that much to stay somewhere just for nice staff.
Needless to say we checked out in the morning and found a much cleaner hotel for not much more!
Ive never reviewed a hotel before but i felt i couldn`t let others be ripped off too

Room Tip: try a different hotel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I arrived in the morning to find the pub shuttered up so wandered around the port for a few hours.
The pub opened at noon and Andy the owner was very pleasant and helpful in getting my suitcase carried up 3 steep flights of narrow stairs.
My room was a double facing the harbour but unfortunately the bus station is in-between.
The bathroom was newly renovated and had a shower but no shelves or hooks. The plumbing made quite a noise and the shower was slow to drain.
The bed had a thin mattress and the wardrobe doors slid open due to the uneven flooring.
This is a pub with a few rooms above the bar in a rather unattractive stretch of harbour front.
At 150 pounds a night it was over priced with not a lot to offer. WIFI worked somewhat but no
phones in the rooms and no one around overnight as far as I could tell.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, take the front room over looking the harbour and castle.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrAnnie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great hotel, brilliant location Walking distance to pubs and restaurants.
Owner of the hotel went out of his way for us. ensuring that our stay would be of great memories
Wonderful destination if you just want to relax and chill

Room Tip: Handy to the bus terminus, Opposite marina great location
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhondac57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
873 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
814 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ziggurat
Ziggurat
#10 of 19 in St Peter Port
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yacht Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yacht Inn

Address: The Yacht Inn South Esplanade, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 1AN
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St Peter Port
Price Range: £65 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yacht Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Yacht Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yacht Hotel St Peter Port
The Yacht Inn Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing