We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food 5 .. Accommodation 1 and a half”
Review of L'Eree Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Peter Port
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'Eree Bay Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
darwen
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Food 5 .. Accommodation 1 and a half”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The bar and bistro are the best benefit of the hotel... Mark sells quality produce in his establishment and its well worth a visit... its just a pity that he doesn't reinvest the ptofits back into the hotel business which has not seen any tlc in years!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    80
    44
    11
    12
See reviews for
39
114
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at L'Eree Bay Hotel for three nights. This is a basic hotel and the building is not very attractive but it is in a lovely location on the west coast. The views are wonderful as is the sunset. The check-in was easy and a young lad carried our cases up to the top floor. Our room was a good size, it was a family room but I think it would have been cramped had there been more than two of us, it was very basic but clean. The small bathroom was adequate with fresh white fluffy towels each day. There was a small balcony which mainly overlooked the side car park, it also had views of the fields and a side sea view. The breakfast was more than adequate, although the breakfast room was a bit dull. We had a drink in the main bar each evening and ate in the restaurant the first evening, this was really nice, very good bar service, polite staff and good food. The public bar/pub which is mainly used by locals is very untidy and uninviting. The west coast is much quieter than St Peter Port area but there are some fantastic beaches, lovely walks and very good eating places. The Little Chapel and The German Military Underground Hospital are worth a visit. St Peter Port is a fairly busy place, lots to see and do, sit by the port or harbour and watch the world go by. The bus service is very good, a little limited at night. We booked a hire car which was good for getting about the island each day.
A WORD OR TWO OF WARNING........ the package that we booked included a hire car but with very limited insurance. We added CDW insurance at £14 here in the UK before our departure with White Horse Insurance, Avis wanted to charge us £51. When we picked-up the hire car they were not too happy that we had arranged our own CDW. We also discovered that Avis sub-let their car hire bookings in Guernsey to VALUE Rent-a-Car, well the clue is in the name.......VALUE!!! On our return to Guernsey airport, the VALUE car hire guy was so rude and offhand with us, he said that there was a small chip underneath the front bumper and we would have to pay for its repair. This car had 31 scratches, chips and area's of damage. They take an imprint of your credit card on arrival and they promptly charged us £212.12 for a small chip that we were sure was already there. Luckily we had the CDW protection and have now been reimbursed fully. Bear in mind and do the sums, 31 scratches or chips x £212.12 .... thats alot of money, especially as they are not repairing the cars, they are all full of scratches and chips. We would DEFINATELY NOT use VALUE car hire in Guernsey again.
Apart from the RIP-OFF car hire company, we had a wonderful short break on this lovely island.

Room Tip: Higher floor .... less noise from car park or traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank soozienewshoesyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Visited L'Eree bay for dinner on our 1st night in Guernsey.We hadn't booked, really busy,but couldn't have been more helpful.We had a drink and after a short wait where shown to our table.Ordered from the specials menu,can recommend the monk fish,really great food and not over priced,the service was great too,everything done with a smile which made for a great welcoming atmosphere.So we returned on our last day for lunch and again we weren't disappointed.Didn't book this hotel for our stay because of write ups about accommodation,this is obviously an area which needs addressing,but can't fault the staff,or food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sp H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
in huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Room 21, lovely views over L'Eree bay, but the double bed was way past its sell by date, it was more like a creaky, saggy trampoline, I quickly transferred to one of the bunk beds for better sleep, another room issue was poor ventilation, if there was a risk of overnight rain the tilt feature on the window was insufficient to allow cool air into the room and the heat meant a disturbed night. The shower room is a little quirky with the offset shower head but caused no problems.
Initially we were booked B & B, it became obvious that due to the location, and the only near alternative being an Indian Restaurant [ not to our taste], we booked he evening meals for the duration of our stay, it seemed a little dear at £12 p p p n but the food was excellent and plentifull, shame the same can't be said for the bland repetetive breakfasts with undercooked bacon and efficient but unsmiling staff, totally different to the chirpy evening waitresses. Noise issues from the bar are to be expected as the hotel serves as the local pub especially friday and saturday nights, then there are a few locals who like to 'open up' their motorbikes and cars on this stretch of road although the islands max speed limit is 35 mph
Some have commented on the sewage smell, its seaweed, exposed when the tide goes out, easy to liken to sewage though.
We wondered if we should have hired a car but found, as other reviewers did, the bus service is ideal, the No 7 travels clockwise round the coast, 7A anticlockwise, 5S overland all terminate at the capital and only £1 a trip. Would recommend taking a bus to one of the island attractions then stroll back to L'Eree using the 'quiet roads', never mind a hire car. Take the ferry to Hern [£11 return] spend the day taking the coastal walk and sunbathe on the magnificent beaches

Room Tip: Dont book a double, if our bed was typical you'd be better off in a twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldieInHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Rooms dated but it didnt matter. It was clean, friendly staff and great food.
Sea view was lovely. Value for money for what we paid. Jump on a bus anywhere for
just a £1. Not really suitable for kids as there is not much for them to do apart from the pool. We will return...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Good location by the sea but the building not attractive and whilst we only went for an evening meal- it was on the recommendation of other locals- otherwise we wouldn't have gone. Inside, the restaurant area is rather stark and not welcoming, but staff businesslike and helpful and whilst we had booked a table it wasn't necessary as it was very quiet. We were told it had been very busy the week before.Residential guests were arriving with luggage through the 'restaurant area' . Food well cooked and what we had was probably best described as very good pub food with no frills. Good sized portions and good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerardWiltshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crawley
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed for four nights in July. Agree with other comments, this is a basic hotel, dated and does need some updating, but location is lovely the the food excellant is clean. also staff very helpful and efficient. Do not stay here if you like the finer things in, life is definately a budget hotel but is adequate and with a few updates could be lovely.

Room Tip: Staed in room four which is over the bar. Make sure they do not have a function could keep you awak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrawleyNandp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
776 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
843 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
2.2 mi away
La Trelade Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Eree Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Eree Bay Hotel

Property: L'Eree Bay Hotel
Address: L'Eree, St Peter Port GY7 9LG
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — L'Eree Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
L'Eree Bay Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing