We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough for a short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pandora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pandora Hotel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good enough for a short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

The hotel is well situated, a short walk to the town centre and the sea front and two blocks away from Victor Hugo's house which is worth visiting.
The decor of the room was very outdated and the furniture a little tired! My bed was rather lumpy and the room did smell rather musty.
The light bulb in the bathroom went on the first night and despite signaling it at reception the next day, it was not replaced. Fortunately there was another light over the bathroom mirror! The breakfast was simple but sufficient, there was the possibility of having a cooked breakfast but we stuck to cereals and toast. We had a meal in the bar the first night and this was good. My daughter who only wanted a starter was offered a larger portion as the waiter said it would be rather small otherwise. The staff was pleasant and helpful.
If you do not expect luxury then this hotel is quite adequate for a short stay.

Room Tip: I had read that a room on the top floor would be quieter and required one. In the end we got a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller5954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    95
    49
    14
    5
See reviews for
28
92
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth,England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Recently returned after a one week stay at this hotel. Previous reviews are very mixed and whilst ignoring the habitual moaners it's easy to see why. The hotel has a two star rating and frankly I feel this about a right. Whilst some area's are a bit wanting others are exceptional eg the food and gardens. Importantly the room we had was clean and comfortable but could soon do with a bit of smartening up......particularly the bathroom. The meals were very good. There was always a good choice on both the breakfast and dinner menu's and the food was well cooked and presented. It should also be noted that the waiting staff were very pleasant and hard working. In passing it maybe worth mentioning the hotel situation. Most descriptions state the hotel as being in an elevated position. Well, yes it is. In fact it is reached on a quite long and steepish climb up from the town so anyone with mobility problems maybe should bear this in mind. However,I gather it can be tackled from the other direction whereby after a short bus ride there is a walk DOWN the hill. On the subject of buses it's worth mentioning the excellent service the island provides. A ten minute walk into town,easily find the bus station and then a £1 fare to anywhere on the island !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank raycblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Just back from 4 days at the Pandora Hotel on Guensey - our first and last visit to this hotel!! All the money appears to have been spent on making very very colourful and beautiful gardens to the detriment of the bedrooms and public areas I am sorry to say. The lounge is large and bright but the furniture looks at though it belongs in a old peoples home. They are all soft and saggy.And have really have seen better days. But it is the bedrooms that are in dire need of updating. We had one up in the eaves so be careful where you stand!! The bed was very soft and saggy, carpet very worn and the bedroom furniture although matching was just awful, door handles fell off and it was so chipped and scratched.. However woe betide you if you are on the "larger" side as you will not get into the bathroom. It is tiny the most ridiculous size I have every seen. We could not stand at the sink without having the bathroom door open and as mentioned before the suite is a lovely shade of green!! The towels also were an absolute disgrace - peach coloured, very frayed and threadbare and very very tiny. However, the food was good. Staff are all eastern european but quite friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just back from our third visit to the Pandora in six years.
You would expect some recognition but absolutely nothing. Never a good morning, evening or ****!!
Management leaves a lot to be desired (please dont rebuff your staff for all and sundry to hear in reception area- not good PR)
Staff are all Eastern European, very lethargic,and have very limited English.
Food has become frugal and dont dare ask for any more
We travel extensively, love the Channel Islands but will look for alternative accommodation in Guernsey

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happywanderer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
channel islands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We first stayed at The Pandora 15 years ago. Back then, we chose it because it was cheaper in cost than many other Hotels on Guernsey and I was heavily pregnant and we wanted a Hotel we could park the hire car up for the night and enjoy a nice dinner in the Hotel without venturing 'out'. Back then, it was 'acceptable'. The room we had then was spacious (not all of their rooms are), basic but clean :) - Although we had a few issues with the out dated 'Avocado' bathroom, with a bath plug that didn't fit the plug hole, so whilst taking your bath the water was draining whilst you were in it!! Big 'chip' in the bath. In the room itself, my memory was having to go out and buy a mirror, so I could place it near a plug hole, so I could 'see' to dry my hair etc!! The evening meal though, was lovely, (and the evening staff - waiters etc. In those days I think it was £10.50 per head. I remember breakfast not being so nice. Staff 'half asleep' and not over friendly first thing, tomatoes on the full english being uncooked (still hard) and toast not toasted, just 'warmed through'! ............................. 15 years on, we find ourselves back in the same room. We were quite 'excited' to see what the room and the bathroom looked like now! Erm, ............. the same! :( Same Avocado bathroom suite, same 'chip' in the bath, and the worse thing.... still a plug that didnt fit the plug hole in the bath!! Jeez! We were shocked! We do think the carpet has changed, and the fact that a mirror is now on the wall, (still not near a plug socket - but they have compensated that with a hairdryer with an extra long cable now)!!! Lol. In summary, it's the 'little' things that guests 'notice', and, expect, when they are at the end of the day 'paying' for THE BASICS! ............. if the basics aren't met, what's the point?? Please update your rooms Pandora, and keep up a 'bit more' with the times! Great views from the garden though :) and a lovely hidden away location (apart from the garbage truck noise at 4am, and the man snoring above us ALL NIGHT!!!!!!) P.s Miserable reception staff! Big downfall!! She just 'couldn't be bothered'! But a young man was much more welcoming and friendly - all it takes really! x

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank remaeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We have just returned from a week at The Pandora hotel.It was our first visit to Guernsey and we feel that the hotel made it for us.The two star rating and bargain price for the evening meal gave us slight cause for concern but once there we found that the food was wonderful.The waiting staff were happy and great at their job and seemed to be on duty all day.The gardens are delightful with picturesque views and plenty of seating so that you can just sit and enjoy yourself.The hotel was extremely clean and tidy but the bathrooms could do with an update.The bar area with the balconies was lovely and there was plenty of seating in the lounges.We had lunch at the hotel sometimes and it was plentiful and very reasonable.The situation of the hotel is good as it is not too high up and in a quieter area than some of those in the town.

Room Tip: We were in room 112 which is on the ground floor on the street side so the dustmen sometimes woke my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taylorgirl196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

booked a package deal with car/ferry/hotel. Knew we had chosen the cheaper option hotel (2 star) as we were on a tight budget. Very enjoyable stay, immaculately clean hotel and room, pleasant staff, nice variety of lounge areas/outside balconies/bar to use at any time of day.
Free wifi throughout public areas. Very good breakfast with plenty of choice, though did find it slightly old fashioned to be seated at the same table daily for breakfast - one day there were 20 French students having breakfast adjoining us and the rest of the sizeable dining room was practically empty. Just us and them all up the one end. Would have been nicer to just be able to sit anywhere laid up for '2' persons, but its a minor gripe. Fought over the quilt the first night as it was a standard double bed/quilt and at home i have a King, but this was sorted immediately when i mentioned it to the receptionist and a king size quilt was provided for the rest of the stay.
If you are looking for a good value base i can recommend this place. nice relaxed atmosphere. I would certainly stay here again if in Geurnsey.

Room Tip: if you have a standard double quilt on your bed, immediately ask for a King size - they have got th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel
0.9 mi away
La Piette Hotel
La Piette Hotel
#11 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ziggurat
Ziggurat
#10 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pandora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandora Hotel

Property: Pandora Hotel
Address: Hauteville, St Peter Port GY1 1DG
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pandora Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pandora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pandora Hotel St Peter Port
Pandora Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing