We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value for Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pandora Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pandora Hotel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

I stayed at the Pandora for one night (bed, breakfast and evening meal) and found it to be the perfect place to use as a base with the benefit of good meals in their restaurant.

I have read the other reviews here and consider that some people have rather high expectations from a 'value priced' hotel. Yes the decoration is a little dated and the bathroom suites are of mixed 1970s colours - BUT the rooms are clean, beds comfortable, rooms warm, en suite with toilet and bath with plenty of piping hot water and wash basin/vanity unit in the bedroom, thick white fluffy towels, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV and radio. So what more do you want. If you want luxurious surroundings then pay the price and stay in a top of the range hotel. The hotel also has the benefit of plenty of car parking spaces - some in front of the hotel and a large car park to the rear. Parking can be problematic at some hotels in St. Peter Port but not here. A hidden gem is the garden at the rear which is constructed in a series of terraces dropping down to the final terrace where there is seating and table overlooking the sea. Beautiful - even on an Autumn day. I paid £48 for bed, breakfast and evening meal which I understand was a special offer but consider it about the right level as a regular price.

Due to location high above St. Peter Port and with steps leading up to the hotel it would not, in my opinion, be suitable for disabled visitors. Restaurant staff were extremely helpful and offered good service with a smile. At the time of my stay there were guests of several nationalities and the restaurant staff were able to manage the different languages very well. Food was excellent with plenty of choice. A smile would be a nice feature behind the reception desk, it costs nothing and makes visitors feel welcome or upon departure, but unfortunately I did not witness it - I notice other reviewers have reported the same. The Reception is the face of the hotel and the first and lasting impression - an effort should therefore be made.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Staratmidnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    91
    49
    14
    5
See reviews for
27
91
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Pandora for 3 nights. Initially a little put off by the amount of steps up to reception, we checked in fine for our first Guernsey holiday.
Our room was comfortable and clean, the staff friendly and attentive, and the food was fabulous. Easily worth more stars than awarded. Yes a little walk to the town down a hill, but worth it. A lovely place to eat about halfway back too!
We would look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clairehill18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We have just returned from 6 nights at the Pandora. Wwe use it as a base for walking on the island but if it turns wet there are comfortable public rooms and helpful staff. We went half-board on a deal through Condor Ferries and it was excellent value with good wholesome food. The rooms are a little dated but en-suite & with modern flat-screen televisions.
The hotel is up a fairly steep hill; it wasn't a problem for our walking activities but if you haven't got a car there is no passing bus route (although the cheap buses are only 10 minutes wqalk away).

Room Tip: If you can get a garden room it's a bonus as teh secluded gardens are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JonboyDorsetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

After a dreadful start to our holiday in Guernsey i.e. Flight re sceduled from Jersey to Guernsey thus not able to get the flight connection and missing a day and a half of our holidays we had a wonderful stay in the Hotel Pandora. Our room on the Ground floor was clean and comforable and well serviced. The food was very good, plenty of choice, well cooked and presented. The dining room staff were excellent, everything done with a smile nothing was a trouble for them. I think the dining room manager has done a good job enthusing his staff to offer a friendly service. The garden at the rear of the hotel was beautiful we spent many a happy hour enjoying the view.late afternoon sun and afternoon tea.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank igniss40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Have just returned from a eight day break at the Pandora, as in most of the reviews, needs updating, urgently! The staff were superb, very friendly and attentieve. Our room was basic but clean, no toilitres supplied, but otherwise good. Just one serious moan, the siting of the television needs to be sorted, in our room it was on the headboard wall which means you need to be a contornist to see it. The gardens are lovely and peaceful. All in all, good value for money

Room Tip: Rear facing over garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxPullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Having read previous reviews about the Pandora, we decided to book our stay there, albeit, some of the reviews weren't that complimentary.
When booking an hotel it is always good to keep in mind that you aren't going to get the Ritz for B & B prices! Some people really do moan about such small things.
Everyone is different with different expectations, but I regard an hotel as a base, somewhere to be fed , watered & rested, since I'll be spending most of my time out of the hotel enjoying the place I am in. With that in mind, here I hope is an honest review of our experience for the three nights we spent there.
I thought the cost of the stay was a little expensive compared with prices on the mainland but quite acceptable for Guernsey.
Yes, the hotel is located up a steep hill, so if that is a problem for you, it might be worh looking elsewhere. It's not the fault of the hotel staff that it is situated on a hill!
Yes, the rooms are a little dated (coloured bathroom suites) but does this really matter?
If I was going to complain, all I would like to point out would be to suggest that something could be done about the flimsy lights positioned above the headboard of the bed (You hit your head on them) & perhaps a few hooks in the bathroom to hang your towels, might be nice?
Apart from that (for the money!) the room we had was more than adequate, had great views of the harbour. (That's down to the hotel being located up a steep hill!) The staff were very efficient at breakfast time & you can also purchase a paper from the hotel at breakfast time, which I thought was a nice touch. It is handy for Victor Hugo's house & there is a good pub (Cock & Bull) & a good pub/eating place (Cornerstone Cafe Bar) about 300 yards away as you walk down hill into town.
Combine this with hotel parking & for the money, you have a very acceptable hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed on first floor, had a view of the harbour/Castle Cornet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottsMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
158 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Marstons, their nearby B&B. Bedroom very basic but acceptable. The bathroom just did not work, not enough water pressure for a shower, bath took about 40 minutes to fill luke warm. Breakfast was ok. Staff courteous but not enthusiastic. Long uphill walk from waterside and town centre. If cost is your criteria then consider this place as a good option.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceBrunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ziggurat
Ziggurat
#10 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel
0.9 mi away
La Piette Hotel
La Piette Hotel
#11 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pandora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandora Hotel

Property: Pandora Hotel
Address: Hauteville, St Peter Port GY1 1DG
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pandora Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pandora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pandora Hotel St Peter Port
Pandora Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing