We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do with a refurb”
Review of Pandora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pandora Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Reviewed 12 May 2008

We stayed at the Pandora bank holiday weekend in May. We picked this hotel as it was close to friends who live in Guernsey.

Luckily, we didn't spend much time in the room. Like a lot of hotels in Jersey & Guernsey, it is very dated and in desperate need of refurbishment. We had a room on the lower ground floor, with old scruffy carpets, dated wallpaper, bedding that had seen better days and didn't match and an avocado bathroom suite that will probably be back in fashion it they wait a few more years!! Hard to tell if the room was clean or not.

No soundproofing between rooms, you could hear the people next door and above going to the toilet and snoring! Only had breakfast one morning - edible, but nothing special. for £80 a night, we expected better.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JerseyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2007

The hotel were efficient in dealing with my intial booking enquiry and I had no trouble booking directly with the hotel.

I stayed with a friend, we occupied two single rooms. These rooms were of an adequate size and had all required facilities. As described in the earlier reviews some of the decoration could do with a bit of an update, though I think this may vary in a room by room basis.

We were staying on a bed and breakfast basis as we wanted to try the restaurants in town.

The breakfast was good, the service very prompt.

We ate in the restaruant for two nights of our 7 night stayy for convenience and though the food was not stunning it was good and good value.

The restaurant staff were very pleasant and helpful.

It should be noted that the hotel is at the top of a steep hill and though ok for anybody of moderate fitness. may be difficult for some, also the hotel has no lifts.

The bar has a lovely bar and lounge area for after dinner drinks.

The gardens are quite stunning and nice to sit in if you want a short rest from sight seeing.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Artemis-diana-999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2007

We stayed 2 nights at the Pandora and arrived home yesterday. The thing that struck us most was how incredibly dated the rooms were. There was a grubby green carpet which had seen better days and years old looking pink wallpaper. The bathroom was a mix of avocado fittings and to be honest it could have been cleaner. None of the bedding matched and the set up was sheets and blankets - again the blankets could do with be replaced.
The room was a nice size and quite quiet - it just looked as if nothing had been changed for 20 years and would be so much nicer with a fresh lick of paint, new carpets and bedding.
The food in the evening wasn't too bad - nothing special compared to the wonderful restaurants that you can easily find in the town. However the service was terrible. We got the impression that there was a new influx of staff for the season and most of them were rude and surly. We couldn’t order any wine until we had ordered the food and then it still didn't come each evening until we had finished our starters and were waiting for our main courses. This seemed to be because there was only on waiter who was allowed to serve the wine. This actually really spoilt what would have been a reasonable dining experience.
On looking around the restaurant we noticed that others were having problems as well and it actually became quite entertaining to see how rude the waitresses were to everyone!
The main lounge area was quite a pleasant place to sit with a drink before dinner and the gardens are stunning.
Overall I feel that the hotel could have so much going for it but it is letting itself down in the areas explained above
.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mushroom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2006

Guernsey in late November was wonderful - and the Pandora Hotel was the ideal location. The hotel is situated up one of the fairly steep roads out of St Peter Port - about 10 minutes' walk from the harbour area and shops. The building is characterful and homely, and, in summer, I imagine the gardens would be gorgeous - November was a bit chilly for sitting out! My daughter and I had single rooms with views over the roof tops out to sea - very comfortable.
There was something for everyone on the small, carefully planned, menu and I got the impression that it was freshly cooked to order. The menu changed daily and was posted in the hall in the morning. We had intended to eat out in St Peter Port once or twice during our stay, but, in the event, enjoyed the Pandora's food so much, that we didn't. We enjoye d their house red wine too. The vegetables, so often a let-down, were seasonal, plentiful, and cooked to perfection My daughter is a vegetarian and she was not disappointed with the choice. Breakfasts were substantial and, if you asked for a soft-cooked egg, that's what you got! The staff were all friendly and helpful.
The lounges were comfortable and supplied with a selection of books and games. Definitely looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Pbrayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2006

I stayed here for 10 nights as a solo traveller and the weather was lovely and warm.
My single room was a reasonable size and althouth in the top part of the hotel I had a good view from my window, not of the sea but inland which was very pleasant.
I stayed here on a half-board basis and the breakfasts were delicious with plenty of choice.
The Sunflower Restaurant which is also used for breakfast serves Sunday lunches and dinner and is very popular with those locals who appreciate good food and having lived on this island if the locals dine there you can be sure it will be good, as indeed it was.
When I stayed here some years ago when smoking was allowed the lounges were a sea of fog late evening but since a ban on smoking in hotels they are very relaxed and have lovely views towards the sea.
Maybe because it is made up of Regency buildings there are steps up to the main entrance and no lift
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
14  Thank KeithAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rougecerise27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: belle vue pour les chambres du 3eme etage, mais pas d'ascenseur ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vincentb358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
831 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
0.4 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
674 reviews
1.2 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pandora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandora Hotel

Address: Hauteville, St Peter Port GY1 1DG
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Price Range: £73 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pandora Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Pandora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pandora Hotel St Peter Port
Pandora Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing