We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to home of Victor Hugo”
Review of Pandora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pandora Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Pandora Hotel is for travelers who appreciate the simplicity but certain something. Pleasant atmosphere, good varied food, friendly staff. It is slightly raised and has a beautiful garden with a view of St. Peter Port. Just go and see - No internet access - History of second world war all over the small island - various historical places and museums - a great amount of restaurants with food from all over the world - your choice to try -

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esther G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

I chose this hotel simply due to the price. I booked via their website on the autumn special as it was only £30 pppn for B&B (October)

The negatives listed by other reviewers are mostly true. The rooms were dated, the shower virtually non-functional, the TV tiny and the hill steep.

But I do think you have to compare what you are getting for the money you are paying. I found the staff all very friendly and helpful, my room was clean and the breakfasts I had both mornings were delicious.

If the cost is your main issue then this place is well worth considering (if you can get a deal). If not then you will probably find somewhere else that will suit you better.

If staying on Guernsey I would recommend booking taxis in advance if you can because they are quite hard to find!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

i stayed at the pandora for a few nights and i must admit after working a hard season i felt totally relaxed the staff very helpful and the food good room very clean infact hotel very clen will return there next year. The only thing i will say always remember it is quite a steep hill to climb if you have suitcases better taking the transport laid on or a taxi

Room Tip: both rooms i stayed in very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 171chelsea111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Don, t listen to the critics we had a lovely week in room 105.Excellent food, excellent staff and excellent value. Far better than 2 star.Can't wait for the time when we will return.If the steep hill back from the centre of St Peter Port is too daunting then a taxi(plenty of them available) will cost you a mere £3.80.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jloasby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Hotel is within walking distance of St.Peter Port but is on a steep hill. There is no bus route to the hotel so you may have to negotiate a lot of steps to the town and back.
Rooms are clean and comfortable with plenty of storage but they are a bit dated. Ours had a green bath and white toilet in the bathroom and a pink sink in the room.
Food was very good with a large menu choice for both breakfast and evening meal.
Service was very slow. Expect evening meals to take anything up to 2 hours or more if the hotel is busy.
Staff I found to be very polite and friendly.
Overall this is a nice hotel with a lovely garden, pleasant bright restaurant large bar and lounge.

Room Tip: We had room 9 on the first floor which overlooked the garden, which was very nice and quiet. The dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaEnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed for 4 nights at the Pandora Hotel and was,overall, pleasantly surprised. Although it is dire need of extensive refurbishment and room 104's layout needs rethinking, the service was impecable, the food good of its type (very English!) and the room was very clean. The walk back up from St Peters Port was a challenge, but I had been pre-warned of this. Overall, the hotel was better than I had expected. With a refurb, this hotel could easily apply to be upgraded to 3 star in my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Just back from two weeks at the Pandora hotel food was excellent, room comfortable and clean, garden a delight , wonderful views , down side is the hill up to the hotel from st Peters port. Not for the feint hearted!' Andrew welcomed us and made us feel very welcome. All in all a very happy pleasant two week stay. Thank you. Madge and John

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
895 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grange Lodge Hotel
Grange Lodge Hotel
#12 of 19 in St Peter Port
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ziggurat
Ziggurat
#10 of 19 in St Peter Port
118 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages
1.2 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pandora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandora Hotel

Address: Hauteville, St Peter Port GY1 1DG
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Price Range: £77 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pandora Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pandora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pandora Hotel St Peter Port
Pandora Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing