We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice for a weeks holiday”
Review of Pandora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pandora Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Reviewed 14 July 2014

hotel was better than i expected from looking at previous reviews. Yes the bedroom was from a different era (washbasin in bedroom & avacado bath in en-suite) . However the shower was hot & powerfull/bed was comfortable/plenty of storage room for clothes.The public rooms in the hotel have obviously been updated recently and were great, The garden was splendid, set out on many levels with sun traps to relax in. The view was also good looking down on the harbour.

Now we come to the really good bit from my point of view. The food was excellent, particularly so as we were staying on half board. Great breakfast with lots of choices including fish and all well cooked . There was also plenty of choices for dinner. Four items at least for each course. In fact the choice was so good that it was quite often difficult to make my mind up on what to have. The staff were also efficient and friendly and nothing was too much bother.

All in all i would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone going to the island. One word of warning though, the road up to the hotel from town is quite steep.Particularly after a days walking around!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Having just returned from another visit to the Pandora, I can safely say it is as good as usual.

Since my last visit the Restaurant décor and furniture has been updated, and looks very attractive, with it's cream and brown colour scheme.
The Hotels lovely gardens are exceptional, split into different areas, and on different levels, and the colourful display's to the front of the Hotel, brightens up the whole street!

The Menu in the Restaurant for the evening meals has varied slightly, and the inclusion of a few more "exotic" dishes seemed very poplar.
The Breakfast Menu is varied, and the only thing perhaps I would change is a better choice of fresh fruit.

The staff some of whom have been there for the four years I have visited the Hotel, are very friendly and helpful.
Andrew especially, is always happy to help.

I have heard a lot of the Guests saying the Hotel would " be perfect", except for the steep climb up to it!
There are other ways to get there, apart from the direct climb up Cornet Street, from the Town Church end, you may walk though the Market Square to Trinity Square, and along Pedvin St,thereby cutting out the steepest part of the Hill.
Or you can use Park Lane Steps, also just off of Trinity Square, this will lead you straight up to Hautville, and then stroll back down to the Pandora.
Or if your feeling really, really tired, on a hot day, get a Bus ( £1 fare) to the top of Les Val de Terres, take in the lovely views, and take a leisurely down hill stroll.
I am sure there are more ways than this, the locals will know!
Of course there are always Taxis by the Town Church, I believe it costs around £3.

Maybe it would be helpful to the Guests, if the Pandora pointed out these alternatives.

I look forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one with views over the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essexgran2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a pleasant stay in this hotel, rooms are reasonably sized and very clean. Staff are pleasant and friendly. There is a good dining room with three course dinner every evening, but some evenings we also liked to eat in the bar which was also excellent, but less filling after having something at midday wherever we were visiting. It is part way up a very steep hill and after a day's walking, we took a taxi back. There is a delightful garden and lots of seats and tables dotted around. If you go far enough down the garden you can have a splendid view of the sea. Victor Hugo's house three doors down from the hotel is to be recommended for a visit.

Room Tip: There is a lift so most rooms would suit. Rooms at the back would be quieter although we were at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anciens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is a bit uphill, thus you have an uphill walk home everytime.
But then you get a nice hotel with a spectacular garden and a sea view at the back.
My room was ok (double for single use), might be too small for 2 persons.
Breakfast was very good, a variety of classic British breakfast... from kippers to full English, with a small buffet of fruits and cereals.

Nice lobby, small pub inside, another pub only 100 yards uphill.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Renate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 2 and the hotel is well situated and very classic. It was a complete surprise to have an open window on to the stunning garden area.
Can definitely recommend and will certainly be returning.
As a fellow channel islander, the garden entranced me, the view was spectacular and this hotel's quiet charm leaves nothing to be faulted.
Will be back !

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank outragel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The hotel Pandora is just up from Victor Hugo's house. Its a really good location with ample parking. Its a pain to find as it sits up a winding road. But once you find it you in for a treat. The hotel is quiet but this is exactly what i wanted. The walk into st Peters is about ten minutes and there are a couple of bars on the way down. Its quite a hill so be prepared for a short panting session. The views from the top of the hill are stunning. The hotel is cosy with lots of space to sit and ponder and read. Free wifi in the public areas.The staff are friendly and non encroaching. I was working here and found it in a brilliant location. I took my car so the parking was one last thing to worry about. Breakfasts start from 8am to 9.30am - but you get get in there from about 7:45. Nice pleasant, Très Bien!

Room Tip: Room 2 had a wonderful power shower and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dskinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

positioned halfway up a steep hill, this amazing establishment offers spectacular views across the bay at the cobalt blue seas and skies.the variety of pleasant food and range of activities to suit every person, this is definitely the place to stay during your visit to Guernsey.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
865 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
885 reviews
0.4 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#15 of 19 in St Peter Port
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ziggurat
Ziggurat
#10 of 19 in St Peter Port
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pandora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandora Hotel

Address: Hauteville, St Peter Port GY1 1DG
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Price Range: £77 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pandora Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pandora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pandora Hotel St Peter Port
Pandora Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing