We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whow!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fermain Valley Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2012

It was unexpected to be staying in a 4 star hotel, when our group arrived on 12th May 2012. The staff could not have been more helpful and were, at all times, a real credit to the hotel. I must single out Robert who was brilliant, but frankly all the staff were almost as good!! My room in the VENUE a, well, 3 minute walk (fairly steeply uphill lit path within in their manicured grounds) was superb and when the only criticism I can make is that they changed the sheets after just 4 days (and I and the group was staying 7 nights) you can tell how good it was. The room (number 50) was in 2 parts with the bed and, rather small bathroom, on the lower level and then up 2 full length steps to the "lounge" part with a lovely sofa and an armchair plus the Sherry in the decanter (provided!!!) on the lounge type table with a view of the sea down the valley. No noise at all and excellent nights' sleep every time.

The food was, probably, too rich but the presentation was out of this world and being on a photo holiday we were in a position to take pictures of the sweets/desserts that we enjoyed, but, alas, I do not have the skill to put one on this site. You will have to imagine the little bunny rabbit portrayed using the raspberry coulis!!

I have absolutely no connection with the hotel or the staff and this was my first visit to Guernsey and what good fortune I had to be able to stay in this hotel. It has left a lovely impression and thank you to everyone there.

The meals were taken in the main hotel, down the slope (one needed the pull up to "walk off" the meal), but the benefit of the VENUE where all our group stayed is that it was closer to the bus stop to town. I have not rated the value because it was a photographic group holiday paid to our holiday organisation and neither have I mentioned the fitness centre or spa because I did not use them, though my waistline suggests that I oughta!!

In the main hotel there were most luxuriously comfortable small lounges and a library and plenty of open air space to sit outside (though we were out taking pictures) and in the VENUE there was a meeting room that we were able to use to review our pictures and also a Cinema that we didn't have time to go to!!

Room Tip: Try Room 50 or 51 next door both with delightful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

My wife and I are big Guernsey fans but this was our first visit to the island in Springtime.The hotel's location was ideal only a short walk away from the beach yet only a short five minute walk into town.
We did not stay in the main hotel but in the hotel annexe which was a brief 2 minute walk through lovely landscaped gardens. Our super king bed was fantastic as were all the furnishings in our bedroom.
Complimentary chocs drink and fruit were very welcome.
The breakfast was to die for. Full Guernsey breakfast each morning set us up for the day.
What really makes this hotel stand out though is the quality of the staff throughout the hotel.Nothing seemed too much touble when a request was made. We shall certainly be returning here again.

Gareth and Lynne Rees

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaz123golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management F, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Mr & Mrs Rees
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to rate us on TripAdvisor. You really have made all our hard work and effort worthwhile with such high praise, it really does mean a lot to the team and I. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I visited Guernsey again at the end of April 30 years after our previous visit. We were recommended to the Fermain Valley Hotel and were not disappointed. It is a lovely place in a wonderful setting, has good restaurants and food and, most importantly, excellent and very helpful staff. The Rock Garden, a tapas bar/restaurant within the hotel is especially good, ably lead by Graham and his team, who helped make the experience very momorable.

Room Tip: For more space go for the platinum rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management F, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Such a great review – thank you - and the Rock Garden team are chuffed to see that they have a mention. Don’t leave it too long to come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This holiday was a quick break. What an excellant choice couldnt have wished for better. We flew from Southampton & were meet at airport, taken to hotel & our room was quiet ready but we sat on terrace & coffee was bought out to us. Room was a Gold room No 18, yes it was warm but just turned off radiator & we were fine, lovely bright room with fresh fruit & complimentary sherry & choclates that were replaced everyday. We dont do the prepacked milk but fresh was bought up when room was done of a day. We had thought of hiring a car to see the island but the Gentleman on Reception said there was an excellant bus service & for a £1 could go all around the island or just a few stops into town, it was the best advise we could have had as roads are quiet narrow, we saw more by bus. Went into St Peter's Port & some great shops & bars very reasonable. Most evenings we ate in the Resterant & the menu was different each night & lunchtime..For £25.00 we had a three course meal every night. even when we said to the waitress my husband was diabetic the chef made him a special dessert, thats is service.
Rooms were clean & staff friendly.. Definatly going back there, still loads more to see & so peaceful & relaxing..

Room Tip: We had room 18 & it had a good view of sea & gardens, not overlooked & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W_SussexSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management F, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Platinum room 15 with 6ft double bed with 4ft 6inch duvet leads to problems. Hotel could not resolve so gave us a single duvet each on a 6ft double bed that meant disturbed nights Bathroom lights poor for shaving. Very large bath / shower room, no seat.
The TV was poor, plenty of bright orange people on the screen. Unfortunate position for bath inlet, its so in the way. Tired and grubby armchairs. The room 15 should have lace curtains as completely on show to anybody on terrace of hotel. Room temperature was excessive, what a waste of energy? Resteraunt staff had problems with Englisg language requests. Food was excellent, resteraunt service adequate. Excellent lounge areas. Excellent private cinema. Room care was excellent. For the platinum prices paid we expected better.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank archie481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management F, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

I am so sorry that we provided a less than perect stay for you both here at Fermain Valley. Please be assured that we have now rectified the issues you have brought to our attention and please accept my sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Uncharacteristicly we took a five day break, and re-visited Guernsey after 30 years absence. It had not changed a lot.
We booked at this hotel, based on Trip reviews, and a friend`s recommendation. I spoke to the receptionist who was extremely helpful, as indeed were all the staff. When I mentioned our interest in walking, I was told of a new walking break on offer, and we settled for this. The only comment I would make...and I mentioned it in review on leaving, was that we were promised a booklet with island walks, but all that we were given was a standard tourist map with the walking paths indicated. This was no use. Luckily there was a Cicerone guide in the Hotel library, and we used that for the duration. This was invaluable as it gave in depth details of the routes, and we got so much more out of the stay, as a result. In the 5 days we walked from St Peter Port to Rocquaine Bay. I hope that the hotel will make such a book available to those who go espeially to walk. The coatal paths were empty and beautiful.
The bus system is excellent, and so we could link in our walks using this cheap form of transport, as we had no intention to hire a car. It costs £1 to take the local bus around the island..brilliant.
Our booking, made through the hotel, including flights, was cheaper (re flights from Bristol) than had we booked the flights on our own. Someone was there to meet us, and to take us back to the airport.
We booked at the end of Easter, so had no choice with the rooms, but room 15, one of the top rated rooms was excellent, roomy, light, beautiful bathrooms, very spacious and comfortable bed. It had no balcony,, being in the original house, and I wonder if one of the rooms in the annexe, with balcony, would be a better choice in summer, as that side of the hotel catches the late afternoon/evening sun. The hotel is on the flight path, but of no consequence.
The food was excellent, and good value. Breakfasts offered all one could wish for, whatever one`s taste. The lounges were quiet and restful, and lovely small library. There is a cinema also, but we were too busy walking and eating to have time for that!
The Hotel has a Rock Garden venue, which I suppose may be described as a night club, , loud, tapas style food. It is very popular with the youngsters, especially at week ends, and for the purpose of transporting clients, the hotel runs a mini bas back and forward to St Peter Port from 6pm, and all residents may use the service too. We did not see this fact publicised, and we did not find out about it for a day or two. We went to St PP twice to eat at other restaurants, and were able to catch the 10pm mini bus back, a big plus. We had 2 meals in the dining room, and one in the Rock Garden, though this was not to our taste...a refection of our age!
All in all a super short break, relaxing,welcoming, professional hotel with efficient and friendly staff. We are pleased we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoCountryMice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management F, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you so much for leaving a great review about the hotel. We strive on a daily basis to get things right and we really do appreciate that effort and time that you have made. We have corrected the boolet for walking guides and your suggestion was great, so thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on a KGB deal,couldn't fault a thing.Everything you could need was there,even a decanter of sherry which was refilled each day! Top quality toiletries,slippers,bathrobes etc.Great view from the rooms with the balcony overlooking Fermain Bay.The rooms located in the Venue are a hill walk through the gardens so not for the disabled.
Breakfast was good with an extensive choice of cereals juices,breads,ham and cheese,as well as cooked breakfast. A great short break was thoroughly enjoyed.Would highly recommend this hotel if you like to impress.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building if any mobility problems as the hotel is divided over two sites,the Venue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clazzer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management F, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

I remember showing you around the hotel before taking you to your room. Thank you for your kind review about the hotel and the team, it makes it all worthwhile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
888 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
877 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
572 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fermain Valley Hotel

Address: Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £99 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fermain Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fermain Valley has 2 dining options both recently refurbished - the 2 AA Rosette Ocean Restaurant and the sophisticated Rock Garden Steak House and Cocktail bar. Both offer a relaxed atmosphere, sensational food at great value, with exceptional service. Ocean offers a decked area for al fresco dining with superb views out over Fermain Valley to sea and neighbouring Channel Islands. The hotel also offers quiet, cozy lounges to relax in after dinner, a private cinema for guest use, an indoor-heated swimming pool and sauna. There is wireless broadband access throughout the hotel. The Fermain Hotel is renowned for its warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fermain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fermain Valley
Fermain Valley Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing