We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Watsons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fermain Valley Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Watsons”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful 5 night breakaway in this outstanding hotel.We stayed in a Platinum room overlooking beautiful Fermain Bay.Breathtaking! Our room was just as it looked on the excellent website;so clean,bright,spacious and welcoming.The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful.So efficient and always cheerul.Food excellent! We will certainly use this lovely hotel again.

Room Tip: Well worth choosing a Platinum room if you value space and a wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
I am so pleased that you enjoyed our lovely hotel too
We do try to ensure that all our guests are comfortable
Please let me know personally when you are coming over again
thank you for your comments
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    144
    50
    17
    7
See reviews for
115
427
16
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Just spent five nights with friends at The Fermain Valley Hotel We were all very impressed with the Hotel & location, the setting is beautiful. Lovely views from our Gold balcony rooms. The rooms were very comfortable, with lovely decor. Bathrooms were spotless with towelling dressing gowns & slippers, & clean towels everyday. Complimentary bottled water, sherry, fudge & fruit, plus plenty of teas & coffee. But we think the best part of our stay were the Staff! They were all lovely & so friendly & helpful. Nothing too much trouble. Must give Robert a mention, he was fabulous!! Also the food in the Restaurant was spot on, enjoyed every meal. There is a lovely walk down the lane to Fermain beach, which also has a great little cafe/restaurant. We had a great holiday and would recommend this Hotel to anyone. A big thank you to everyone at the Fermain Valley.....

Room Tip: Would recommend the Gold rooms overlooking the valley & sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlegib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thank you for your comments, We do all try to ensure that the guest experience here is an enjoyable one and we love to share our lovely hotel.
Thanks for the comments

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TENBY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Although slightly small, the room was comfortable and contained all we needed for an enjoyable stay. Plenty of tea/coffee, complimentary bottled water in the fridge every day and also a complimentary daily carafe of sherry. The balcony was the main bonus, overlooking the gardens and with a view of the bay. The housekeeping staff were excellent, leaving the room beautifully clean and tidy in the morning and preparing the room for bedtime in the evening.

The staff in the bar and restaurant were polite, efficient and non-intrusive and those on reception were friendly and extremely helpful. Nothing was ever too much trouble for anyone.

We would have no hesitation in staying here again - in fact, we'd be disappointed if we couldn't!

Room Tip: Go for Gold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just returned from an excellent 7 day stay at this hotel. Beautiful views, superb room and great food. All the staff were professional, pleasant and engaging especially the dining room staff and the staff in the Rock Garden Bistro.
A little trouble with the kitchen on our arrival & departure when there was a problem with the gas supply. No mention of "mouse around and kitchen close down". I think that the comments from mark I are completely innacurate.
During the gas problem the meals were served in the Venue which was an enjoyable stroll through the beautiful landscaped gardens.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

i have been for couple days good welcome great and superb view bet when i book my table in the restaurant they told was close for some problem then after an while i knew the kitchen was shut down because was horrible and the cleanest was far away from the normal an person can have. i will never back one because they not been honest and then i can return in an place where the kitchen its benn close for mouse and dirty around.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

It was unexpected to be staying in a 4 star hotel, when our group arrived on 12th May 2012. The staff could not have been more helpful and were, at all times, a real credit to the hotel. I must single out Robert who was brilliant, but frankly all the staff were almost as good!! My room in the VENUE a, well, 3 minute walk (fairly steeply uphill lit path within in their manicured grounds) was superb and when the only criticism I can make is that they changed the sheets after just 4 days (and I and the group was staying 7 nights) you can tell how good it was. The room (number 50) was in 2 parts with the bed and, rather small bathroom, on the lower level and then up 2 full length steps to the "lounge" part with a lovely sofa and an armchair plus the Sherry in the decanter (provided!!!) on the lounge type table with a view of the sea down the valley. No noise at all and excellent nights' sleep every time.

The food was, probably, too rich but the presentation was out of this world and being on a photo holiday we were in a position to take pictures of the sweets/desserts that we enjoyed, but, alas, I do not have the skill to put one on this site. You will have to imagine the little bunny rabbit portrayed using the raspberry coulis!!

I have absolutely no connection with the hotel or the staff and this was my first visit to Guernsey and what good fortune I had to be able to stay in this hotel. It has left a lovely impression and thank you to everyone there.

The meals were taken in the main hotel, down the slope (one needed the pull up to "walk off" the meal), but the benefit of the VENUE where all our group stayed is that it was closer to the bus stop to town. I have not rated the value because it was a photographic group holiday paid to our holiday organisation and neither have I mentioned the fitness centre or spa because I did not use them, though my waistline suggests that I oughta!!

In the main hotel there were most luxuriously comfortable small lounges and a library and plenty of open air space to sit outside (though we were out taking pictures) and in the VENUE there was a meeting room that we were able to use to review our pictures and also a Cinema that we didn't have time to go to!!

Room Tip: Try Room 50 or 51 next door both with delightful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My wife and I are big Guernsey fans but this was our first visit to the island in Springtime.The hotel's location was ideal only a short walk away from the beach yet only a short five minute walk into town.
We did not stay in the main hotel but in the hotel annexe which was a brief 2 minute walk through lovely landscaped gardens. Our super king bed was fantastic as were all the furnishings in our bedroom.
Complimentary chocs drink and fruit were very welcome.
The breakfast was to die for. Full Guernsey breakfast each morning set us up for the day.
What really makes this hotel stand out though is the quality of the staff throughout the hotel.Nothing seemed too much touble when a request was made. We shall certainly be returning here again.

Gareth and Lynne Rees

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaz123golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management F, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Mr & Mrs Rees
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to rate us on TripAdvisor. You really have made all our hard work and effort worthwhile with such high praise, it really does mean a lot to the team and I. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
757 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
545 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
553 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fermain Valley Hotel

Property: Fermain Valley Hotel
Address: Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fermain Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fermain Valley has 2 dining options both recently refurbished - the 2 AA Rosette Ocean Restaurant and the sophisticated Rock Garden Steak House and Cocktail bar. Both offer a relaxed atmosphere, sensational food at great value, with exceptional service. Ocean offers a decked area for al fresco dining with superb views out over Fermain Valley to sea and neighbouring Channel Islands. The hotel also offers quiet, cozy lounges to relax in after dinner, a private cinema for guest use, an indoor-heated swimming pool and sauna. There is wireless broadband access throughout the hotel. The Fermain Hotel is renowned for its warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fermain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fermain Valley
Fermain Valley Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing