We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views at Fermain Valley Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fermain Valley Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2012

A four star hotel set above St Peter Port on Guernsey which boasts excellent views from bedroom windows. Very well presented and is worth every one of its stars. Food in the restaurant is excellent and breakfasts are cooked to order, not sat under hot lights drying out as is the way of a lot of hotels. A car is a must if you wish to see all of the island although there is a courtesy bus to the town and airport. Not a hotel for children as they are not catered for in the sense that there is no play ground etc. The swimming pool is small but adequate for swimming, there is also a sauna. The staff were polite and attentive, nothing too much trouble. We enjoyed our stay, and would recommend to freinds. My only concern being that we felt there should be a warning on the bedroom patio doors to take care when using the decking when wet as it becomes a slippery surface and someone could break an ankle/leg easily.

Room Tip: The best rooms are in the hotel looking out to sea.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pitpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management F, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Pitpony - Thank you for a lovely review. Here at Fermain it's our priority to make sure you have an enjoyable and relaxing stay. I appreciate your suggestion for the signature on the balcony, it's important for us to know what our guests think and to improve for your next visit. It will definitely be taken into consideration. I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
There are newer reviews for Fermain Valley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

I booked online earlier in the year, after compiling a list of hotels in Guernsey for consideration, (as I have especially complex dietary needs). This was the hotel that replied more or less instantly, with a very positive response to my query. I am always rather nervous of going unseen/unrecommended so far from home, but I was not disappointed.

We had a wonderful welcome, and a personal chat with the chef of the day, who, with his team, ensured I was well catered for during our week's stay.

All the staff were very professional and friendly in their approach, and genuinely seemed happy in their jobs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hellebore49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management F, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Pansy - We are honoured that you trusted us with your stay and happy to find out we didn't disappoint you in your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you again at the Fermain Valley Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Just returned from this beautiful hotel, set high up the valley overlooking the sea. All the staff could not have been more helpful, they really go out of their way for you. The rooms are spotless and spacious, with added complimentary services of fresh fruit, sherry, and toiletries. The hotel has a complimentary bus which will take you into St. Peter Port during the day, the taxi fare is £7 back or £1 on the number 7 bus. We ate at the Rock Gardens, a trendy restaurant within the hotel. The food was delicious and service once again great and good fun. We managed to hire bikes from Cycleworld who actually deliver and collect from the hotel. The cycle routes are clearly marked and this gave us a great insight into how lovely Guernsey is. Whenever we got lost, someone seemed to be than pleased to help us even coming out of their houses ! We took the boat across to Herm and did the circular walk over there, what a beautiful unspoilt island that is! and with places to eat and drink. We had one meal out that was at Da Nellos once again great service, and super food with great atmosphere. There is so very much to see on this wonderful island... and cannot wait to return and stay once again in the Fermain Valley hotel it covered all our expectations and more thank you so much for a super four days.

Room Tip: We had room 32 overlooking the sea with a balcony, it was perfect.!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillyc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management F, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Sunsmiley, I'm so glad to read you had a wonderful stay in Guernsey. It's such a picturesque and friendly island. We are glad to know you found the Fermain Valley Hotel a perfect base for your stay. Next time let the reception know what you are looking for and perhaps we could suggest a few things for you to do and see. I look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We found this hotel excellent in every way - a very well run, comfortable and unpretentious hotel in a beautiful setting. All the staff were helpful and the food delicious. The dining room was attractive and we enjoyed coffee after our meal in the lounge or library.

Room Tip: Ask for the main building - perhaps a gold room with balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnHaddenhamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management F, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear John, Thank you for a great review. Here at Fermain we strive for perfection and it's my pleasure to write we managed to make it a memorable stay for you. I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We too booked in January this year for a 5 night stay and on arrival were allocated a room in the Venue, which is not what we expected. The room was OK but we felt very "out of it". The walk through the gardens is pleasant enough, but a fairly steep incline for anyone less able, with no warning that this is the case.

It would have been good for the lunch and evening menu to be posted in the Venue, to save traipsing back down the garden. Regret that we felt the meals to be overpriced, so ventured out to find superb restaurants elsewhere ( there is no shortage on the island) Also felt that the Restaurant ambiance lacked any atmosphere ( possibly because of its size)

The Hotel promotes its view - but be warned, realistically you can only see a small patch of sea at best.

Regret that we wont be back as we felt a bit "ripped off" on the entire package and I am sure that we could have done a better deal elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you are paying top dollar ensure you know where you have been allocated a room, some rooms are be...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winchester_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I know that hotels need to do all they can to fill up rooms but our experience at this hotel has left us a bit put out.
We booked in January because we needed to be sure of the accomodation because we were attending a wedding on the island.
We were quoted £185 per night for a 5 night stay for the only type of room available at the time, one in the Venue building at the back of the hotel.
The hotel website says, "Please note that we operate an early booking policy. The further in advance you book, the more favourable you will find our Best Available Rate."
We were also told that packages were not available. . About a week before we were due to arrive I noticed that a room had become available in the main building so I rang to change and pay the higher rate but this time I was offered a package rate of £975 for 5 nights which included one dinner.
Imagine then our surprise when we read the review by Sheena1962 a local who paid £80 b&b for a room next door to us on Friday 23 August. In fact as we were returning from our night out her partner appeared out of their door in an unbuttoned pyjama top on his way to see their friends in room 19!
Another thing to note is that not all the rooms have bath and shower. Apparently 2 rooms have shower only and one room has bath only. The bathrooms are small and the bath in our room was very short.
The location is lovely apart from being on the flight path.
We thought the food was average, with the cooked breakfasts being the better meals.
We overheard complaints about the noise in the Venue building from a function and were relieved we were not in there ourselves.
Overall we had a pleasant stay but feel that the pricing could be fairer and the room descriptions more accurate.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hollins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The wedding experience was wonderful. The guests were impressed by the food and service. Many thanks to April Milnes who has been working with us on this wedding for over a year! and to the General Manager for his help in the run up to the big day. I would recommend the Venue at Fermain as a wedding venue as it overlooks the sea, surrounded by beautiful flowers and trees, is picturesque, the food is top class, the service second to none and the honey moon suit is impressive.

A few suggestion - possibly on a wedding day ensure all wedding guests are sleeping at the venue so that any noise from the wedding will not be a nuisance as the guests are also in the wedding. There were a few non-wedding guests who stayed at the venue and am sure they stayed awake due to the music from the downstairs

Possibly change check in time / check out - for honeymoon room because Ideally, the wedding couple would be busy through out the day as its their big day, and they are usually one of the last people to go to bed, so ideally it should be flexible in that whenever they actually are physically in the room is essentially their check in be it 2 a.m. or whatever, and therefore they have the benefit of the room for the next 21 hours!

Room Tip: Choose rooms with the sea view - usually they are the 'Gold' rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management F, Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Thank you for your comments about the Wedding day I am pleased that you all enjoyed it
Every wedding is different and we do try to cater for the individual needs of our bride and Groom,
It would be great to have all the guests in the Venue for the wedding dance and we do try not to have other residents there as you are correct there was quite a lot of noise, as is the normal thing with wedding groups as for the late check outs of rooms I thought we did a good job on that but there were a lot of guests staying and for the in coming guests we do need to prepare the rooms
Great to have been involved in your big day and I look forward to seeing you both soon,

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
816 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
606 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fermain Valley Hotel

Address: Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £92 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fermain Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fermain Valley has 2 dining options both recently refurbished - the 2 AA Rosette Ocean Restaurant and the sophisticated Rock Garden Steak House and Cocktail bar. Both offer a relaxed atmosphere, sensational food at great value, with exceptional service. Ocean offers a decked area for al fresco dining with superb views out over Fermain Valley to sea and neighbouring Channel Islands. The hotel also offers quiet, cozy lounges to relax in after dinner, a private cinema for guest use, an indoor-heated swimming pool and sauna. There is wireless broadband access throughout the hotel. The Fermain Hotel is renowned for its warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fermain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fermain Valley
Fermain Valley Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing