We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely location, very good food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fermain Valley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013

lovely hotel, really enjoyed our week there, even in a cool February!
the food in the main restaurant was excellent for breakfast and dinner (didn't have lunch); nice soups, very nice meat and fish dishes; service was generally very good, nice choice of wines
the food in the so-called "tapas" bar was not so good, and the service was dreadfully slow - we ordered drinks, saw them being made at the bar, then they stayed there for 4-5 minutes whilst we nearly died of thirst - eventually got up and fetched them!
lovely walks, albeit a little hilly nearby - go down the hill to the beach, then turn right for lovely coastal walk, great views; or turn left for lovely coastal walk down to St Peters Port, about 45-55 minutes on this walk (directer via roads about 30 minutes - downhill going, uphill returning!)
local buses very good and cheap! good way to see different parts of the island if you have no car

Room Tip: we overlooked courtyard, lovely views - pretty quiet overall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greggjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Greggjc
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit with us in February. I have noted your disappointments in the Rock garden which have now been addressed. The Fermain Valley is exceptionally lucky to have so many lovely walks just on our door step, which are even more delightful now the sun is shining. We hope to welcome you back to Guernsey’s beautiful shores soon.
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed for a long weekend and we had a wonderful time. The hotel was superb as were the staff. The manager Robert was very attentive and made us all feel very welcome. The rooms are very nice, comfortable and kept very clean. The complimentary fruit, sherry and chocolates was a nice touch too. This hotel is ideal for walkers or for those just wanting a nice relaxing weekend and I will definitely come back and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen65_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Karen
Thank you for your recent comments, yes we are ideally situated for walkers and so many of our guests are enjoying the cliff paths from the bay beneath the Hotel, and usually are ready for a glass or two of sherry when the return!
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This is a lovely, well-run and convenient hotel. The room and the bars, restaurant and food were excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful and service was, in the main, smart.

The question to be asked, though, is whether the Channel Islands now offer such good value for money. Flights are not cheap, good hotels and restaurants are 'upper quartile' in UK terms, taxis are more expensive than in London, car hire (certainly with Europcar) was a rip-off because we were charged a daily rate for petrol such that we would have needed to drive all day everyday to use it all and with no refund on unused fuel - and on our recent trips the weather has been no different from in England. Gone are the days of bargain flights, cheaper drinks and the real duty-free experience. For what this three-night break cost, we could have had several nights in a good hotel in warm sunshine much further south.

Room Tip: If you have kobility difficulties, be sure to have a room in the main building are some rooms are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pm46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

How lovely to read your comments I am very pleased that you found my staff friendly and helpful. Guernsey has an abundance of charm and now it’s now the perfect time to start planning that second trip this year now the sun is shining. Being ATOL registered and having travel partners please do ring us if you are thinking of visiting again and we would be only too delighted to help you find the most cost effective way of staying with us again!
Best regards,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Had a fabulous weekend March 8th ~ 9th.All the staff were attentive and very pleasant ~ our room had a sea view and balcony and was superb as was the rest of the hotel ~ Robert the Manager is a real hands on Manager, he was always chatty and smiley and although busy made a point of having a few words each time he saw you. We would certainly like to return when we have the time.Ideal place for walkers or just to chill out and enjoy the hotel facilities ( see web site for more on hotel facilities )There is also an added bonus of the use of the courtesy bus when available.

Thank you all for making our stay memorable

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaplane-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Just visited and had a fab time, all staff very attentive and helpful from Rob the Manager, Tom the barman, down to the waiters and cleaners. Stayed with Quidsin promotion and it was exceptional value for money. Everything about it was first class, from the personalised welcoming letter, complimentary fruit , sherry & chocolate in the room, clean tidy and comfortable room with good bath and shower, to the Rock Garden themed bar where we had a lovely cocktail per dinner, to the wonderful three course dinner. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit and shall definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solly256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight and had a really great stay. The welcome was excellent and the person on reception explained what the hotel had too offer. We had a really nice room with a balcony which unfortunately we were not able to take advantage of due to the weather. Had a pre dinner drink in the Rock Garden cocktail bar fooled by an excellent meal. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovellfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We have just spent a wonderful 2 night, 3 day stay at the Fermaine Valley Hotel on one of their away deals with flights from Jersey included for only £99. The staff were very friendly, and the hotel, we updated to a gold room, at only a small extra charge of £10. pp. was excellent value, we even had our room re-serviced and beds turned down again each evening. As it was our wedding anniversary we ate one night in the Rock Garden Restaurant, again the service, and food was excellent. If you want to spoil yourselves, or just get away for a relaxing break, this is just the place. We will definately go again. As the weather was reasonable we were able to get out and about so we did not use the facilities, so I am unable to rate them.

Room Tip: The hotel is set in a quiet valley so I am sure all the rooms would be quiet. We stayed in the addit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
895 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
889 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
574 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fermain Valley Hotel

Address: Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £112 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fermain Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fermain Valley has 2 dining options both recently refurbished - the 2 AA Rosette Ocean Restaurant and the sophisticated Rock Garden Steak House and Cocktail bar. Both offer a relaxed atmosphere, sensational food at great value, with exceptional service. Ocean offers a decked area for al fresco dining with superb views out over Fermain Valley to sea and neighbouring Channel Islands. The hotel also offers quiet, cozy lounges to relax in after dinner, a private cinema for guest use, an indoor-heated swimming pool and sauna. There is wireless broadband access throughout the hotel. The Fermain Hotel is renowned for its warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fermain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fermain Valley
Fermain Valley Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing