We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fermain Valley Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“A lovely escape”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We were welcomed warmly and efficiently and shown to our large, light, stylish, beautiful bedroom on the top floor of the main building. I had requested a quiet room and happily it was completely sheltered from any noise from surrounding rooms. it was beautifully light and airy and we loved it. We appreciated the fridge with a good supply of complimentary water, a decanter of sherry was a nice gesture if perhaps a little old fashioned for most nowadays. ( I cannot think what to replace it with but take note sherry was also out for our consumption at Cliveden.)
The beverage tray was put to good use and there was ample storage for all our belongings. Our room was well lit and we sat in the armchairs in front of the window to enjoy the delightful views down the valley and out to sea. Charming. Our room was serviced to a high standard twice a day. The compact bathroom was pristine and well supplied with amenities by Elemis, lovely soft towels and lashings of hot water. It only lacked a shower facility.
We found the huge bed a little firm but special thanks to Karol for finding us soft pillows as those supplied were a tad too hard for our liking. Karol was very concerned about our comfort throughout our stay.
In fact staff were charming and helpful throughout. We found our breakfast espresso to be of a better quality when made by Viktor, for example, thank you.
Breakfast was perfectly good if unremarkable but all the ingredients were of a high quality. Hot food is freshly prepared including my pancakes which were very good.
It's true that aeroplanes pass overhead but they include the wonderful old Trilanders which are a sight to behold and what an adventure it was to fly over in one! There aren't many flights a day and depending on the wind noise is variable. We hardly noticed them when they were leaving the island but they were slightly more obvious when on approach. The hotel had told us that they are on a flight path when I made my initial enquiry about a "quiet room". The planes did not interfere with our sleep and remember Guernsey is a small island.
We enjoyed dinner in the hotel but the best thing I ate during my stay were their scones... very light and just to my taste. Congrats!
We enjoyed the walk down through the gardens to the pretty cove at the bottom of the valley and we are intrigued about the hotel's plans for the former "Le Chalet" hotel which you will pass on your walk down. The gardens were full of wild flowers and birdsong, just lovely.
There are several good terraces to sit out on and a very well maintained and warm indoor pool.
Our first visit to Guernsey was a success. We enjoyed exploring the coastline and the interesting and attractive town of St Peter Port. A lovely place to escape to.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Contessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Contessa
I did enjoy reading your comments and am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass on your kind comments to Karol and Victor, whom in particular stood out for you. I will also send on your comments about the scones to our award winning pastry chef Mark.
The walk down to the bay is constantly changing, we are currently seeing a lovely array of Bluebells in the bluebell wood and the Fermain Grounds are coming into full bloom and looking wonderful.
We hope to welcome you back soon to the Fermain and thank you for your wonderful comments
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    148
    50
    17
    7
See reviews for
115
431
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We have just returned after spending a week at the Fermain Valley Hotel in Guernsey. This is a super hotel just outside town and with superb sea views. The hotel is maintained in excellent condition and has great facilties including a nice indoor pool and sauna. We had a great room with balcony and sea view. The food at the hotel was really good and there is a choice of two restaurants, which are different in nature but both serving great food.However, the hotel'smain asset is its staff. Starting from Robert, the manager, right through all staff were excellent, and really made our stay pleasurable. There is even a private cinema if the weather is not good. All in all I would find this hotel difficult to fault and would recommend to anyone visit the island.

Room Tip: A balcony with a sea view will do nicely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derbyram_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Derbyram,
I am so pleased to read your comments this morning. Especially that you enjoyed the food and all the facilities here at the Fermain valley and even happier that you too found our main asset is our staff. I am proud of what we achieve here and that we were able to make your stay with us so pleasurable I look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLOUCESTER
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed here aftter Bray Beach Hotel, Alderney as part of a 5 night two centre holiday. Like its sister hotel Fermain Valley offers guests a welcoming and comfortable stay in a beautifully restored accomodation. Our room (12), was spacious and well presented with a beautiful down the valley to the sea and Jersey beyond. A lovely 2-3 mile along the coast path takes you to St Peter Port.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the minibus service to town is very useful.
The food was of generally good quality and reasonably priced. We didn't have time to visit the pool or cinema.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRYBRYDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear BryBrydon,
I am so glad that you enjoyed the twin Island break we offer for both Guernsey and Alderney.
The cliff path to town is now even lovelier as the bluebell wood is just coming into bloom. I was happy to read that you found my staff friendly and that the mini bus service was useful, next time you visit us we will help find the time to use all the facilities
All the best
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

my wife and i stayed for a three night mini break ,on the12/03/13, on arriving we were greeted by a pleasant member of the team he showed us round the hotel carried our suitcases to our rooms ,he and every member of the team were always pleasant and willing to help,the food was cooked to perfection wich was great because i really am a faddy person with food ,the rooms were immaculate evey day ,i and my wife lesley loved the stay and would love to go back

Room Tip: ask for a balcony you wont be disapionted
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carly n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Carly
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so thrilled that you and your Wife enjoyed your short break with us at the Fermain Valley hotel.
We pride ourselves on customer service and our team take great care and pleasure in looking after our guests
I am so pleased that you both enjoyed the food on offer whilst you stayed with us and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Mande France)
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2013

A 4 stars hotel which is very elegant without any snobish attitude, with a very young and charming staff, elegant bedrooms, impeccable cleanliness... and amazing site in front of the sea. 2 restaurants (one looking like a lounge club) with very good meals, not too expensive.
Little inside warmed swiming pool and sauna, several quiet lounges and library, courtesy minibus... and private cinema room, ...so Fermain Valley Hotel is a perfect base for discovering the Saint Peter country!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Cher Francoise
I am so pleased that you found our lovely hotel to be elegant and our staff pleasant, as we take enormous pride in looking after our guests. I am please you enjoyed the pool and hopefully next time you visit the weather will be so nice that you will decide to sit in the sunshine on the terrace, I am also delighted that you found us a perfect base for exploring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Fermain Valley hotel snuggles in a small picturesque valley in the south west of the island. Unfortunately it is aligned with the easterly approach to the airport and so suffers from intermittent aircraft noise from early in the morning.
Our 'platinum' room was very spacious and well furnished, but as it faced the front of the hotel also experienced some traffic noise from both trade suppliers and arriving guests. The room is restricted to single glazing, apparently for historical reasons. We were surprised to find a broken and non-closing window, which in the increasing wind, blew open on several occasions. It was fixed efficiently although rather later than we would have preferred.
The restaurant provided a reasonable standard of food, although our table reservations were misplaced on two occasions. One evening meal was spoiled by the very slow service.
So overall we were disappointed. Our experience tends us to think that there is need for a general improvement in managerial oversight and efficiency. Until then we would avoid returning to what should be a very pleasant hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with double glazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey_carver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Mr Carver,
Thank you for your comments as it is with these we may continue to offer an improved offering. The Platinum rooms are as you mentioned are well-appointed and spacious with most of the rooms enjoying the lovely views.
I am pleased that you found the standard of food pleasant and we have highlighted to the staff the issue of restaurant service and thank you for bringing this short coming to our attention.
Please do contact us directly if you wish to visit us again.

Best Regards
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool UK
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed 4 nights and can thoroughly recommend hotel: great location, superb views and very helpful reception staff. Gold room in venue was very comfortable, quiet and well equipped. Don't know what the decanter of sherry is about? Fridge with complimentary still and sparkling water, tea and coffee facilities well stocked.Great views down valley. Breakfast service good, tho don't know why they don't leave cafetiere of coffee to save having to keep asking for refills. Courtesy minibus is very useful: we used it to and from airport and drop off in St. Peter's Port. Had dinner in hotel one night but would not recommend it - there are far more interesting places in St Peter's Port. Swimming pool is added bonus on 1 wet day there were only us in it: lovely! Only 1 complaint: fire alarm went off at 8.00 a.m. and frankly response was a mess - no-one seemed to know what to do or take roll call: wouldn't like to be there in real emergency!

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a room with balcony in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keepitupLiverpoolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Keep it up Liverpool
Thank you for your recent comments I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and our facilities (some people enjoy the sherry even more than others!) the views from The Venue are stunning as so many of our guests comment on this.
I must apologise for the coffee at breakfast, we were waiting for new cafeterias. These have now arrived and everyone has a full pot! So many of our guests do enjoy their evening meals I am sorry that you did not
It was a pleasure to have you to stay with us and we hope to look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us very soon.
Kind regards
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
776 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
557 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fermain Valley Hotel

Property: Fermain Valley Hotel
Address: Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fermain Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fermain Valley has 2 dining options both recently refurbished - the 2 AA Rosette Ocean Restaurant and the sophisticated Rock Garden Steak House and Cocktail bar. Both offer a relaxed atmosphere, sensational food at great value, with exceptional service. Ocean offers a decked area for al fresco dining with superb views out over Fermain Valley to sea and neighbouring Channel Islands. The hotel also offers quiet, cozy lounges to relax in after dinner, a private cinema for guest use, an indoor-heated swimming pool and sauna. There is wireless broadband access throughout the hotel. The Fermain Hotel is renowned for its warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fermain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fermain Valley
Fermain Valley Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing