We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fermain Valley Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Anyone who's read reviews of this hotel recently will definitely experience a feeling of "deja vu" reading mine.
Firstly, I can only endorse all the positive remarks made already about the hotel's magnificent location; idyllic views of Fermain Bay from our Gold room with balcony. We've been regular visitors to Guernsey for nearly 20 years but this was our first stay at this hotel. One of the highlights of this visit was the delightful stroll down to the beach, and the excellence of the food on offer at the Beach cafe cannot be overstated.
However, a recurring lament in recent Tripadvisor reviews has been about the non-functioning fridges in bedrooms. As a fridge is one of the facilities specifically mentioned on the hotel's website room descriptions, we thought just one or two guests must have been unlucky. We love to enjoy a cold drink on our balcony, especially when the view is as good as this one. Sadly we found that drinks placed in our room's fridge tasted, if anything, warmer when we took them out. Upon reporting this at reception we were told that ALL the fridges had started to break down within recent weeks, and that new ones had been ordered for each room.
I would be very interested to know if future visitors enjoy a brand new, fully functioning fridge in their rooms at Fermain Valley? Reception did say that, any time we required chilled water (which is provided free of charge in rooms each day) we should ring down to the bar, and some would be sent up (also complimentary). Not quite the same as being able to help yourself from a fridge conveniently close to hand. I think that, at the very least, the hotel's publicity should not be mentioning room fridges until the new ones are in place.
Ineffective bathroom fans have also featured in several reviews; without our asking for one, we were given an explanation of this when shown to our room on arrival. The fans are apparently special, noiseless models which operate continuously, so do not demist the room as rapidly as conventional types. The extractor fan was certainly not an issue for us!
Staff were generally friendly and helpful but the quality of breakfast varied and, at the one dinner we ate here, a sauce was served with my steak which wasn't on the menu and wasn't to my liking!
Finally, the courtesy bus doesn't seem to run to scheduled times; you have to ask if it's available when you want it. The only day that we'd have liked to use it to get to St Peter Port and back, it was too busy with airport runs, so we used the regular bus service instead.
I doubt if we'll be returning to the Fermain Valley Hotel.

Room Tip: Gold rooms in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IreneeAylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear IreneaAylesbury

Thank you for leaving your feedback about Fermain Valley Hotel.
Due to a wonderfully hot summer, we found that some machinery was unable to cope, however we have just received new fridges for the rooms and I have asked our maintenance team to review the hotel’s ventilation system.
The courtesy bus is available for guests to use (subject to availability) and at the moment does not run to scheduled times, but it is certainly something we will look into if many of our guests find this easier.
I can assure you that all of the items you have raised here are being dealt with and I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

With best regards,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Beautiful location, and the gardens are a gardeners paradise. All friendly staff, very good restaurant, spectacular views from the large, modern terrace/pool area. Convenientfriendly shuttle service to town or airport. We would definitely go again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Annex, which is perfectly pleasant, but does mean a five minute uphill walk from main h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cincobayou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear cincobayou

Thank you so much for taking the time to feed back your wonderful comments following your recent stay with us at the Fermain Valley.

It is always nice to be able to pass on praise such as yours to the team and I am looking forward to letting everyone know how much you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon to Guernsey on a future visit

Kind regards
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I only stayed here for one night but was really impressed right from the minute the free courtesy shuttle bus picked us up from the airport. The hotel is lovely in a really picturesque location with only a short walk to the pretty Fermain Bay. The staff are all really helpful and took time to show us round evening though they were obviously busy with the hotel being full booked. Our room was spacious with clean, crisps decor and a lovely view out over the bay. The wifi is good and nice Elemis toiletries in the bathrooms. There is a decent sized indoor pool and doors that open out onto the sun terrace. Afternoon tea was amazing but too much and it felt a waste leaving some - hats off to the patteserie chef as the swan choux buns were delightful! We ate at The Rock Garden which is definitely worth a try. This really is a great hotel with first class service. Highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank lottiib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear lottiib

Thank you for your comments about the Fermain Valley hotel, I am thrilled that you enjoyed so much of the hotel in such a short stay, maybe we could tempt you to come over from Jersey for longer next time!
It is always great to hear that our guests have recognised and appreciated the hard work and attention to detail that our staff strive to provide and I will be sure to pass your wonderful comments on Mark our pastry chef.
Next time you book we will make sure to reserve you a prime spot in the Rock Garden.
Warm regards
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed a week in the hotel and had a lovely holiday in Guernsey. It is an exceptionally well run hotel .Clean comfortable with friendly efficient staff . Excellent breakfasts. I am probably doing the hotel a disservice by giving it a three star as the location is superb with a short walk downhill to the bay. The problem for us was we stayed in the venue which is an annex to the hotel to cater for weddings and functions. The uphill walk to get there is not too much trouble - it is through very well maintained gardens. We stayed when a function was on. Our bedroom was above the function room. The noise was awful in our bedroom going on well after midnight - va doom, va doom va doom! you know what i mean. Only one night, but enough to take the edge of what was a pleasant stay. So, I would recommend the hotel but would not recommend the annex rooms .

Room Tip: avoid the annex if any function on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipmac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear pipScotland,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at the Fermain Valley. I am sorry that you were disturbed by a wedding in the Venue on one of the nights you stayed, it is a very popular place for people to have a wedding celebrations in the summer due to its spectacular location and first class service

I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and that you found the staff to be friendly and capable whilst also enjoying the facilities.

I hope to see you again in the near future

Warm regards
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We were invited to accompany our inlaws to Guernsey to celebrate their Ruby wedding at the hotel. That meant we did not do our usual research on hotels available so booked somewhat blindly after a quick look on the hotels own website.
On arrival we were allocated Room 32 which was great. Top floor of the main hotel, large balcony looking down the Fermain Valley to the sea. Decent size room with lots of nice touches such as, fudge, water (replenished), slippers, dressing gowns and fruit. However as mentioned in other reviews, fridge did not work, nor did bathroom extractor fan. We did not report them to be fair.
Hotel is in a wonderful position in a quiet location. This is however down a very narrow lane which can be trciky if you meet another vehicle. After one trip down we decided to park at the Venue off the main road and walk down through the landscaped gardens.
Food was good although the evening choice was a little limited. We were a little disappointed with some dining room staff members attitude if we asked to sit at a table of our choice, rather than the one they had allocated. Sulky looks and service without a smile. Grow up please.
Overall a great experience and a wonderful island to explore. It reminded us of Cornwall/Devon about 40 years ago.
Happy to come back to this hotel if we return.

Room Tip: Room 32 appeared good to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff2727_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Jeff2727_10

Thank you for your kind comments about Fermain Valley. I am delighted that you had such a memorable and enjoyable stay with us whilst celebrating your wedding anniversary and I hope to see you returning to Guernsey for your next anniversary.
I shall be sure to pass on your kind words to the rest of the team. Please do visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have just returned from a short three day stay.
The hotel was just as we expected, the rooms were lovely, with free water, fruit and sherry in the room.
The food was excellent and presented lovely.
Both female receptionists were very polite and helpful, however, when I mentioned to the male receptionist that we had been awake since 5.45am due to the noise from the people in the room above us banging and moving furniture around, his reply was, it was normal to be active at that time as there was always a hive of activity in the hotel at this hour of the day.
I was very surprised by his response and this would prevent us from returning to this hotel in the
future, this is not a reflection of the quality of the hotel, just the noise that prevented us from waking at a normal time in the morning.
I would have loved to have returned to this hotel, but we will look at another venue next time we stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room, if you want to have a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Ann b
Thank you for your welcomed comments about The Fermain Valley. In our hotel we treat each guest with individual care as you are individual, making your stay unique and as special as possible. We continuously invest in our hotel to ensure that it is of first class nature and rooms are always beautifully appointed.

We welcome you back to visits us at the Fermain Valley soon.

Kind regards
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Just back from our first ever stay in Guernsey. We booked 4 days at Fermain, 3 days at the sister hotel in Alderney (Braye Beach) and then back to Guernsey at a different hotel. We had a totally wonderful stay, and have no complaints at all.

The piece de resistance is where the Fermain Valley Hotel is situated, at the top of a very steep hill, but with beautiful views down to the Fermain Bay. We had a Gold Room, with a balcony with table & chairs where we sat and enjoyed this wonderful view. The room itself was very clean, tastefully decorated, with the complimentary fruit & sherry as advertised. There was also a fridge, with complimentary bottled water, and ample supplies of tea, coffee and biscuits. The bathroom was beautiful, with loads of Elemis toiletries. We felt very spoilt. All the staff, without fail, were polite. A lot of Eastern Europeans in the restaurant, who were all very helpful and hard working. On checking out, there was a minor issue with our bill, however this was dealt with appropriately and as we do not "sweat the small stuff", we do not feel the need to berate the hotel for this minor error.

The food was lovely, breakfast in particular. My request for soya milk was fulfilled straight away. We ate dinner every evening in the restaurant, it's a little bit fancy for us, we're not that used to fine dining, however we were adventurous and in any case, the husband eats everything and anything!

Overall, very pleased with the hotel and I would have liked to have given a 4.5, as it was better than a 4, but not quite the perfect 5!

Room Tip: We had a Gold Room with a sea view. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racheyroo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Racheyroo67

Thank you so much for posting your lovely comments about the wonderful Fermain Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed both Guernsey and Alderney and that you felt spoilt here at Fermain with our little extra special touches.
I am proud of my staff whom revel in hospitality and providing service excellence, and therefore delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience. All our ingredients are locally sought and made with care and passion. We look forward to your return visit at the Fermain Valley.
Best regards
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
885 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
865 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
572 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fermain Valley Hotel

Address: Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £81 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fermain Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fermain Valley has 2 dining options both recently refurbished - the 2 AA Rosette Ocean Restaurant and the sophisticated Rock Garden Steak House and Cocktail bar. Both offer a relaxed atmosphere, sensational food at great value, with exceptional service. Ocean offers a decked area for al fresco dining with superb views out over Fermain Valley to sea and neighbouring Channel Islands. The hotel also offers quiet, cozy lounges to relax in after dinner, a private cinema for guest use, an indoor-heated swimming pool and sauna. There is wireless broadband access throughout the hotel. The Fermain Hotel is renowned for its warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fermain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fermain Valley
Fermain Valley Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing