We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round - excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fermain Valley Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“All round - excellent”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have had a terrific week and we really didn't want to come home which is very unusual for us. It has taken us a couple of days to settle in again. The Fermain Valley was a special treat and we paid more than we usually do for a holiday. Glad we did - it was excellent. The staff were great, the location brilliant, great service and food, rooms were cleaned very well. We walked into town a couple of times, along the coastal path but also got the no.11 bus at the bus stop 3 minutes away from Hotel.(Going through the hotel and then the gardens of the VENUE, takes the sting out of walking up the hill and is a very pleasant stroll through the gardens. We only discovered this late in the week.) I would suggest not going on the island bus tour - make your own way - it's very easy - buy a day ticket which can be purchased on the bus. Visit HERM and SARK.

Room Tip: Go for gold-balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cumbria10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Cumbria10,

Thank you for your lovely comments on Trip Advisor, it seems that you were very busy during your stay! I am always thrilled to read that Guests have found my staff great and that the location of the hotel is brilliant. Our award-winning gardens are enjoyed by many of our guests in all seasons and both Herm and Sark are always on my list of things to do each year. Please do come and stay again at Fermain Valley Hotel, there is so much more to see.

Kind regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    142
    50
    16
    7
See reviews for
113
420
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We recently stayed for one week in the Gold Room. Overall we had a very relaxing time. The room was cleaned to a high standard daily. All staff were friendly. The food was delicious. Twice we received a meal not as requested but the chef did change it. The General Manager 'Robert' was extremely friendly and made an effort to go that extra mile. We found the location wonderful. Fermain Bay was quiet and we often had hours on the beach without anyone else appearing. Beautiful gardens and pathway through the woods. However you do need to be relatively fit to walk back up the steep hill. If not we did witness taxi's collecting people. We managed to get around the island via bus service and it only cost £4.50 pp for all day pass. The only fault we encountered which you could get anywhere was a very heavy heeled woman thumping above. This often woke us up when she returned to the room. Difficult to teach people manners! Despite this I would recommend this hotel. We have never returned to a hotel but both agree we would come back and perhaps stay in the premium room. We love Guernsey.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Beautiful hotel, rooms very comfortable and clean and light, service and surrounding gardens and area. Peaceful and luvly views over bush and little bay looking out to sea, and garden and walkway down to the beach through the bush or down to town all delightful.

Room Tip: If its very hot ask for a room facing south - the AC/fans can't cope with very hot (probably don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaying182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Very clean. Friendly. Great food. Fantastic bars, great atmosphere. Great Island. What more do you want? Excellent staff. Nice view. Would definitely return. Lots of nice beaches. Make sure you visit Herm Island.

Room Tip: Go for balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaglongstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Jaglongstaff,

Thank you so much for your review, I’m glad you liked Guernsey and its surrounding Islands. My staff and I would be delighted to welcome you back to the Fermain Valley Hotel very soon.
Best regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have just returned from a week at this hotel, my partner has already posted a comment saying what a fantastic time we had and how good the service was and how clean our room was etc, but having read some of the posts from other travellers I felt the need to have a say myself. There was a very long winded moan about room 51 in the venue, this was our room, it was lovely! It was indeed split level very comfortable and not a bit dangerous and the view from the very large windows overlooking the valley was amazing, The fridge worked and so did the extractor fan.
There are planes flying over but it most definately isnt Heathrow,
As for complaining about the venue being up a hill, what can I say, the whole hotel is set on the side of a valley and all of Guernsey is hilly!!!
The courtsey bus was available whenever we asked for a ride into town, but we found the local bus service was excellent (number 11) running every 15 minutes during the day from the main road just outside the venue to St Peter Port, only a 5 minute ride away.
It would seem some people just like to complain and would do well to rememeber they are on holiday and relax a little
The staff (especially the General manager, Robert) couldnt have been more welcoming and helpful. We had a great week and will definately be making a return visit to this hotel

Room Tip: We stayed in the venue which was every bit as nice as the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear TracyV,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to receive positive comments about our wonderful hotel and an alternative view on our facilities..
I am pleased that you took advantage not only of our courtesy bus, but also the local service. We are very lucky with our location, looking out over the beautiful Fermain Bay. I do look forward to seeing you here again, let me know when you are coming and I will ensure you have a relaxing time!

Warmest regards
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic week at this hotel. We stayed in the Venue part of the hotel, which was explained to us at the time of booking as being slightly away from the main hotel, but to be honest was no more than a minute walk. Yes there was a wedding on the Saturday, which certainly didn't go onto the late hours in the morning, and what decent hotel isn't holding a wedding on a Saturday in the summer . The staff made a point of letting us know that an event was on, and it certainly wasn't a loud boisterous event as reported by others. Our room was excellent, clean and well equipped and serviced very well every day. The breakfast was excellent and served quickly with a good range. The hotel was immaculate and the general manager was superb at all times, reflecting that there was a genuine wish to please at all times. Swimming pool was clean and the sauna worked superbly. The location was great, five minutes from Peters Port by shuttle bus that was always available, yet offering tranquility away from the bustle. Total recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear RussH,

Thank you so much for your Trip Advisor review. I feel that most of our guests are happy with what we offer, we are very proud of our facilities as are many of the local Guernsey residents. Please let me know when you are to return to Guernsey, we look forward to welcoming you back to Fermain Valley Hotel once again.
With best regards
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed three nights (we arrived on thursday to leave on sunday morning) at the Fermaine Valley Hotel or, more precisely, at the Venue Building located 150 meters up hill behind the hotel. The rooms are just above the bakery (so it is very hot without air conditioning) and the ball room is on the ground floor of the building with the rooms just above.
On Friday there was a wedding and we had to leave the room and to find somewhere to sleep because of the noise. The receptionist (very kind) gave us another room for the night and we transfered ourselves some of our luggage to the new room. On Saturday night, another event was organized but no escape was possible this night. We had to wait 1a.m to sleep. It was as if the musicians were in our room.
I recorded the music with my camera in our room and it was an efficient way to convince the manager to give a large discount.
To conclude, avoid this hotel at all cost because the website does not present what you will find in a honest way. We stayed three nights at Hotel Jerbourg (three stars) and it was incomparably better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Professor Roger,

As we discussed during your stay at Fermain Valley Hotel, we clearly state the location of The Venue rooms as being a short stroll through the gardens from the hotel. We do not have a bakery in The Venue, although when you stayed with us, the weather was a lovely temperature for August.
We are very lucky with our exceptional location and welcome many weddings over the weekends in the summer. We are very aware of noise levels and make sure that the resident DJ has turned off his music at a sensible time in order to be considerate towards our guests.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at the hotel; I hope that you can give us another chance in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fermain Valley Hotel

Property: Fermain Valley Hotel
Address: Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fermain Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fermain Valley has 2 dining options both recently refurbished - the 2 AA Rosette Ocean Restaurant and the sophisticated Rock Garden Steak House and Cocktail bar. Both offer a relaxed atmosphere, sensational food at great value, with exceptional service. Ocean offers a decked area for al fresco dining with superb views out over Fermain Valley to sea and neighbouring Channel Islands. The hotel also offers quiet, cozy lounges to relax in after dinner, a private cinema for guest use, an indoor-heated swimming pool and sauna. There is wireless broadband access throughout the hotel. The Fermain Hotel is renowned for its warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fermain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fermain Valley
Fermain Valley Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing