We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fermain Valley Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The perfect start to our holiday in Guernsey, restful and relaxing with excellent service. Staff welcoming, friendly and helpful. Food excellent and not over priced considering the quality and presentation - compliments to the Chef and team! Home from home hotel 'lounges' were perfect to sit in and relax at any time of day. The terrace was a great place to eat or just sit with a coffee and while away the time. Views from the main hotel bedrooms and those facing the gardens in 'The Venue' are stunning. Our room in The Venue was quite small, overlooked the side of the hotel and another building. It is quite expensive but guess you pay for the location and service. We didn't mind the walk from The Venue to the main hotel as the gardens are beautiful and therapeutic! If you don't want to walk then book a room in the main hotel but you will have to pay more.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel are more convenient for ease of access to hotel facilities
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gertrude57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Gertrude57,

How lovely to read your comments about Fermain Valley Hotel, thank you. I was particularly pleased to read that you found my staff welcoming, friendly and helpful, that you enjoyed the walk through the gardens and whiled away the time on the terraces. I have passed on your comments to the chef and his team and all my staff are delighted to hear your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Best regards,

Robert

Skell_8
“Superb Hotel”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
There are newer reviews for Fermain Valley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Fermain Valley Hotel? Excellent service. Excellent restaurants. There are however buts. The photos on most sites show the main hotel with balconies looking down the valley to the sea. However, the hotel is in two parts and the "garden rooms" part is not attached to the bit in the photos, but is quite a steep walk up the hill from the main hotel. The "Garden Rooms" bit is also known as "The Venue", where parties, wedding and the like use the function rooms. We didn't find these to be particularly noisy in our second room, but we were initially put in a room, not overlooking any gardens or sea, but a car park, with a main road beyond. The car park was the place of choice for wedding guests to smoke cigarettes, laugh and chat. Until the event finished and traffic on the main road lessened, there was no chance of sleep. I took this up with the receptionist and I'm pleased to report that she managed to find us another room, overlooking the gardens which was not only much quieter, but also much larger.
While on the subject of rest, prospective visitors should be made aware that the hotel is almost in line with the runway at Guernsey Airport. From about 7.30am to 9.00pm there are aircraft taking off or landing pretty much over the hotel. We were woken every day by the 1st flight arriving, so maybe earplugs would be an item worth packing.
So that's the negatives out of the way! The pluses are everything else! Friendly and efficient staff, most of whom seemed to be of Latvian origin. Good food. Clean modern rooms.
The hotel is on a hill. A steep hill! If you aren't fit, or suffer from mobility problems, you will have difficulty getting around. The beach, down the road from the hotel, is hard work, particularly the return journey. One of the staff said to me, possibly as a joke, that he gets a taxi there if he wants to go. There is however a cafe at the beach to replenish calories before the return hike back.
Not been to Guernsey before? The roads aren't like any I have experienced anywhere else in the world! They are narrow, really narrow! The island's 35mph speed limit is in many place too high! You regularly are confronted by lorries or buses heading straight at you, necessitating a diversion onto the footpath, or even reversing back a considerable distance to a wider spot or someone's driveway. Hire car are emblazoned with a large H on the front and rear, so at least the locals are aware that you are not used to the local conditions. Last but not least, if you venture off the "main roads", the lanes are single track with stone walls bordering the tarmac.
Would I stay there again? Hell yes!

Room Tip: Make sure it doesn't overlook the car park at "The Venue". Room 43 is particularly nic...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Banupa,
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.
I was pleased to read that the restaurants and service were excellent. Some of our rooms are located in The Venue, which is a short walk through the gardens from the main hotel. The next time you stay with us, I would recommend a Gold room in the hotel. Although slightly more expensive, as you mention, these rooms have balconies overlooking the wonderful Fermain Bay. I think that as an Islander, I tend not to hear the planes any more, but the early flight does provide the Island with our post and newspapers. Thank you very much for your kind words about my staff, we were delighted to hear such positive feedback. Please let me know when you wish to return to Fermain Valley Hotel, I shall try to ensure room 43 is available for you, but would also recommend the balcony rooms here in the main building.
Best regards,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We attended a family wedding reception held at The Venue attached to The Fermain Valley Hotel. The room was excellent with a balcony with sofas to relax on, the food was perfect and service excellent. The gardens and surrounding were beautiful.
We stayed overnight and found the room quite small but had a huge comfortable bed. We were overlooking the main road and Fermain Tavern so tended to be quite noisy. It was clean and spotless. There was a television, fruit, water, sherry and tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom had underfloor heating with Elemis toiletries.
The decoration was dated definately needs refurbishing and there were some electrics hanging from the ceiling.
There was a good choice for breakfast with pastries, ham, cheese, cereals and choice of juice. Toast was brought to your table with tea and coffee followed then by a cooked breakfast of your choice from the hot breakfast menu. The service was good however the orders did get mixed up.
Overall a good experience but did not think it was completely worth the cost of £145 for one night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear LK11,

I was pleased to read your comments about the Fermain Valley Hotel and that you enjoyed the facilities we provide. I am sorry that you were disturbed by the Tavern across the road; when you come to stay next time and visit the family, I would be pleased to show you a Gold room which has a balcony overlooking the bay. Please keep a look out on our website for special deals, alternatively our friendly hotel reservations team would be very happy to assist you and any requirements you may have.
Best regards,

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Wonderful time spent here on a short trip en route to Sark. Not far from everything that the Retail Shopper would enjoy. The views from the Hotel are stunning and as soon as you get to the Hotel the strain of the journey just melts away. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear blottie,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I know myself how lovely and relaxing Sark is, so for the strain of the journey to have already melted away due to your stay at Fermain Valley, it must have made the trip even more enjoyable. I am pleased that you enjoyed some Guernsey retail therapy, the hotel certainly is based in a stunning location.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fermain Valley Hotel soon.
Best regards

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have had a terrific week and we really didn't want to come home which is very unusual for us. It has taken us a couple of days to settle in again. The Fermain Valley was a special treat and we paid more than we usually do for a holiday. Glad we did - it was excellent. The staff were great, the location brilliant, great service and food, rooms were cleaned very well. We walked into town a couple of times, along the coastal path but also got the no.11 bus at the bus stop 3 minutes away from Hotel.(Going through the hotel and then the gardens of the VENUE, takes the sting out of walking up the hill and is a very pleasant stroll through the gardens. We only discovered this late in the week.) I would suggest not going on the island bus tour - make your own way - it's very easy - buy a day ticket which can be purchased on the bus. Visit HERM and SARK.

Room Tip: Go for gold-balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cumbria10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Cumbria10,

Thank you for your lovely comments on Trip Advisor, it seems that you were very busy during your stay! I am always thrilled to read that Guests have found my staff great and that the location of the hotel is brilliant. Our award-winning gardens are enjoyed by many of our guests in all seasons and both Herm and Sark are always on my list of things to do each year. Please do come and stay again at Fermain Valley Hotel, there is so much more to see.

Kind regards,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We recently stayed for one week in the Gold Room. Overall we had a very relaxing time. The room was cleaned to a high standard daily. All staff were friendly. The food was delicious. Twice we received a meal not as requested but the chef did change it. The General Manager 'Robert' was extremely friendly and made an effort to go that extra mile. We found the location wonderful. Fermain Bay was quiet and we often had hours on the beach without anyone else appearing. Beautiful gardens and pathway through the woods. However you do need to be relatively fit to walk back up the steep hill. If not we did witness taxi's collecting people. We managed to get around the island via bus service and it only cost £4.50 pp for all day pass. The only fault we encountered which you could get anywhere was a very heavy heeled woman thumping above. This often woke us up when she returned to the room. Difficult to teach people manners! Despite this I would recommend this hotel. We have never returned to a hotel but both agree we would come back and perhaps stay in the premium room. We love Guernsey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Beautiful hotel, rooms very comfortable and clean and light, service and surrounding gardens and area. Peaceful and luvly views over bush and little bay looking out to sea, and garden and walkway down to the beach through the bush or down to town all delightful.

Room Tip: If its very hot ask for a room facing south - the AC/fans can't cope with very hot (probably don...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaying182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
814 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
605 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fermain Valley Hotel

Address: Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £92 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fermain Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fermain Valley has 2 dining options both recently refurbished - the 2 AA Rosette Ocean Restaurant and the sophisticated Rock Garden Steak House and Cocktail bar. Both offer a relaxed atmosphere, sensational food at great value, with exceptional service. Ocean offers a decked area for al fresco dining with superb views out over Fermain Valley to sea and neighbouring Channel Islands. The hotel also offers quiet, cozy lounges to relax in after dinner, a private cinema for guest use, an indoor-heated swimming pool and sauna. There is wireless broadband access throughout the hotel. The Fermain Hotel is renowned for its warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fermain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fermain Valley
Fermain Valley Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing