We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place but few hiccups”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fermain Valley Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Hayes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“wonderful place but few hiccups”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Overall a lovely hotel but not so good if you have food allergies. I phoned ahead to see if I should bring my own gluton free bread but they insisted it was no problem for them to get it. After several days of no bread I finally found marks &Spencers had some. Also booked a 'secret escapes' holiday so not such a bargain as we had the views of the dustbins and ongoing refurbishments. As it was for our 46th weddings anniversary and a 70th birthday celebration we did have a lovely surprise though of 2 red roses on our pillows and a heart made of petals on the bed. Staff are so lovely especially the new manager in the Ocean restaurent . Their fish pie was the best I have ever tasted. I would love to go again but only if assured a room with a view! The cafe on the beach also had lovely meals.so relaxing sitting outside overlooking the beach.Well worth the walk down but only if you are fit as it seems twice as far climbing back up!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front or with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Janet N,
Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay with us at the Fermain Valley Hotel. We are more than happy to cater for any guests’ requirements and gluten-free bread is something which we can provide on request. I have spoken to the kitchen to ensure that this issue does not happen again and would like to personally apologise for any inconvenience. We have already taken steps to change the system of how our bins are stored, thereby causing a minimum amount of disruption. I was pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your dining experience at our new Ocean Restaurant and that you liked the rose petal turndown which we provided in your room. I was pleased to share your kind words with both the restaurant and housekeeping staff who were all delighted.
We would love to be able to welcome you back for another stay. If you book one of our Platinum rooms, this would guarantee you a sea view looking down the Valley and looking across to Jersey. If you would like to contact us directly, we will ensure you get the best rates and personal service in selecting a specific room to meet your requirements.
Kind regards
Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    148
    50
    17
    7
See reviews for
115
431
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel reservations team were brilliant before we arrived as I ended to look after 2 disabled relatives and check their hotel room would suit. It was a perfect twin room with space and great facilities. We suggested a seat in the bathroom as their was no toilet seat and they needed somewhere dry to sit. I was in a garden room and the garden walk is lovely, up a steepish hill. Room was perfect and loved the Elemis toiletries. Offer turndown service too.
Hotel reception team were great. Dan was welcoming and gave a great tour. Gavin was really helpful prior to arrival and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel offer a comp car service from the airport which was a treat. We used this service into St Peters Port and Lucas the driver was a super star.
Hotel is in a peaceful setting with gardens and outside seating.
One thing lets the hotel down. Breakfast service is indifferent and uncaring. We could have been new arrivals every day as they never appeared to recognise us and everything seemed such hard work. We ate dinner in Ocean on the first night and service was terrible. Food is tasty. We also ate on Mothers Day and the service was much friendlier and speedier. Food again lovely.
Hotel well located for the town or airport and easy to get about with local buses and the car service. You can do a round the island tour on a local bus at the top of the road from the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GlamNik7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
DearGlamNik7,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review following your recent stay at Fermain Valley Hotel. I was most delighted to share your comments with the team and that we were able to make your stay most enjoyable. I was also pleased that you have enjoyed the rooms both in the main hotel and at The Venue building. The walk through the award-winning gardens to The Venue is a real delight and I was pleased you enjoyed this. It is also very rewarding for us to read how the team had looked after you so well and helped to make your stay with us all that you would have hoped for.
Our complimentary hotel transport is very popular and it was a pleasure to read that you had been able to make good use of this service during your stay. We have recently upgraded our transport offering a luxurious car for guests to use for their trips into town alongside our courtesy bus.
I am sorry that you seemed to have had some problems with service during one of your evenings with us. I have spoken to my colleagues about this issue to ensure that service is looked at closely to prevent this from happening again. Both our new restaurants, The Ocean and The Rock Garden are doing very well and we would love to be able to welcome you back to try them again in the future.
If you would like to return, please do not hesitate to contact us directly for the most competitive rates.
Kind regards
Kind regards
Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel,clean room,loved the swimming pool,close to port,but the staff, really make this a lovely place to stay. Attentive,polite,friendly,and nothing is too much trouble. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Julie M,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review following your recent stay at the Fermain Valley Hotel. I was most pleased that you were able to make use of the hotels facilities and the team were all pleased to hear that they had been able to make your stay as enjoyable as you would hope for.
Should you wish to return, please do not hesitate to contact us directly for the most competitive rates.
Kind regards
Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Went on Winter Break.
Lovely setting, beach cafe down the hill definitely worth the walk (through hotel garden).

All brilliant except billing.


No signature on bar bill / resaurant bill. Final bill had £100 of someone elses meal on it! Keep a check on your drinks / meals.

Room Tip: 'Gold' with balcony - room 34 great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRAHAM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Graham D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay at Fermain Valley Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and will pass this praise back to our team.
I apologies that you had some problems with your final bill and we will address this matter immediately in order to prevent any further issues.

We would love to be able to welcome you back for another stay in the future and will be opening our new Rock Garden Steakhouse this week which will be a great new addition to our facilities.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any future enquiries and for the most competitive rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Had a wonderful stay in this lovely hotel on this great island. Many thanks to Gavin and Daniel for their first class help during our stay. We had a great, spacious room with sea view in a gold room basis with nice touches like sherry and bath robes. Refurbishing was going on during our visit but was not a significant problem. We had room 50 and it was roomy and warm with a great view over the bay. We went walking along the coastal path for two days, that was tough, but with great views and many interesting sites it made the aching limbs worthwhile. At the bottom of the road is a vey nice cafe which was open at the weekend being out of season.

The hotel offer a courtesy bus to the arport which we used and we also ventured out on the bus with the bus stop close it the hotel. The island is compact so there is no real need for a car. The hotel is twenty mins walk away to the town on the main road or 40 mins along the coast path.

The hotel has a small pool and sauna which was excellent and also a cinema. A 27 seat private cinema that guests can use. We saw Galaxy in 3D and had the cinema to ourselves! An excellent novel addition that other hotels have not got on the island. So in all a great hotel, very spacious rooms, very good staff and a wonderful island. If you stay on Guernsey then I would recommend this hotel. We will be back!

Room Tip: Room 50 sea view.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keingkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Keingkev,
I would like to thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review after your recent stay with us. I was delighted to share your comments with the team and pleased that we were able to help make your stay most enjoyable. It was nice to hear that you had enjoyed some of the extras we provide in all our rooms and enjoy some beautiful views of the bay.
We have a lot of positive feedback about our guest transport service which we offer to guests and I was pleased that you were able to make good use of this during your stay.
It was also great to hear how much you enjoyed the use of our leisure facilities and our in house cinema. We are often updating our library of movies and when you return for your next stay we will be happy to arrange another showing for you. In addition to our cinema we have recently have full sky television installed into our bedrooms, our Platinum rooms offering a full package with sports and movies to enjoy in the comfort of your room
We all look forward to welcoming you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for the most competitive rates available.
Kind regards
Gavin Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Had a wonderful stay in this lovely hotel. Many thanks to Gavin for his help and assistance with our stay. We had a lovely warm room with sea view. Refubishing the resturant etc. was going on at the time of our visit .but was not a problem as we were out and about as the weather was great.

Room Tip: Room 16. Sea view. Balcony with seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiggy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Wiggy123,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your recent stay at Fermain Valley Hotel. We were pleased to hear how much you had enjoyed one of our beautifully appointed rooms and that our team were able to help make your stay enjoyable. We have now finished developing our new Ocean Restaurant and we would love to welcome you back so you can experience our new dining room.
Should you wish to return, please do not hesitate to contact us directly to get the most competitive rates.

Kind regards
Gavin Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Excellent Location, close to the beach. Room very comfortable, high level of service, personnel friendly, nice atmosphere at hotel.
Food at restaurant delicious. Good breakfast as well. Good place for family with kids.

Room Tip: Rooms are very comfortable with beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malgorzata j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Malgorzata j,

I would like to thank you for leaving such a nice review after your recent stay with us which I was very pleased to share with the team. I was also very pleased to hear how much the high standard of service and excellent food had helped you to enjoy your visit.
If you would like to return please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will be more than happy to assist you with the most competitive rates.

Kind regards
Robert Steen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
775 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
557 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fermain Valley Hotel

Property: Fermain Valley Hotel
Address: Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fermain Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fermain Valley has 2 dining options both recently refurbished - the 2 AA Rosette Ocean Restaurant and the sophisticated Rock Garden Steak House and Cocktail bar. Both offer a relaxed atmosphere, sensational food at great value, with exceptional service. Ocean offers a decked area for al fresco dining with superb views out over Fermain Valley to sea and neighbouring Channel Islands. The hotel also offers quiet, cozy lounges to relax in after dinner, a private cinema for guest use, an indoor-heated swimming pool and sauna. There is wireless broadband access throughout the hotel. The Fermain Hotel is renowned for its warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fermain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fermain Valley
Fermain Valley Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing