We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasure or business this is Guernsey's best hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fermain Valley Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasure or business this is Guernsey's best hotel”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I travel to this hotel around once a month for work. Secretly, I look forward to staying here. From the fabulous staff who always greet me with a warm welcome to the luxurious comfortable beds to the wonderful view this really is one of my favourite hotels. Just undergone a refurb and it looks great. The food is always brilliant, the room service is great and nothing is too much trouble for the staff they really are brilliant. Nestled in a gorgeous bay, a short walk through the hotel down to the wonderful little bay quickly helps one unwind after travelling. Rooms have sea view balconies so you can sit and unwind here and it's the little touches such as apples, a decanter in the room, everything you need from toiletries to an ironing board to tea and biscuits all make the stay fabulous. Love to bring the hubby and kids here for a stay because I know they would love it. Don't tell the boss but no hardship at all staying here and secretly I enjoy my work trips to this fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: Silver or gold rooms fabulous. Do bring your swimmers as they do have pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marswebbpr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear marswebbpr01,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review following your recent stay at The Fermain Valley Hotel. It is always a pleasure to welcome guests back to the hotel and I was delighted to share your comments with the team who were all most pleased how much you enjoy returning to stay with us.
I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our two new restaurants within the hotel and had the opportunity to sample some of the delicious dishes available. I was also very pleased that you were able to enjoy one of our Gold rooms, with a wooden decked balcony and wonderful blue hue sea views. We pride ourselves on the customer service and the little touches that we provide in each guest room and we are please these elements helped make your stay especially memorable.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back for your next work visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to ensure you are getting the best rates available.

Kind regards
Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    142
    50
    16
    7
See reviews for
113
420
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed for only 3 nights, unfortunately( to attend the same family wedding) and from the moment that we arrived we were greeted with wonderful customer service. Flight arrived at 8 am and we were picked up at 8.20 am by the courtesy car. On arrival at Fermain we expected to leave our bags until book in time but our room was ready and we were able to have a lovely breakfast and enjoy the facilities. Special mention for Robert Steen who greeted us each morning and was particularly hard working on the day of the wedding held at The Venue. He was always courteous and attentive as were all the staff at all times,what a joy! The wedding receptions were fantastic, the hotel is in the most beautiful setting, so overall, an extremely fabulous experience .
Gold room with sea view terrace worth every penny and the hubby adored the sherry ! And yes we will definitely stay again as well.

Room Tip: Gold rooms with view down the valley- very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacque R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Jacque R,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It was a real pleasure to share your wonderful comments with the team who were delighted to hear how much you had enjoyed your experience with us here at Fermain Valley Hotel. I was very pleased to hear how we had all helped to ensure you had such an enjoyable stay and that you had such a great day at the wedding which was held at our Venue facility.
We would love to be able to welcome you back for a stay in the future. Should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact our reservations team directly at book@fermainvalley.com who will be able to assist you in getting the most competitive rates.
Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed six nights here, whilst attending a family wedding and were delighted to find the best customer service we have ever had. All staff were very helpful,cheerful, friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. Robert Steen, the general manager, in particular was courteous, helpful and efficient. We appreciated the tour of the hotel when we arrived, the use of the cinema, excellent food and free shuttle service. Our gold room had a fantastic view with balcony, complimentary fruit, water & sherry in the room. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Gold room with sea view balcony worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Rosemary H,

Thank you for posting such a lovely review following your recent stay with us. It is extremely rewarding for all our team to know that their friendliness and hospitality ensured your stay was as enjoyable as you would wish. I was also very pleased to hear that you had been able to enjoy the complimentary facilities we offer such at the in house cinema, hotel shuttle service and our beautifully appointed Gold rooms offering a sea view and balcony. It’s always nice to hear that guests have also enjoyed the complimentary extras we provide in our guest rooms such a fruit, sherry and handmade Guernsey fudge.
I am very pleased that you will be returning to visit us in the future. When you are ready to book please do not hesitate to contact our reservations team directly on book@fermainvalley.com to ensure the best possible rates.

Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Service, location, overall quality are recommended. There are however, the following areas that let the hotel down. The breakfast menu is good but the staff seem over worked or more likely poorly supervised. We found ourselves constantly having to ask for items such as crockery, sauces etc items that should be continually re-stocked. To run out of white bread as they did one breakfast time is poor. The Steakhouse Restaurant was disappointing firstly the level of service was not good but secondly the quality of meat poor. One steak was simply not fit for consumption when we complained a very lame excuse was given and we had to refuse to pay for it, this offer should have been made by the staff. In this restaurant as with many others chefs avoid confrontation we suggest in future when there is such a complaint the chef meets the customer not shift responsibility to waiting staff. Overall the above should not detract from the fact that this is a very good hotel that we would recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 which while spacious was next to the stairs so was noisy and lacked air conditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Andy I,
I would like to thank you for taking time to leave us some feedback following your recent stay with us and to say thank you for your recommendation.
I was very sorry to hear that your dining experience was not as you would have wished for and that we have not lived up to your expectations. Here at Fermain Valley Hotel we pride ourselves on the standard of service and quality that we provide for all of our guests and receive many positive comments so it is disappointing to learn that this was not evident during your stay. Rest assured that all your comments are taken very seriously and we will be doing all we can to ensure that we have no further issues during breakfast service. We will also make sure that our head chef is aware of your comments regarding the Rock Garden to ensure the quality of beef we are using is that of the highest possible standard. We welcome all feedback and this is how we are able to improve and maintain the high standards which we pride ourselves on here.
We would love to be able to welcome you back for a stay in the future. Should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact our reservations team directly at book@fermainvalley.com who will be able to assist you in getting the most competitive rates.

Kind regards
Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have just spent 4 nights at this hotel for my nephew's wedding (their reception was held in The Venue). The hotel and Venue were excellent. Robert Steen and his staff could not have been more attentive and made our stay even more enjoyable. Excellent food, beautiful grounds and views. Well equipped and very comfortable rooms. Complimentary use of the hotel's mini buses was a great bonus too (Lucas was our wonderful driver)
I would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: I didn't use the Fitness Centre or Spa. Rooms in the main hotel would be preferable in wet weath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamH0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear PamH0303,
I would like to thank you for leaving such a kind review following your recent stay at The Fermain Valley Hotel for your nephews wedding. I was delighted to share your comments with the team and we were all most pleased that you had enjoyed your experience both at the main hotel and at The Venue for the wedding. It was also nice to hear that you had enjoyed the little extras we provide in all of our guest rooms and make good use of our complimentary transport service.
Should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact us directly for the most competitive rates. You can contact our reservations team at book@fermainvalley.com. I very much hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

OK, age has relaxed me a bit over the last few years and I was very happy to stay in this hotel again after a four year absence (and trying out self-catering for a change). After decades of dreaming about staying in one of the rooms with a balcony, I finally managed to book one and am so pleased I did - stepping out onto the balcony was unforgettable - views down the valley, birds singing in the trees, a gentle sea breeze - it is enchanting! The hotel is beautifully decorated, has a lovely atmosphere and well worth it's star rating. I have no complaints about the staff, they are efficient and smart and the person who serviced our room each day was charming and very kind in asking what sort of fruit we would like in our room.
The room itself was immaculate and the decor classically modern with a decanter of sherry on hand and fresh fruit each day. Although the room could get rather warm, opening the doors to the balcony helped. The bathroom was clean and functional and the shower was fine.
Food-wise, the chefs are excellent and the food absolutely delicious. I highly recommend the fish dishes. I would like to say that during dinner, I would recommend the hotel add on a couple of extra members of staff to serve and take orders - it cannot be a pleasant experience for the staff to have to rush around like that with two demanding guests like us - could the manager allow a couple more people to be on hand in the restaurant please?
My only other concern would be to ensure that the terrace outside the swimming pool is kept nice and tidy, loungers straightened, cushions put in place.
I HIGHLY recommend the Fermain Valley Hotel for practically anyone, especially couples on a romantic holiday, honeymoon or anniversary.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony or at least a sea room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Jackoba,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review following your long awaited stay with us. I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to live up and exceed your expectations. I was most pleased to hear how much you enjoyed all our facilities made even more enchanting by the boutique décor interior of the beautiful Fermain Valley Hotel.
I have shared with the team how much you had enjoyed your dining experience, including the newly refurbished Ocean Restaurant, which offers fabulous and fresh seafood dishes. These comments really motivate the staff as it is their passion and they have great pride in delivering the best product they can, to create happy guests.

We always look to improve our service and empathise with your comments regarding the pool area will implement measures to ensure it is kept as clean and well maintained to a much higher standard.
I very much hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel for a future stay. Should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact our reservations at book@fermainvalley.com team directly for the most competitive rates.
Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This spa hotel in a secluded valley with a sea view has a fresh contemporary atmosphere and period furniture in the library and lounges in original part of the building. The staff were a happy and welcoming team and the swim and sauna before dinner rounded off the day.
The room in the Silver suite, above the conference facility just up the hill, was spacious, clean and comfortable and had a marvellous view down the valley to the sea.
The set menu had 3 good choices, which were attractively presented, for each of three courses; having booked half board for 4 days, we were disappointed to have the same set menu each day. We were offered a discount on the a la carte, and the prices were reasonable.
There are a brisk 40 minute walk along the coast path to St Peter Port and magnificent runs either way although the sea temperature in April trumped the inviting waters in the Bay when considering a swim before breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Robert J,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Fermain Valley Hotel. It was most pleasing to hear that you had enjoyed your experience with us and that the team had helped to make your stay a memorable one.
I am sorry that the set menu was not changed regularly during your stay. As you mentioned we are always happy to offer guests an allowance from the a la carte menu for guests staying on dining packages. We take on board your comments and will look to offer an extended selection to ensure the dining experience in the new and exciting Ocean Restaurant is enhanced.
I’m delighted that you had been able to explore some of the fantastic cliff walks which are right on the door step of the hotel. The beautiful and enchanting walk to St Peter Port is a real delight at all times of the year and it is something which helps our guests to enjoy some of the most beautiful views on Guernsey.
We would love to be able to welcome you back to the hotel for a future stay. Should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact us directly at book@fermainvalley.com for the most competitive rates.

Kindest regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fermain Valley Hotel

Property: Fermain Valley Hotel
Address: Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fermain Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fermain Valley has 2 dining options both recently refurbished - the 2 AA Rosette Ocean Restaurant and the sophisticated Rock Garden Steak House and Cocktail bar. Both offer a relaxed atmosphere, sensational food at great value, with exceptional service. Ocean offers a decked area for al fresco dining with superb views out over Fermain Valley to sea and neighbouring Channel Islands. The hotel also offers quiet, cozy lounges to relax in after dinner, a private cinema for guest use, an indoor-heated swimming pool and sauna. There is wireless broadband access throughout the hotel. The Fermain Hotel is renowned for its warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fermain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fermain Valley
Fermain Valley Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing