We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fermain Valley Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Fermain Valley Hotel lived up to expectations! The hotel feel is totally relaxing and all the finishing touches were appreciated. Rooms are very spacious and luxuriously comfortable. Worth noting that the hotel has two very popular restaurants not just with residents but also locals - Rock Garden (steak) & Ocean (Fish) with amazing sea views. Downside for us was that it was particularly noisy late at night with people having a good time!
Sea views are amazing and you really must make the 5 minute walk down to Fermain beach where there is an excellent beach cafe.
If there is anything that could be improved would be the knowledge of the staff. We presume that it is beginning of the season as the staff on the breakfast shift were not particularly well trained however the food made up for this. Also upon check out the receptionist was particularly abrupt and grumpy which was an unfortunate way to end a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the back of the hotel as these are near the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Charlotte P,

I would like to thank you for leaving such a kind review following your recent stay with us. I was thrilled that you had enjoyed your dining experience in The Ocean restaurant, which prides itself on offering the freshest, seasonal produce, prepared by our talented kitchen team.
I am sorry that some of the service aspects were not as you would have hoped for at breakfast and I can assure you that we will take immediate action to correct any issues and we do take all comments seriously, so again thank you for your feedback.
We apologise that your check out experience was not as you would have expected. Again we will address this matter immediately to ensure that all of our front of house staff are meeting the high service standards which we expect as much as our guests do.
We would be delighted to welcome you back for a future stay and should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact me directly gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservation team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.

Our Reservationists team at The Fermain Valley are travel experts and being an ATOL registered company this allows us to book travel packages with compete peace of mind for our guests, which combined with our low price partner travel rates enables us to offer exceptional value for complete holiday breaks. Finally our whole team at the Fermain thank you for choosing to stay with us…

Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    142
    50
    16
    7
See reviews for
113
418
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a honest and frank review of two halves after a brief overnight visit to Guernsey on business. We had a warm and friendly welcome before being driven up the hill to our room in the annex - which was clearly another small hotel on the main road in a previous life. It is an uphill/downhill walk to/from the main building, which houses the restaurant, bar and pool - so be aware of this if you book a Venue room! We enjoyed a drink on the terrace after walking down - and back up - the steep hill to the bay! The main disappointments were firstly the room - which was small, hot and stuffy, with no air conditioning and the noise of the road and bar opposite. Secondly, the restaurant food and the service from the staff were both surprisingly poor and there was no restaurant manager to be seen so we could address these issues. To their credit, when we mentioned this to the duty manager at the front desk, he responded very professionally with an apology and a credit on the bill. Thank you for redeeming what was becoming a very disappointing visit. So this has to be an average review - but as soon as they sort out the restaurant I think most people will enjoy a visit to this hotel - but until they do, we will return to our usual hotel in St Peter Port.

Room Tip: Be aware of what you are choosing if you choose a room titled 'Venue' which is in the annex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Matthew L,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback following our recent stay at The Fermain Valley Hotel. I was most pleased that you received such a warm welcome when arriving with our reception team. I was disappointed that the room you had did not meet your requirements. I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience staying in your room at The Venue. We offer a wide range of different rooms. Each grade has different specifications and the location of our rooms differs depend on the type of room you book.
I was sorry to hear that your dining experience with us was not up to what you would hope for or expect. I can assure you that we take your comments very seriously and we will be taking steps to ensure that service is not affected in the future. We whole heartedly apologies that on this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations whilst staying with us and we would relish the opportunity to put this right.
We would be delighted to welcome you back for a future stay to amend your perception of our hotel and should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact me directly gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservation team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.

Our Reservationists team at The Fermain Valley are travel experts and being an ATOL registered company this allows us to book travel packages with compete peace of mind for our guests, which combined with our low price partner travel rates enables us to offer exceptional value for complete holiday breaks. Finally our whole team at the Fermain thank you for choosing to stay with us… Kind regards
Kind regards
Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Booked two platinum rooms to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, met by the duty manager who had taken the time to ensure all family members had appropriate rooms. We were given a short tour/overview of the property the attention to detail also included an anniversary card in the room. Hotel facilities were all clean and maintained to a high standard. Food was excellent would recommend making a booking for the restaurants as they are very busy. Great views from the room completed the experience, including great gardens.I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Mr P Tolley

Room Tip: Complimentary courtesy bus is well worth booking to and from the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul021964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear paul021964,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review following your recent stay with us at Fermain Valley Hotel. I was most pleased to be able to share your comments with the team who were delighted you had enjoyed your stay with us. I was most pleased that you had been able to enjoy the hotel and its beautiful location and also to hear that you would recommend us to others.
We would be delighted to welcome you back for a future stay and should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact me directly gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservation team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.

Our reservations team at The Fermain Valley are travel experts and being an ATOL registered company this allows us to book travel packages with compete peace of mind for our guests, which combined with our low price partner travel rates enables us to offer exceptional value for complete holiday breaks.

Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from our first visit to Guernsey booked as a package via Travelsmith. All correspondence and paperwork was spot on and we have rarely met such friendly people, from the Aurigny flight, Europecar Car Hire to Hotel Fermain Valley.
The Hotel was easy to find in a beautiful setting. Top class facilities, classy bathroom accessories and beautiful white fluffy towels and bathrobes.
Lovely terraced bar/restaurant, kept very clean. Fabulous choice of menus (half board was included in our package) so £50 allowance for each evening meal. Brilliant lobster/fillet steak surf and turf and delicious garlic langoustines with frites! Complimentary fruit , chocolates and sherry in the room and a handy little fridge with complimentary mineral water.
We look forward to booking again next year

Room Tip: Gold rooms have little sun trap balconies with table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizbythelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear lizbythelake,

I would like to thank you for leaving such a kind review following your recent stay with us at Fermain Valley Hotel. I was delighted to share your comments with the team and we were all ecstatic that you had enjoyed your experience with us.
I was very pleased to hear that you had enjoyed the little extras which we provide in all of our guests rooms such as sherry, delicious homemade fudges and fresh fruit upon arrival. I was also very pleased to hear how much you had enjoyed your dining experience in The Ocean restaurant which offers a fantastic surf and turf dish along with lots of fresh seafood dishes from local Guernsey waters.
We would welcome you to stay with us again at The Fermain Valley in the future. For the best rates on rooms and travel please do contact me directly at gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservation team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.

Our reservations team at The Fermain Valley are travel experts and being an ATOL registered company this allows us to book travel packages with compete peace of mind for our guests, which combined with our low price partner travel rates enables us to offer exceptional value for complete holiday breaks. Finally our whole team at the Fermain thank you for choosing to stay with us…

Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Returned home, 25th June after a most fantastic week. The weather was perfect as was the hotel.
Our room on the third floor, with balcony, was very well looked after with free sherry, water in fridge and fruit.
Staff in all departments were so very friendly and professional. The garden from ' The Venue" down to the hotel was lovely and well kept.
Pity we didn't stay a further week.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs Butterworth,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review following your recent stay with us at Fermain Valley Hotel. I was most pleased to be able to share your comments with the team who were thrilled you had enjoyed your stay with us. I was delighted to meet you both during your stay and to have the opportunity to speak Welsh with Mrs Thomas.
I was keen to share your kind words with the housekeeping team who were elated to hear you had enjoyed the comfort and décor in your beautifully appointed room with complimentary sherry, handmade Guernsey fudge and selection of teas and fresh coffee, which I hope all helped to enhance your experience of staying with us.
We would be delighted to welcome you back for a future stay and should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact me directly gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservation team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.

Our reservations team at The Fermain Valley are travel experts and being an ATOL registered company this allows us to book travel packages with compete peace of mind for our guests, which combined with our low price partner travel rates enables us to offer exceptional value for complete holiday breaks.

Kind regards
Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had two nights here - one in a the most expensive platinum room & then the next night in their cheapest venue silver room (as no other room was available). Both rooms were excellent, although I was disappointed that the platinum room had no balcony and the sloping room in the bathroom meant no shower tall enough to stand over in the bath. The view was wonderful though & the room very large & beautiful. Arguably not worth 3X the price of the venue silver which has all the same luxuries but less space and no view but a nicer bath/shower!
Staff were highly professional and friendly and the food excellent. We did have to wait 50mins on Friday night to receive our starter though (and perhaps bread or something sent out from the chef may have made this less noticeable). All in all we had a great stay and would definitely return but next time would book a gold room with a view & a balcony.

Room Tip: Gold rooms have lovely sunny balconies until the early evening; arguably better than the larger plat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abarberchadwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear abarberchadwick,

I would like to thank you for taking time to leave such a kind review following your recent stay at The Fermain Valley Hotel.
I was pleased to hear that you had found both rooms types that you stayed in equally as comfortable as we are proud of our high decor standard. The comfort and facilities in all of our rooms is very important to us and is always most pleasing to hear when guests have enjoyed their experience with us. I delighted to hear how you had found our staff to be both professional and friendly during your dining experience in the hotel restaurants. Providing such a high level of service is vitally important to us as our goal is to make your stay a memorable one and feedback such as yours gives everyone a real moral boost.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to stay in one of our gold rooms. Should you wish to return, please contact me directly at gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservation team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.

Our reservationists team at The Fermain Valley are travel experts and being an ATOL registered company this allows us to book travel packages with compete peace of mind for our guests, which combined with our low price partner travel rates enables us to offer exceptional value for complete holiday breaks.


Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked the hotel because we were attending a meeting there and incorporated this into a 4 day break. We expected an impersonal corporate style hotel but found the staff most friendly and efficient, the facilities and service excellent and the dining choices and food quality excellent. The bedroom had a sea view and balcony and was well equipped and the entire hotel was well and attractively maintained.
We shall certainly visit again. The bar service and wine choice was varied and good and the Real ale was a pleasant surprise for a hotel of this class which can so often believe ale is below the taste of their clientele when really it is below the skill of the staff.
Altogether an excellent hotel

Room Tip: Choose the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Geoffrey A,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us such a kind review following your recent stay with us at The Fermain Valley Hotel. I was most pleased that the team had looked after you during your stay and made you felt so welcome. It is very important to us that each and every guest receives the same professional service and the team were all delighted with your kind comments. We were enamoured to read that you were able to sample and enjoy some of the fantastic local real ales which we serve at the hotel, where possible we always look to source local produce and support artisan trade.
Once again thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback and should you wish to return, please do not hesitate to contact me directly gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservations team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.
Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
731 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
585 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
546 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fermain Valley Hotel

Property: Fermain Valley Hotel
Address: Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fermain Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fermain Valley has 2 dining options both recently refurbished - the 2 AA Rosette Ocean Restaurant and the sophisticated Rock Garden Steak House and Cocktail bar. Both offer a relaxed atmosphere, sensational food at great value, with exceptional service. Ocean offers a decked area for al fresco dining with superb views out over Fermain Valley to sea and neighbouring Channel Islands. The hotel also offers quiet, cozy lounges to relax in after dinner, a private cinema for guest use, an indoor-heated swimming pool and sauna. There is wireless broadband access throughout the hotel. The Fermain Hotel is renowned for its warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fermain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fermain Valley
Fermain Valley Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing