We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very much like the curates egg” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fermain Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fermain Valley Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very much like the curates egg”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Three day stay in a gold room with balcony
Location. elevated position with distant views of the sea and surrounded by trees
Room- small and not air-conditioned, although fan provided on request.
Restaurant- some dishes excellent but some disappointing.
Public areas- Lounge comfortable and well appointed. Summer terrace area lacked ambiance and alfresco dinning (particularly dinner) off wooden slatted tables detracted form the experience.
Relaxation area limited with only three loungers or comfort chairs left little for a summer outdoor experience.
Staff- faultless and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philipjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear philipjordan,

I would like to thank you for finding the time to leave some feedback following your recent stay with us at The Fermain Valley Hotel. I am sorry to hear that certain aspects of your stay were not as you would have expected. We apologise for the lack of air-conditioning, this summer has been exceptionally warm, which is anticipated for several years to come (we hope) and as a result of this as part of our winter maintenance programme we will be installing air-conditioning in all the suits. During the interim period we do offer guest fans and suggest keeping windows open for ventilation in this fine weather.
I was pleased that you had enjoyed some of the dishes we offer in our restaurants. The Ocean which offers some of the islands best fresh seafood dishes and The Rock Garden which offers a relaxed atmosphere with a selection of steaks from around the world. Both of these restaurants are proving to be extremely popular so it was disappointing to hear that some of the dishes were not as you may have expected.
I was also disappointed to hear that you did not find our terrace area to be as comfortable as you would have hoped. We take all of the feedback we receive into consideration and we will discuss this at our next management meeting so once again thank you for taking the time to leave us these comments.
We would be delighted to welcome you back for a future stay and should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact me directly gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservation team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.
Our Reservationists team at The Fermain Valley are travel experts and being an ATOL registered company this allows us to book travel packages with compete peace of mind for our guests, which combined with our low price partner travel rates enables us to offer exceptional value for complete holiday breaks.
Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    142
    50
    16
    7
See reviews for
109
415
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a difficult review to write. Fermain Valley Hotel has everything going for it; fabulous location, very fine room, especially the Platinum Level, beautiful views from the terrace,....BUT the staff could be so much better. It's not that they don't care...they just need more training for consistency! There were no smiles or a warm welcome when we checked in. The staff appeared very frazzled even though the hotel is not very large. One morning we asked for more coffee...4 times, and never did receive it! There were a few moments when we felt like in a "Faulty Towers" episode; albeit, a luxury one! I know with a few tweaks here and there this hotel can be at the very top on the Island for sure! I wish them the best.
The Cliff Walks on this side of the island are superb and walkable from the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a Platinum Level Sea View room with a terrace. It's definitely worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear DenverD,

Thank you for finding the time to leave some very positive feedback following your recent stay with us. I was pleased that you had been able to experience one of our Platinum rooms which are our most spacious rooms offering a fantastic view over the neighbouring Channel Islands.
I was sorry to hear that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We aim to provide all of our guests with the highest possible standards of service and we take your comments very seriously. We will be looking into this and taking steps to ensure that all of our future guests receive the service which we pride ourselves on.
It was also pleasing you hear that you had been able to enjoy some of the fantastic cliff walks which are only a five minute walk away from the hotel.
We would be delighted to welcome you back for a future stay and should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact me directly gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservation team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.

Our Reservations team at The Fermain Valley are travel experts and being an ATOL registered company this allows us to book travel packages with compete peace of mind for our guests, which combined with our low price partner travel rates enables us to offer exceptional value for complete holiday breaks.
Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a stunning hotel which is let down by only 2 things.
1 the flight path for the island goes directly over the hotel and the first flight is at 6.30 am. I wouldn't mind this if the hotel owned up to it and reduced their prices accordingly.

2. the hotel staff (apart from Magdalena) are completely disinterested and not at all friendly. This is in complete contrast to other hotels and restaurants we visited during our stay.

Otherwise this is a great base from where to explore the island.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Jane G,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay with us at The Fermain Valley Hotel.
As Guernsey is such a small Island many areas encounter some low levels of noise from planes. Depending on the weather flights will take different routes in or out of the Island. I am sorry that you feel our team were not interested. High service standards are extremely important to us and we often receive glowing reports about the team here so I was disappointed to hear that this was not the case during your stay. We will look into this and do take your comments very seriously.
We would be delighted to welcome you back for a future stay and should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact me directly gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservation team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.
Our Reservationists team at The Fermain Valley are travel experts and being an ATOL registered company this allows us to book travel packages with compete peace of mind for our guests, which combined with our low price partner travel rates enables us to offer exceptional value for complete holiday breaks.
Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southshields
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel used to be well run and had excellent standards but it is now a very average hotel. The often encountered tepid, poorly cooked 'hot' bacon and sausages, stewing in metal containers are what are now offered for breakfast with dining room staff who seemed to be bickering over who did what.
The rooms are still well appointed but I expect the maintenance standards will slip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uptheshots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear uptheshots,

Thank you for leaving some feedback following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that some of the service aspects were not as you would have hoped for at breakfast and I can assure you that we will take immediate action to correct any issues and we do take all comments seriously, so again thank you for your feedback.

We would be delighted to welcome you back for a future stay and should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact me directly gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservation team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.

Our Reservationists team at The Fermain Valley are travel experts and being an ATOL registered company this allows us to book travel packages with compete peace of mind for our guests, which combined with our low price partner travel rates enables us to offer exceptional value for complete holiday breaks.
Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

A quick business trip to the island of Guernsey took me to this very comfortable hotel. My stay was just for one night (B&B) and did not include dinner in the restaurant, however I was impressed with the level of service and cleanliness.

My room (no. 22) was more than adequate for my needs, if not that big. The balcony overlooked the swimming pool for a great sea view.

Breakfast was a decent buffet, with eggs cooked to your liking and service was quick.

St Peter Port is located a short 5 minute drive along the coast and the airport is also very handy.

Only downside of this hotel was no gym... although if you're looking for a workout then there's the outdoor swimming pool and also no shortage of local hills for a cardio blast.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BG1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear BG1500,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us such a kind review following your recent stay with us at Fermain Valley Hotel. It is always our aim to ensure that all of our guests are provided with the highest possible standard of service when staying with us. I was delighted to share with the team your kind comments and also most pleased to hear how much you had enjoyed your dining experience with us at the hotel.
I was also pleased to hear that you had enjoyed breakfast where offer either a wonderful continental buffet or a cooked Guernsey breakfast.
Health is of upmost importance and we know that a gym would also provide great stress relief and therefore we are looking into the best location onsite to provide these facilities, with our aim to open a health suit in early 2015. Hopefully you will return to try these out for yourself
We would be delighted to welcome you back to stay in one of our gold rooms. Should you wish to return, please contact me directly at gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservation team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.

Our reservationists team at The Fermain Valley are travel experts and being an ATOL registered company this allows us to book travel packages with compete peace of mind for our guests, which combined with our low price partner travel rates enables us to offer exceptional value for complete holiday breaks.

Kind regards
Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at Fermain Valley Hotel for 10 nights. An excellent location with a commanding view over the bay from our Platinum room. We were met with outstanding hospitality which continued throughout our stay.
We loved every aspect of the hotel from the excellent food & drink, courtesy vehicle, special touches in our room, to the personal attention given to us by every member of staff.
We would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone.Indeed it is our intention to return in 2015.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FootiefanTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear FootiefanTamworth,

Thank you for finding the time to write such a glowing review following your recent stay at Fermain Valley Hotel. I was delighted to be able to share your comments with the team who were all thrilled to hear how much you had enjoyed your experience whilst staying with us. It was most rewarding to heart that you had been able to enjoy all aspects of the hotel such as our dining facilities, complimentary transport and also that we had provided such a high standard of service which is very important to all of our team.

We would be delighted to welcome you back for a future stay and should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact me directly gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservation team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.

Our Reservationists team at The Fermain Valley are travel experts and being an ATOL registered company this allows us to book travel packages with compete peace of mind for our guests, which combined with our low price partner travel rates enables us to offer exceptional value for complete holiday breaks. Finally our whole team at the Fermain thank you for choosing to stay with us…

Kind regards
Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is well situated with views over the valley down to the sea and is quiet, apart from the occasional landing aircraft, whose flight path goes over the hotel. Our platinum room was spacious and very comfortable but a little hot at times (no a/c). Staff were extremely helpful, the whole place having a good feel to it. The only let down is the breakfast service, which, over our four day stay was consistently slapdash and unprofessional, which is strange because the service and quality of food in the Ocean dining room (in the evening) was totally different, attentive, friendly with some great dishes on offer. Apart from that, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear David W,

I would like to thank you for leaving some feedback following your recent stay with us. I was pleased that you had been able to enjoy one of our spacious sea facing platinum rooms which all offer a large comfortable space with a view facing the sea. We currently do not provide air conditioning in any of our guest rooms but we do appreciate all feedback and are considering this as a possibility for the future.
I was most disappointed to hear that you had some problems whilst having breakfast at the hotel. Rest assured that we have taken your comments very seriously and this matter will be addressed immediately.
I was delighted that you had been able to enjoy your evening dining experience in The Ocean Restaurant where we serve some of the islands best seafood dishes.

We would be delighted to welcome you back for a future stay and should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact me directly gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservation team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.

Our Reservationists team at The Fermain Valley are travel experts and being an ATOL registered company this allows us to book travel packages with compete peace of mind for our guests, which combined with our low price partner travel rates enables us to offer exceptional value for complete holiday breaks. Finally our whole team at the Fermain thank you for choosing to stay with us…

Kind regards
Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.0 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fermain Valley Hotel

Property: Fermain Valley Hotel
Address: Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fermain Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fermain Valley has 2 dining options both recently refurbished - the 2 AA Rosette Ocean Restaurant and the sophisticated Rock Garden Steak House and Cocktail bar. Both offer a relaxed atmosphere, sensational food at great value, with exceptional service. Ocean offers a decked area for al fresco dining with superb views out over Fermain Valley to sea and neighbouring Channel Islands. The hotel also offers quiet, cozy lounges to relax in after dinner, a private cinema for guest use, an indoor-heated swimming pool and sauna. There is wireless broadband access throughout the hotel. The Fermain Hotel is renowned for its warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fermain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fermain Valley
Fermain Valley Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing