We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fermain Valley Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 days to attend a friends wedding. The reception was also held at the wedding which made it extra convenient. We stayed in a gold room with a lovely balcony view. The room was lovely, and the little touches like the toiletries, sherry, bottled water and fruit really were the icing on the cake. The staff really go out of their way to help and nothing is too much trouble. They even provide a shuttle bus for residents. Lovely quiet beach about 20 mins walk from the hotel too. I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel if I visit guernsey again. I can surely say this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Victoria R,

I would like to thank you for taking time to leave such a kind review following your recent stay at The Fermain Valley Hotel.
I was pleased to hear that you had found your room to be so comfortable and to a high standard and that you had enjoyed the little extras which we provide in all of our guest rooms such as sherry, delicious homemade fudges and fresh fruit upon arrival. The comfort and facilities in all of our rooms is very important to us and is always most pleasing to hear when guests have enjoyed their experience with us.
I was also very pleased that you had been able to enjoy the complimentary driver service which we provide for all of our guests to use for transport to either St Peter Port or for airport transfers.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to stay in one of our gold rooms. Should you wish to return, please contact me directly at gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservation team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.

Our reservations team at The Fermain Valley are travel experts and being an ATOL registered company this allows us to book travel packages with compete peace of mind for our guests, which combined with our low price partner travel rates enables us to offer exceptional value for complete holiday breaks.

Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Wery hot room! The ventilation system was extremely loud, and the balcony door in our family room was straight above their popular restaurant Rock garden. You could also hear the planes pretty good from the room. A strange place to locate guests visiting with an infant.

The room was spacious and pretty, and except for the heat and noice, and the fact that the TV that was hanging wery "child-friendly" approxomately 60 cm from the floor, it was a good family room. Hotel staff was friendly. Hotel was clean. Breakfast good! Swimmingpool was ok. In need of a bit maintenance where the mosaiq was falling off the walls. Coach to the airport was excellent, and they provided a child seat for us.

All in all it was ok, but would not go back, as the price indikates that it should be a bit more than ok. Maybe it would be better in the winter...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesheenapunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear thesheenapunk,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay with us at The Fermain Valley Hotel.

I was sorry to hear that certain aspects of your stay were not as you would have hoped for. With Guernsey being such a small Island many areas encounter some low levels of noise from planes. Depending on the weather flights will take different routes in or out of the Island. This said, we do take all comments very seriously as providing the highest standard is very important to us so thank you again for your feedback and we will look into improving this for the future where possible.
It was very rewarding to hear how much you had enjoyed breakfast, where we offer a variety of healthy choices for our guests to choose from, whether they decide to opt for a Continental or full English breakfast.
I am sorry that you found the swimming pool was not up to the high standard you had expected, the pool area will be undergoing a refurbishment later this year as part of our winter maintenance programme so thank you again for your feedback.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to stay in one of our gold rooms. Should you wish to return, please contact me directly at gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservation team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.

Our reservations team at The Fermain Valley are travel experts and being an ATOL registered company this allows us to book travel packages with compete peace of mind for our guests, which combined with our low price partner travel rates enables us to offer exceptional value for complete holiday breaks.

Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I had the pleasure to stay in this Hotel in February. We had originally planned to go in May however due to a family health issue the holiday had to be brought forward. This was done without any problem at all. The Hotel was absolutely superb as were the staff. The views of the ocean were breath taking. Food was delicious. Due to the bad weather our ferry was cancelled until the following day. We explained this to the hotel and they were wonderful. We stayed another night, I could easily have stayed a lot longer. I definitely plan to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Alexa W,

I would like to thank you for taking time to leave such a kind review following your recent stay at The Fermain Valley Hotel. I was also mot pleased to hear how much you had enjoyed your dining experience with us in The Ocean Restaurant where we serve some fantastic seafood dishes from local Guernsey waters.
It is always our aim to ensure that all of our guests are provided with the highest possible standard of service when staying with us and I was delighted to share with the team your kind comments and also most pleased to hear how we had been able to help you when you had to return to the hotel for an unexpected stay.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to stay in one of our gold rooms. Should you wish to return, please contact me directly at gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservation team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.

Our reservationists team at The Fermain Valley are travel experts and being an ATOL registered company this allows us to book travel packages with compete peace of mind for our guests, which combined with our low price partner travel rates enables us to offer exceptional value for complete holiday breaks.

Kind regards
Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

First, the gold rooms are not the only ones with a balcony. We had a platinum, which was large and a balcony directly overlooking the bay. Whereas, to me if the gold rooms were not in the right position, you would not see the bay and they are a lot smaller that is why they are cheaper.

We ate in the Ocean restaurant our first night from a la carte menu, so food was very good even though service slap dash. Surprisingly no bread supplied on the table and was told we could have some but it is not standard to offer, very strange! We ate out the remainder of our time, as Guerney has so much to offer in the way of lovely restaurants. Breakfast was hit and miss but quite a good choice.

Our room was very hot and stuffy which the management knew about as we brought it to their attention straightaway. A fan had been supplied which did not really help. Apparently, it was to do with the warm weather Guernsey was having, but by looking at previous reviews, this is not the first time Guernsey has had the sun, thus making the rooms very uncomfortable in the past also! The management are looking at getting air con units in, so there must have been many complaints. TLC was needed in our room 27, again this has been brought to the attention of the management so we will not go into any detail as they know the problems.

The few times we tried to use the courtesy bus, it was unavailable, even though when we returned to the hotel it was parked up, unused. So take that service with a pinch of salt. You can definitely use it for the airport run.

The walk to St Peter Port from the hotel is approx 40 minutes but not for those with difficulty in walking as it is up and down hill, breathtaking as it is.

The hotel is right in the flight path, so be prepared for the odd plane overhead. Some reviewers have been going over the top regarding the plane noise but they were not going over every 10 minutes!

Finally, I must compliment Lukas, the airport driver and Daniel on the front desk. What excellent customer service given by both of them and perfect gentlemen.

We shall not be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure the air con has been fitted as if you get hot weather you will suffer. Obviously the plat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cambridgetravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear cambridgetravller,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review following your recent stay with us at The Fermain Valley Hotel.
I was pleased that you had been able to enjoy some of the fantastic sea view which we offer from many of our Gold and Platinum rooms. There is only one of our Platinum rooms has a balcony which I believe you were lucky enough to be allocated for your stay whereas the majority of our Gold rooms do offer both a balcony and a sea view. We are unable to guarantee exact rooms at the point of booking but I would say that most of the Gold rooms with balconies do still offer a lovely sea view.
I was pleased that you had been able to enjoy our Ocean Restaurant which offers some of the most delicious seafood dishes on Guernsey using fresh local produce. I am sorry that you found service was not to the high standard which you would expect. We take your comments very seriously I will speak with our restaurant manager to prevent any further issues with service.
I am sorry that you found your room to be too warm during your stay. As a result of the very hot weather we have had this year we will be installing air-conditioning in all the suits during the winter. For the interim period we do offer guest fans and suggest keeping windows open for ventilation in this fine weather which we are enjoying.

Our hotel transport service is very popular and is available Sunday to Wednesday 8am until 6pm and Thursday to Saturday from 8am until midnight. It is very popular for transfers between the hotel and the airport and also between the hotel and St Peter Port. As this is a complimentary service it often gets booked up in advance so we advise that guests arrange the bus at the earliest opportunity. If the bus is not available there are plenty of public transport buses run directly from the hotel into town or the reception team are always happy to arrange a taxi for guests. I am sorry on the occasions you had enquired it was unavailable to for you.
It was also pleasing you hear that you had been able to enjoy some of the fantastic cliff walks which are only a five minute walk away from the hotel.
We would be delighted to welcome you back for a future stay and should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact me directly gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservation team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.

Our reservationists team at The Fermain Valley are travel experts and being an ATOL registered company this allows us to book travel packages with compete peace of mind for our guests, which combined with our low price partner travel rates enables us to offer exceptional value for complete holiday breaks.

Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had an extremely relaxed week at Fermain Valley Hotel and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. If we rang reception for anything it was dealt with immediately. We ate twice in the Ocean Bar which we enjoyed but the highlight was our meal in the Rock Garden as the steaks were the best we have ever had. There were one or two hiccups with breakfast but if the buffet breakfast is not to your liking the waiters are quite happy to ask the chef to cook your bacon and sausage for you, eggs are done this way at all times. The pancakes and crispy bacon were brill. The flightpath did not bother us at all and even though it was a hot week we did not need air conditioning in the room as leaving the window open was sufficient. We had a gold room with balcony and must admit a little TLC is required with regards to stains on the carpet and one of the chairs and peeling paint on the inside of the bathroom door. But this did not spoil it for us. Robert, the Manager, is very approachable and has a good team. We did not use the pool enough but did enjoy our visit. The cinema is quite large and is in The Venue building separate from the main hotel. The walk to the beach is downhill through shaded woodland opening out to the beach cafe and the spotless shaled bay. Little touches like the decanter of sherry and fresh fruit daily and the fudge on arrival are very welcome. We would love to stay again if in Guernsey in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank meandmybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear meandmybloke,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us such a kind review following your recent stay with us at Fermain Valley Hotel. It is always our aim to ensure that all of our guests are provided with the highest possible standard of service when staying with us. I was delighted to share with the team your kind comments and also most pleased to hear how much you had enjoyed your experience with us at the hotel.
It was very rewarding to hear how much you had enjoyed your dining experiences at the hotel in both of our restaurants. The Ocean which offers some of the islands best fresh seafood dishes and The Rock Garden which produces some amazing Steak cuts from all around the world are both doing very well and are proving extremely popular with all of our guests. I was thrilled to read how much you had enjoyed dining with us. I was also very pleased to hear that you had enjoyed the little exttras which we provide in all of our guests rooms which we hope enhance the experience of staying with us.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to stay in one of our gold rooms. Should you wish to return, please contact me directly at gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservation team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.

Our reservations team at The Fermain Valley are travel experts and being an ATOL registered company this allows us to book travel packages with compete peace of mind for our guests, which combined with our low price partner travel rates enables us to offer exceptional value for complete holiday breaks.

Kind regards
Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Three day stay in a gold room with balcony
Location. elevated position with distant views of the sea and surrounded by trees
Room- small and not air-conditioned, although fan provided on request.
Restaurant- some dishes excellent but some disappointing.
Public areas- Lounge comfortable and well appointed. Summer terrace area lacked ambiance and alfresco dinning (particularly dinner) off wooden slatted tables detracted form the experience.
Relaxation area limited with only three loungers or comfort chairs left little for a summer outdoor experience.
Staff- faultless and very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philipjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear philipjordan,

I would like to thank you for finding the time to leave some feedback following your recent stay with us at The Fermain Valley Hotel. I am sorry to hear that certain aspects of your stay were not as you would have expected. We apologise for the lack of air-conditioning, this summer has been exceptionally warm, which is anticipated for several years to come (we hope) and as a result of this as part of our winter maintenance programme we will be installing air-conditioning in all the suits. During the interim period we do offer guest fans and suggest keeping windows open for ventilation in this fine weather.
I was pleased that you had enjoyed some of the dishes we offer in our restaurants. The Ocean which offers some of the islands best fresh seafood dishes and The Rock Garden which offers a relaxed atmosphere with a selection of steaks from around the world. Both of these restaurants are proving to be extremely popular so it was disappointing to hear that some of the dishes were not as you may have expected.
I was also disappointed to hear that you did not find our terrace area to be as comfortable as you would have hoped. We take all of the feedback we receive into consideration and we will discuss this at our next management meeting so once again thank you for taking the time to leave us these comments.
We would be delighted to welcome you back for a future stay and should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact me directly gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservation team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.
Our Reservationists team at The Fermain Valley are travel experts and being an ATOL registered company this allows us to book travel packages with compete peace of mind for our guests, which combined with our low price partner travel rates enables us to offer exceptional value for complete holiday breaks.
Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a difficult review to write. Fermain Valley Hotel has everything going for it; fabulous location, very fine room, especially the Platinum Level, beautiful views from the terrace,....BUT the staff could be so much better. It's not that they don't care...they just need more training for consistency! There were no smiles or a warm welcome when we checked in. The staff appeared very frazzled even though the hotel is not very large. One morning we asked for more coffee...4 times, and never did receive it! There were a few moments when we felt like in a "Faulty Towers" episode; albeit, a luxury one! I know with a few tweaks here and there this hotel can be at the very top on the Island for sure! I wish them the best.
The Cliff Walks on this side of the island are superb and walkable from the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a Platinum Level Sea View room with a terrace. It's definitely worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Guest Relations Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear DenverD,

Thank you for finding the time to leave some very positive feedback following your recent stay with us. I was pleased that you had been able to experience one of our Platinum rooms which are our most spacious rooms offering a fantastic view over the neighbouring Channel Islands.
I was sorry to hear that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We aim to provide all of our guests with the highest possible standards of service and we take your comments very seriously. We will be looking into this and taking steps to ensure that all of our future guests receive the service which we pride ourselves on.
It was also pleasing you hear that you had been able to enjoy some of the fantastic cliff walks which are only a five minute walk away from the hotel.
We would be delighted to welcome you back for a future stay and should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact me directly gavin@fermainvalley.com or our reservation team for the most competitive rates at book@fermainvalley.com.

Our Reservations team at The Fermain Valley are travel experts and being an ATOL registered company this allows us to book travel packages with compete peace of mind for our guests, which combined with our low price partner travel rates enables us to offer exceptional value for complete holiday breaks.
Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
885 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
865 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
572 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fermain Valley Hotel

Address: Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £85 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fermain Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fermain Valley has 2 dining options both recently refurbished - the 2 AA Rosette Ocean Restaurant and the sophisticated Rock Garden Steak House and Cocktail bar. Both offer a relaxed atmosphere, sensational food at great value, with exceptional service. Ocean offers a decked area for al fresco dining with superb views out over Fermain Valley to sea and neighbouring Channel Islands. The hotel also offers quiet, cozy lounges to relax in after dinner, a private cinema for guest use, an indoor-heated swimming pool and sauna. There is wireless broadband access throughout the hotel. The Fermain Hotel is renowned for its warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fermain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fermain Valley
Fermain Valley Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing