We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location - Poor, unfriendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fermain Valley Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location - Poor, unfriendly service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

The Fermain valley hotel is in a beautiful location, but is let down by poor service and distinctly unfriendly attitude on the part of the reception staff in particular. The reception staff never smiled, and never went out of their way to be helpful and welcoming.

The owners of this hotel need to understand that no amount of luxury will compensate for a surly and unhelpful attitude on the part of the staff.

Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank PepitoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelCP, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2009
Dear Pepitolondon,

Thank you for your comment regarding the service which you experienced. I am very sorry that the staff came accross as unfriendly. We have addressed this issue immediately, and thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards

Michael Conrad-Pickles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    142
    50
    16
    7
See reviews for
113
418
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

Nice hotel with comfortable rooms in the main house, friendly helpful staff and a good english cooked breakfast.

There is a great beach cafe which is well worth a visit, though the road could be a little steep.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Chris74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelCP, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2009
Dear Big Chris 74,

Thankyou for your kind review. I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed our stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fermain Valley.

Kind Regards

Michael Conrad-Pickles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KENT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

On arrival at the hotel we told by a surly receptionist that we couldn't go to our rooms for half an hr (it was 5 in the afternoon) as the man to take us was up at the airport. Were told that we should get ourselves a drink and wait on the terrace.

Our room was above the kitchens for the restaurant with the kitchen extraction funnels just outside the bathroom window. The kitchen smells filled the room all night. When the kitchen staff needed a ciggie break they were under our window causing smoke and chattering . Also they obviously has the wine bottle recycling just below as well as the sound of bottles beginning their recycling filled the air.

We chose to eat in the bistro - plenty of staff - not many interested in serving. We asked three separate people to try and stop the table wobbling - all of who promised to sort it out, the last one finally did. A glass of wine that was ordered never materialised and our coffee order was forgotten for 20 minutes.

I tried to contact reception by using the phone but had to use my mobile as, apparantly no-one had time to switch the phone on. Even when we were leaving the next day this still had not been done. I did make a complaint and was assured that the manager would contact me on my return home (not phone call has been forthcoming). I was told that they would knock £50 off the bill but when I checked the bill they'd put the room rate up to £200 for the night instead of the £180 as booked via the internet, so my reduction was £30. Not good enough for a night's ruined sleep and crap service.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motormall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelCP, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2009
Dear Motormall,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry in regards to your disappointing stay. The room that you stayed in will no longer be near the main kitchen as we are moving our operation away from this area of the hotel. As discussed, our apologies for the poor service that you received and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel to restore your confidence in us.

Kind Regards

Michael Conrad-Pickles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jarrow, england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

My hubby and I spent a week at this hotel from 11th - 18th July and can not praise it highly enough. We were celebrating our ruby wedding anniversary and everything was just perfect. The young staff went out of their way to be helpful and were very friendly. The food is fantastic, especially the breakfast and on the one night it rained we went to the hotel's cinema. They even had a little bar in the cinema so was able to watch "Australia" with my glass of Sauvignon. There is no need to hire a car as an excellent bus service up the road takes you into St.Peterport for 60p where you can get a bus to anywhere. Our room was number 12 overlooking the bay - a view to die for.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chucksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelCP, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2009
Dear Chucksy,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We were very happy to hear of your enjoyable visit, and that the staff went the extra mile to make your visit a memorable one. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fermain Valley.

Kind Regards

Michael Conrad-Pickles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

What an excellent setting and what a superb place to stay.
We stayed for four days and even though hire car came with the package we did not really want to leave the hotel.
There is a beautiful beach at the bottom of the wooded valley where the Fermaine is situated so to be honest there is very little reason to use the car given the hotel also runs a shuttle bus service to and from St Peter Port and the airport.
The management and staff are all really friendly and service is excellent with nice little touches such as complimentary sherry in the room and free room service for tea or coffee.
Our son is aged 14 months and he was well catered for with the children’s menu and the very understanding staff who never once made us feel self conscious about the noise and mess that is part of baby dining.
The locals clearly enjoy this place too so booking the restaurant is advisable especially at week-ends.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scacciapensieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelCP, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2009
Dear Scacciapensieri,

Thankyou for your kind review. We are very happy to hear of your enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back once again.

Kind Regards

Michael Conrad-Pickles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

Stayed here for a short break to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, First class hotel from arriving being met by friendly staff on reception to our lovely room (29), views were lovely and shown round the hotel before we got to our room by Gemma (hope i got your name right,) she showed us where everything was and could not have been more helpful ,breakfast was first class ,hope to return soon

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piprosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelCP, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2009
Dear Piprose,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to Fermain Vally, and am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel Kind Regards

Michael Conrad-Pickles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon (also stayed 4 nights in Jersey). On booking into the hotel we were met by excellent service and efficiency from staff, who explained everything we needed to know about the hotel and showed us where everything was. We parked the car at the hotels own car park and then were given a 'Gold Double Room' with balcony & sea view. Rooms were spotless, comfortable and roomy, with complimentary fresh fruit, fudge and bottles of water (in the fridge). Staff had placed red rose petals on our bed, for our first night, which was a lovely touch. We were booked on the 'Best of Guernsey' package which included return flights from Jersey (other airports an option), hire car, a gold double room, one nights 3 course dinner and a return boat trip ticket to Herm island. We had such a fantastic time at the Fermain Valley Hotel, the staff were absolutely great & so friendly. We spent the hot afternoons in the indoor heated swimming pool with the changing rooms having a shower and a private area to change. We found the food at the hotel to be excellent, served hot, delicious and plenty of it! We fully recommend staying at the Fermain Valley Hotel. We do not regret going to the Channel Islands, as we had already travelled on a around the world trip, last November, and didnt want any jet lag on our honeymoon!! We hadn't realised how lovely both Jersey and Guernsey was. We hope to return one day and when we do we will deffinately be staying at the Fermain Valley Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelCP, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2009
Dear Mandycardiff,

Thankyou very much for your kind review, we were very happy to hear of your enjoyable stay with us. Once again, many congratualtions on your marriage, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fermain Valley once again.

Kind Regards

Michael Conrad-Pickles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fermain Valley Hotel

Property: Fermain Valley Hotel
Address: Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fermain Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fermain Valley has 2 dining options both recently refurbished - the 2 AA Rosette Ocean Restaurant and the sophisticated Rock Garden Steak House and Cocktail bar. Both offer a relaxed atmosphere, sensational food at great value, with exceptional service. Ocean offers a decked area for al fresco dining with superb views out over Fermain Valley to sea and neighbouring Channel Islands. The hotel also offers quiet, cozy lounges to relax in after dinner, a private cinema for guest use, an indoor-heated swimming pool and sauna. There is wireless broadband access throughout the hotel. The Fermain Hotel is renowned for its warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fermain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fermain Valley
Fermain Valley Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing