We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fermain Valley Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - poor service”
Reviewed 7 June 2010

This hotel has beautiful surroundings and is right up the hill from the lovely Fermain bay which is stunning. The hotel is in great condition and has some lovely cosy lounge areas and a library. We stayed in a gold room and it was very nice. Great views, very light, comfy bed and extremely clean. Tea and coffee in the room was great and water in fridge. The swimming pool and the sauna are lovely. The only thing (and it is a big thing) that lets this hotel down is the poor service. The front desk staff are good but the people in the restaurant are awful. The food in the evening was pretty bad although the breakfast was better. They all seem to have a strange attitude and seem only to be able to deal with older people. I would stay at this hotel again as it had such good surroundings but for the price you would expect better service!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaylover82Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelCP, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2010
Thank you for your review, and am glad to hear your enjoyment of the comfort of the hotel. I am sorry to hear that the restaurant or Brasserie was a disappointing experience, and we will address the points you raised. Our team should be able to look after people of all age groups and am sorry to hear the service you received appeared not to match that given to others. We hope that we are given the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    144
    50
    17
    7
See reviews for
115
427
16
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

This hotel has a beautiful setting with wonderful gardens. View out to see is limited ..so sea view is more a glimpse. The lounges are lovely and cosy and the bedrooms comfortable but only double bed in Gold Rooms and rooms are small no bigger than the Cruise Ships we have sailed on.; Bathrooms disappointing with cracked base of bath and peeling paint off the side panel. Brasserie prices high, and menu not really catering for vegetarians. The first two nights we were there we were kept waiting for almost an hour for main course even though it did not appear to be too busy. Also brasserie was very cold. Breakfast was generally good, but why not refrigerate the yoghurt which sits out and will invariably be put back into the fridge, some ice in a bowl would suffice. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous except for one. This woman's manner was enough to put you off your food!! Had no knowledge of the menu which does not fill one with confidence. If you want a quite break and no noise do not book rooms over the terrace which looks out to sea as it can be very noisy with other guests sitting out, and also the dragging of tables and chairs on the terrace early in the morning and late at night. We also had one night when there was a fracas outside our bedroom at 3am. Members of staff apparently. This was dealt with by the head waiter and no one else apologised to us about it. Beware of phone charges we tried to call someone else on the island only to discover that each time the number is engaged it still costs 25p a try and cost £3.00 for a short call!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dusna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelCP, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2010
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear of the issues raised and will certainly seek to address these, all of which were not at all acceptable. We hope to welcome you back on another occasion, and would ask that you contact me directly should you return to Guernsey.

Kind Regards

Michael Conrad-Pickles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2010

When we arrived we were greeted and given a guided tour around the hotel before being shown to our rooms. The room was superbly decorated and very clean. Bath robes and slippers provided. The food was excellent and the waiting staff very professional. Nothing was too much trouble. Very polite friendly and courteous. The gardens are very well maintained. Although situated a few minutes from St Peter Port this was not a problem as the hotel runs a mini bus to take guests into town. We will certainly use the hotel again one day on our return visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuckersSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
200 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Only a one night stay on business but what a hotel!

The moment you drive up in a taxi or hire car then you know there is something special about this place. It just looks good with a great vibe, not to forget the view down the valley. With only 40 or so rooms the decor and comfort of mine I guess was matched or exceeded by the rest. A mini-hallway, a sitting area, large bedroom area, a fridge, 3 apples on a plate and a decanter of sherry which I thought was a nice touch.

I had a meal in the Brasserie which was top quality with attentive service. Didnt get time to use the pool or spa area but it did look good. Hotel has free wifi internet throughout which was very useful - too many hotels these days charge for web access in my opinion.

As a hotel you won't find much better in Guernsey. The bonus is the location in the lovely Fermain Valley. If you need to get into town then the hotel run a complimentary shuttle.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

This is an amazing Hotel. Everything about it was so impressive - the location, decor, atmosphere, views, rooms but most of all - the service which was fantastic. We went for a short break to celebrate our engagement and after being there 24 hours were already planning the next visit back... as soon as possible. We were looked after so well, and really appreciated the card, gift and flowers from the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, especially Christine Holmes who couldn't do enough to make our stay so memorable. Being in this industry ourselves, it's been a long time since we've experienced customer service at this level... a lot of hotels in the UK could learn a lot from the staff training that is clearly evident at this beautiful hotel. Many, many thanks... we'll be back soon! Tracy & Mark

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheIngramsSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelCP, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2010
Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope to welcome you back to Fermain Valley very soon!

Kind Regards
Michael Conrad-Pickles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
447 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We stayed for 5 nights incorporating the gourment break package which apparantly is no longer available. This is a shame because the food at the hotel was very good and plentiful, particularly in the Palm Court restaurant. We liked the location - you can walk along the cliffs (50 mins) or the road (25 mins) to St Peter Port but some may find it too hilly and in that case a car is definitely recommended. We would suggest hiring a car for a couple of days in any case to explore the island as buses aren't that frequent. We would also highly recommend the boat trips to Sark and Herm. On a warm suuny day at Herm you could imagine youself in the Indian Ocean - the beaches were fabulous.

We stayed in a Gold Valley sea view room which had a spacious balcony and overlooked the attractive terrace and gardens.The room was modern and comfortable although not large (very small bath) with good beds. The hotel has good amenities - pool, sauna, two cozy lounges with books and games and free internet and the cinema was a an unusual touch although we didn't use it and the films available were not very up to date. However, the service lets the hotel down. Making a reservation was very difficult as neither my emails or phone calls were responded to. I only perservered because of the good reviews on this site. In the brasserie we had to find staff to take our order on several occasions. House keeping found it impossible to replenish our tea tray almost every day. And because the gourmet package has now been discontinued there was a lot of confusion at check out with duplicate charges which they then started us quizzing us over, eg who exactly had served us at dinner 5 nights ago and which bottle of wine had we had which we felt was a bit unreasonable. The exception was the Palm Court restaurant where the service was impeccable.

We were told that the owner had just purchased the hotel further down the cliff and was planning on extending the Fermain to include a spa, fitness centre etc for 2011. With these extra facilities and an improvement to the service this could be a truely fantastic place to say.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine101Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelCP, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2010
Dear Jasmine

Thank you very much for your review. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us. I will endeavor to address the service issues that you have mentioned, and indeed hope that on your next visit, these will be resolved and am sorry that they occurred.
I hope you had a comfortable journey home, and look forward to welcoming you both back on another occaison.

Kind Regards

Michael Conrad-Pickles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2010

A really picturesque location with wonderful sea views. Food was great and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
761 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
549 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
554 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fermain Valley Hotel

Property: Fermain Valley Hotel
Address: Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fermain Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fermain Valley has 2 dining options both recently refurbished - the 2 AA Rosette Ocean Restaurant and the sophisticated Rock Garden Steak House and Cocktail bar. Both offer a relaxed atmosphere, sensational food at great value, with exceptional service. Ocean offers a decked area for al fresco dining with superb views out over Fermain Valley to sea and neighbouring Channel Islands. The hotel also offers quiet, cozy lounges to relax in after dinner, a private cinema for guest use, an indoor-heated swimming pool and sauna. There is wireless broadband access throughout the hotel. The Fermain Hotel is renowned for its warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fermain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fermain Valley
Fermain Valley Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing