We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fermain Valley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$283
US$274
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Piette Hotel(St Peter Port)
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$169
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grange Lodge Hotel(St Peter Port)
US$145
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ziggurat(St Peter Port)
US$163
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$235
US$196
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Les Rocquettes(St Peter Port)
US$213
US$207
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
771 results
Traveller rating
526
157
60
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
157
60
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock gardenocean restaurantgold roomdecanter of sherryflight pathprivate cinemathe main hotelbeach cafetea roomthe clifflovely hotelcourtesy busfresh fruitsea viewfour star hotellovely touchlovely view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
671 - 676 of 771 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Stayed just the one night with my wife as we visited a jewellers on the Island to celebrate her 50th Birthday.

The hotel creates a striking first impression upon arrival. The simple booking in process was quick and efficient and we especially appreciated the quick, but very personal, tour of the hotels facilities. Our Gold class of room was of a decent size, tastefully furnished and decorated and had just about every piece of equipment and gadget to aid your comfort during your stay that one could wish for.

The view from our balcony through the woods and down to the sea was very impressive. Although we didn't make use of the dining facilities or swimming pool during our stay, it all looked very impressive.

The complimentary turn down service and the roses and rose petals was a very special touch for such a special occassion and was very much appreciated by my wife (and it got me LOTS of browny points!)

I've stayed in many hotels and on cruise ships around the world and the quality of this hotel and the reception we recieved is up there with the absolute best of them. 'Personal and attentive service' is a much over-used phrase in this industry, but on this occassion it is indeed very much deserved.

We will simply vote with our feet (and our money) and we will definately return to this hotel for a much longer stay sometime, hopefully, in the not too distant future.

Thank you to all of the staff who made our all too brief stay very special

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northfield007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelCP, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2010

Thank you for your review. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards

Michael Conrad-Pickles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

This hotel has beautiful surroundings and is right up the hill from the lovely Fermain bay which is stunning. The hotel is in great condition and has some lovely cosy lounge areas and a library. We stayed in a gold room and it was very nice. Great views, very light, comfy bed and extremely clean. Tea and coffee in the room was great and water in fridge. The swimming pool and the sauna are lovely. The only thing (and it is a big thing) that lets this hotel down is the poor service. The front desk staff are good but the people in the restaurant are awful. The food in the evening was pretty bad although the breakfast was better. They all seem to have a strange attitude and seem only to be able to deal with older people. I would stay at this hotel again as it had such good surroundings but for the price you would expect better service!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaylover82Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelCP, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2010

Thank you for your review, and am glad to hear your enjoyment of the comfort of the hotel. I am sorry to hear that the restaurant or Brasserie was a disappointing experience, and we will address the points you raised. Our team should be able to look after people of all age groups and am sorry to hear the service you received appeared not to match that given to others. We hope that we are given the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

This hotel has a beautiful setting with wonderful gardens. View out to see is limited ..so sea view is more a glimpse. The lounges are lovely and cosy and the bedrooms comfortable but only double bed in Gold Rooms and rooms are small no bigger than the Cruise Ships we have sailed on.; Bathrooms disappointing with cracked base of bath and peeling paint off the side panel. Brasserie prices high, and menu not really catering for vegetarians. The first two nights we were there we were kept waiting for almost an hour for main course even though it did not appear to be too busy. Also brasserie was very cold. Breakfast was generally good, but why not refrigerate the yoghurt which sits out and will invariably be put back into the fridge, some ice in a bowl would suffice. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous except for one. This woman's manner was enough to put you off your food!! Had no knowledge of the menu which does not fill one with confidence. If you want a quite break and no noise do not book rooms over the terrace which looks out to sea as it can be very noisy with other guests sitting out, and also the dragging of tables and chairs on the terrace early in the morning and late at night. We also had one night when there was a fracas outside our bedroom at 3am. Members of staff apparently. This was dealt with by the head waiter and no one else apologised to us about it. Beware of phone charges we tried to call someone else on the island only to discover that each time the number is engaged it still costs 25p a try and cost £3.00 for a short call!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dusna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelCP, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2010

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear of the issues raised and will certainly seek to address these, all of which were not at all acceptable. We hope to welcome you back on another occasion, and would ask that you contact me directly should you return to Guernsey.

Kind Regards

Michael Conrad-Pickles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

When we arrived we were greeted and given a guided tour around the hotel before being shown to our rooms. The room was superbly decorated and very clean. Bath robes and slippers provided. The food was excellent and the waiting staff very professional. Nothing was too much trouble. Very polite friendly and courteous. The gardens are very well maintained. Although situated a few minutes from St Peter Port this was not a problem as the hotel runs a mini bus to take guests into town. We will certainly use the hotel again one day on our return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuckersSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Only a one night stay on business but what a hotel!

The moment you drive up in a taxi or hire car then you know there is something special about this place. It just looks good with a great vibe, not to forget the view down the valley. With only 40 or so rooms the decor and comfort of mine I guess was matched or exceeded by the rest. A mini-hallway, a sitting area, large bedroom area, a fridge, 3 apples on a plate and a decanter of sherry which I thought was a nice touch.

I had a meal in the Brasserie which was top quality with attentive service. Didnt get time to use the pool or spa area but it did look good. Hotel has free wifi internet throughout which was very useful - too many hotels these days charge for web access in my opinion.

As a hotel you won't find much better in Guernsey. The bonus is the location in the lovely Fermain Valley. If you need to get into town then the hotel run a complimentary shuttle.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews