We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse
Ranked #10 of 123 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Guernsey
Level Contributor
384 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Returned to The Boathouse after a long absence because of how awful it used to be>

A number of us had taken part in the Rock to Rocque around Guernsey bike ride and a friend had booked The Boathouse for after we finished. My wife and her Aunt came to join us for lunch.

I was slightly concerned because of previous poor meals in previous years. I need not have worried.

Swift service and excellent basic, well cooked food together with a great atmosphere resulted in a thoroughly enjoyable Sunday lunchtime which I am sure we will repeat.

Although the restaurant was extremely busy the service was fantastic and could not be faulted.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GGGSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivonna S, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for the review, we are very grateful for giving us the opportunity to be able to prove ourselves to you and your friends and family. My assistant manager and I always thrive to give all our customers a great experience and we try to perfect the basics. The team at The Boathouse are very glad that we made your Sunday lunch enjoyable and proud to be a part of that. As the Company is under new management a lot of the aspects of the business have changed for the better and still are changing to give everyone an experience they will remember for the better and constantly listening to customers opinions and what they would improve.

We hope for your return very soon.

Regards,

General Manager, Monika Konopka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    327
    103
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smashing lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We got off of our cruise ship and walked along the harbour wall towards the castle cornet, this place looked simple but inviting. We asked if we could reserve a table for lunch time as we knew it would be swamped with cruise passengers. This was no problem and they booked us a table on the veranda. We turned up 5 minutes early and were greeted straight away by staff at the door even thought the restaurant was packed out. We ordered fish ploughmans platters, a home made burger and a very contempary fish and chips. All of which was satisfying and plentiful on the plate as well as presented beautifully. Washed down with a decent white wine and a large cold beer. Service was swift, friendly and when I asked for a little more brown bread, I was not charged extra at all (usually I get annoyed at being charged £2 for a slice of bread and butter!) when we asked for the bill it took only 5 minutes and the card terminal was brought to our table. The waiting staff were eastern European girls who had good English and good manners. Overall we cannot find anything that should have been done differently and wish that this restaurant was not so far away from we actually live! Well done to the staff and managers as we are not easily pleased!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovedaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I only had a late lunch here and unfortunately it was pouring down with rain so had to sit indoors, otherwise there's an area outside overlooking the marina.
I had a galette (pancake) which was fresh and delicious. Prices are reasonable and I wish I could have come here for dinner or during times when the entire menu is available (between 230pm and 5pm only a very limited menu is served).
Staff were extremely friendly and for those on business there is wifi and also power points available so you can work on your laptop or recharge your phone if necessary.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya-N-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great dining spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Despite being a coastal port, there are not many al fresco dining options in St Peter Port so we were pleased to come across this restaurant on a beautiful sunny day. We had desserts and drinks only but we could see others having main meals and the food looked lovely. I can highly recommend the warm chocolate brownie, it was delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ellibumsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delightful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Our cruise ship arrived at sleepy Guernsey last Sunday- and we were delighted to have spent 3 hours in the sunshine at the glorious place..The mussels although just out of season were to die for as was the vino....having withdrawl symptoms...The service was pretty bad and reactive instead of proactive until I mentioned discreetly that we had been waiting for our wine a while..The French waiter whose iorst day it was made up for it however with his sense of humour and charm and hey the sun was shining so al good really.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivonna S, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hello Thank you for your positive review regarding you recent meal with us here at The Boathouse, I am please to see that you had a good time with us and enjoyed our mussels and wine. I have shared your comments with my team here so that we can make improvements to the quality of our service. Hope to see you again soon .

Regards, Monika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing