We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The roses”
Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse
Ranked #11 of 130 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The roses”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Excellent service last night in a great sea front location with empty plates all round.yummy pancakes for pudding!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    385
    128
    38
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice setting, nice staff, average food”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Fairly tasteless prawn cocktails - average bread - good moule, good steak, poor chips & frites - a bit cramped - nice staff & views of the harbour on both sides

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Set on the Crown Pier in Guernsey; part stilted over the Careening Yard - it's a great place on a summer evening on the high tide. Funky little joint that does a great steak.

Could do with a lick of paint (outside deck a bit shabby) but adds to the charm I guess. Service, food and atmoshpere all good.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank GuernseyLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best ham I've ever tasted”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Located right on the harbour wall with both outside and indoor seating. We missed lunch by 30 minutes (arrive before 14:30...) so had a savoury pancake, a ham sandwich and a clam chowder between 3 people. The food was excellent and the ham melted in your mouth. What's more it was sensibly priced.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location but not the tastiest fish pie i have eaver had”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great location on the Harbour front. There is a lovely terrace, which is a great sun trap as well as having seating outside at the front of the restaurant.

We went on a Saturday night and hadn't booked and were lucky to get a table as most were reserved - so it's advisable to book at the weekends.

Service was friendly and fairly fast. I had the prawn cocktail starter which was tasty and had a of prawns. For main I had the fish pie which was OK. I couldn't tell if it was freshly made or had been frozen. I might be doing them an injustice by implying that it might have been frozen but it didn't have the flavour or taste of other fish pies I have had.

Overall its an OK restaurant, location makes it a great choice to sit outside and enjoy the summer sun.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevingbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing