We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of The Longfrie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Longfrie Inn
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had a few nights stay back in the middle of September and found Anthony and Izzie were great hosts and made us feel very welcome.
Accommodation was clean and extremely comfortable, with everything you required in your room. We dined in the restaurant for breakfast and evening meal every day of our stay and found it superb with a wide selection on the menu.
If we were to stay again in Guernsey we would definitely pick the Longfrie and would only stay somewhere else if the Inn was full.
Sonia and Dave.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
42
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
guernsey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Having had to buy a house for my ex wife across the road from the Longfrie to secure my divorce, I have avoided it like the plague for many years. However she has moved on to the lower parishes and I have now become a regular recently. Pleasing for me I have previously met the current hosts at other venues they have managed over the years and always found them exceptionally professional. Now I have got the place to myself I anticipate eating there at least once a week because their Lamb Chops are right up my Street. Excellent Food, Staff and a bit of a laugh!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredW76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed recently at the Longfrie. As our flight arrived early we had made prior arrangements to drop off our luggage. We arrived and breakfast was still being served.We were told by the licensee Anthony that our room was ready and we could check in which we did. We were then offered a full English breakfast which Anthony refused payment when we settled up at the end of our stay.The food is exceptional,so much so, that locals travel from all over the island to eat there.Every evening was busy with a good atmosphere. All the staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.We complement Anthony and Issy for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExeterGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed recently at the Longfrie Inn. Stumbled across this B and B on the internet when looking for a reasonable priced break in guernsey. With many positive reviews we wasn't disappointed when we decided to go there. We received a very friendly welcome, room was very clean and relaxing, the restaurant is very well set out and the owners and staff are very friendly, polite and helpful. Will visit again and have recommended to family/friends. Thanks for a much needed relaxing and joyful break.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Cannot comment on rooms but had a meal here while staying a few minutes walk away. From the outside we were unsure if it was open but in entering there were a few diners, it is more of an informal restaurant rather than a pub but the food covers all bases from a sandwich to a full restaurant standard meal all served with professional style. Quality food and service at reasonable prices offering value for money. By the time we left there were quite a few more customers all of whom seemed to be enjoying themselves. Would suggest you try this inn if you are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We recently stayed here for 5 nights on a B&B basis and I was well pleased with the choice I had made.
The rooms were a nice size and clean with a nice hospitality tray.
We ate in the pub every night because we couldn't be bothered looking elsewhere as we did not think that anywhere else would be any better.
We ate various dishes off the menu and we never had one less than great one whether it was starter,main or dessert.
All of the staff are really friendly and efficient at there jobs.
We only met Antony on the last night as they had been on holiday but he came across as a great host.
When we return to Guernsey we won't be looking for anywhere else to stay or eat.
Nick

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloydius57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was taken here this evening by a colleague - for which i am very grateful. The welcome was warm and the beer was cold.

The ambience is cosy and the extensive menu offered a wide range of traditional pub fayre. I chose the Prawn Cocktail followed by Chicken Pad Thai. I was a little disappointed with both. My colleague went for a starter of ribs and a main of lamb (ribs!) both of which looked excellent and both of which disappeared quite quickly!

My Prawn Cocktail was nicely served with the requisite brown bread and butter - but it was regulation sliced bread and the prawns were regulation out of the freezer bag small things - a pity when on an island renowned for its seafood. The Pad Thai was the bigger disappointment. It simply was two-dimensional, it didn't leap off the plate and attack the taste buds in an explosion of flavours and textures.

I think it was just two poor choices on my part - there were plenty of other diners enjoying their meals and the reviews on here are pretty solid. However, based on what was put in front of me tonight, the best I can manage is an 'average'. Perhaps it requires a second visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Revduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Pierre du Bois
1.3 mi away
The Farmhouse Hotel
The Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Saint Saviour
469 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
796 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#5 of 6 in Castel
220 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
586 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longfrie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longfrie Inn

Property: The Longfrie Inn
Address: Route du Longfrie, St Pierre du Bois
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Pierre du Bois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St Pierre du Bois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longfrie Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Longfrie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longfrie Inn Guernsey/St Pierre Du Bois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing