We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay & eat”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This is quite a nice hotel, me and a friend went there for a wedding and had separate rooms; they were both double rooms (as that's all they had left) but one of the rooms (room 7) was very nice & quite big but the other (room 1 I think) was smaller and not quite as nice but still a nice room, just possibly a little crapped with two people in it.

Despite what some people have said here the food is great, we only ate for an evening meal there one night but had the fish & chips & Sea Bass both of which were really good, breakfasts are really good too.

Staff are nice an friendly & quite helpful, nice place to stay although was a bit out of the way of where we needed to be but that's nothing to do with the hotel itself. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 7 is quite roomy & nice but the window doesn't stay open by itself. I think room 4 h...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed here with family for 9 nights. Location is stunning, food is fantastic, rooms are what you'd expect in a 2* hotel - basic but do the business - as is the price (great value). Staff friendly and attentive. All in all a great place to stay on a great island.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timbonew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I stayed at the Imperial in 1974. My parents and grandparents booked this hotel becuase of its reputation for good food. I went back with my family tonight on a nostalgia trip and 37 years on we were not disappointed. The quality of food was excellent, the value just the same and the service was good if a little slow, but then who's rushing we're on holiday! My only negative comment is about the decour. The hotel really needs a makeover, in fact it deserves one. It is in the best position on the Island, with the best view. The neon lights in the restaurant windows wold give anybody a headache and the mix of theme pub mast and sails made it feel like a poor copy of the Piractes of the Caribbean film set. Loose the tat and replace with a contempory design and you will take this good hotel and turn it into a great one.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie70582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

On Friday evening the hotel restaurant was fairly busy and the food and menu looked promising, but unfortunately the food was poor. The mussels were overcooked and so salty I couldn't finish them. My husband's fish and chips were also not very good. To make it worse, the food was priced like Loch Fyne or somewhere upmarket so not budget food at budget prices. The staff (almost all workers from Eastern Europe) were very pleasant though and helped us arrange a taxi back to where we were staying.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank greenandaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We did not stay at the Hotel, but lunched there twice in one week.
The food was delicious, the portions very generous , at a reasonable price and the view could not be beaten.
Word of warning you better be hungry, or you will not finish your meal, which would be a shame

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank The-Old-Romantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Excellent value Guernsey dining destination: During our six nights on the island we stayed with friends who recommended the Imperial's 3 course, £12.50 dinner menu - and the views across the bay. We dined there twice betweeen 16 and 22 June 2011. Food and service were excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank johnandkathbiscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I took my wife and her sister for a week and we certainly enjoyed the food, too much really for us geriatrics but quality and presentation was great. The view from the dining table was outstanding. Bar meals shared the same menu. The public bar was lively and that's where the locals gathered. Our rooms were newly decorated - my sister in law had the sea view and enjoyed a wonderful sunset which we missed as our room faced inland. I would ask for a room on the first floor next time - we felt our age after a day out exploring and climbing back to our 2nd floor rooms.
Location is great for walkers or for the kids on the beach. A short walk at sunset was rewarded with glorious sunsets most nights. We hired a car and 'did' the sights, including Herm - no ditsnces involved of course, just narrow roads and lanes. I have left a short video on youtube to give a flavour of this lovely island.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WolverhamptonVideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torteval
4.4 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
594 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
604 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Hougue du Pommier
5.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
814 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Imperial Hotel Pleinmont, Torteval GY8 0PS
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Torteval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Price Range: £59 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivalled panoramic sea views ,safe sandy beaches with crystal clear waters , adjoining twenty miles of south coast cliff paths have made the Imperial Hotel a popular choice for over a 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torteval
Imperial Hotel Guernsey/Torteval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing