We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel thanks to Sabrina and Gavin.
The food was excellent and the staff could not be more efficient.
We stayed in room 9 which was recently refurbished. It had a fantastic sea view and was luxurious.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerPCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

If you are looking for a sterile, characterless experience then this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a warm, entertaining, caring and complete Guernsey experience then this is the hotel for you. The most outstanding feature of the hotel, apart from the breathtaking, panoramic views, is the stunning old world restaurant, laid out as the galley of an old sailing ship, complete with mast and rigging, overlooking Rocquaine Bay. The food is mouth wateringly fresh and tasty and is served by experienced and friendly staff who will cater to your individual needs. During our stay Karolina was our waitress and she made each day brighter with her smile and willingness to help. I would also like to mention Lauren and Jane who made our stay in the hotel unforgettable and, it goes without saying that Sabrina and Gavin, the owners, were more than kind and welcoming - we were very sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Two large rooms at the front of the hotel have stunning views over the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

First I will review this place purely on what the place actually is, because as far as a review is concerned this is what I was interested to find out myself, I mean by that this review isn't about the setting of the place or even where it is situated, be it in the mountain, by the sea etc...and in Guernsey or elsewhere, one wouldn't go to the Eiffel tower and state that the view is great from the top....obviously is bound to be! so this is from the hotel and staff itself.

Iam amazed that a lot of people found this place I quote "lovely, stunning, great" etc, etc... well sorry people we are probably talking about a different place altogether here, or people expectations are very low, please note Iam NOT the toffee nose type, I have traveled extensively around the world backpacking and stayed in places that would probably make a few people sick just by looking at them.

The imperial hotel was once upon a time probably a grand place to be, (Victorian time??)

The hotel: shabby building, worn out carpet, creaky floorboard, general decoration needs reviewing, the dining room features a kind of "sail" that is saturated by years of ingrained dirt / grease and stained by smoke when smoking was allowed.

The food /service: the cutlery, plates etc has seen better days, the service was delivered by a chap that had troubles lining up few English words correctly together, being a waiter is a skilled job that requires attention, finesse, care etc.. we are not in McDonald's here!!! for god sake,
Dinner took ages to come once ordered, then I asked for an extra portion of chips which was agreed upon by the waiter but first clearly had to show that he wasn't happy with it as he had other more important things to do, £19.95 for two courses !!! , normally £10 but I dared asking for an extra and it turned out to be three bits of miserable white fish soaked in cream.... People !!!please....(McDonalds wasn't a bad idea after all)
At breakfast we were served coffee which was so strong I could spooned it out the cup, standard fried up single plastic like sausage, gooey dried up beans, and a rubber egg : )

Our room: featured its own illegal double wired bed side lamp ( two wires running to one plug), the bathroom smelled of damp, shower head clogged up with limescale, mirror delaminating, kettle not working and was right above the pub below, half midnight people brawling and singing and generally being busy being drunk and obviously not giving a monkey that they are in a hotel.

Sadly a place like this still run and will still make money.... why you're asking?? simply because they know they can get away with it, so many places are run the same way it wouldn't take much to improve things, attention to details and caring for customers should be priority and be at the top of the list, it is so short sighted from the owner, cutting corners by offering a bad product and charging the earth for it, false saving Sir

I forgot a single highlight, reception staff was pleasant and polite

£95 for a double room....one night? people !please.... look around the world what you can get for that amount.....
I will not recommend this place

Imperial hotel get a grip!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBlue984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This is our 5th stay at this hotel.The last time 2 yrs ago, we were greeted like old friends.We had a room at the front with the most wonderful view over the bay and Fort Grey.Very clean,comfortable and newly decorated.The bathroom had been refurbished and modernised.Rooms cleaned and new towels put out each day.Breakfasts excellent,good choice and well presented.The Sunday carvery is highly recommended, but you must book as it is very popular with the locals.we noticed that the lounge bar and the dining room were heaving on Friday and saturday evening as well,which speaks for itself I feel.The staff are all attentive ,friendly and helpful.Sabrina and Gavin were having a well earned break in Spain whilst we were there but her brother and sister-in-law were very good 'stand ins'.If we need to stay in a hotel on the Island again it will definitely be here ( if they have a room ).can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the front the views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moggsSuffolk_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Just spent a lovely long weekend at the Imperial. Friendly owners and staff, great food,very clean. Better than 2 star rating especially when current improvements finished. The restaurant views were amazing, and the decor very attractive and interesting. Special deal on a la Carte was really good value. Locals use the restaurant - always a good sign. Our dog enjoyed her stay too, right next to the beach. Close to Fort Grey and other historical sights. We will definitely return .

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony an advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elvira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I spent a wonderful week in january 2012,was made to feel very "at home" by all the staff but especialy the owners and when i left i felt i was leaving friends behind,i cant wait to make a return visit. The hotel itself is situated amongst absolutely stunning scenery and the views from rooms and resturaunt were amazing. Food was amazing and any little special requests were dealt with gracefully by staff making you feel it was not a problem.I wasnt there long enough to sample whole menu but will return to work my way through it! Rooms are fresh,very comfortable with all you need away from home.Plenty tourist information available and management very helpful with any further help needed incuding nearby scenic walks to take stunning photographs. The whole stay was such a positive experiance,especially as i was travelling alone and the staff seemed very happy and willing to make the stay as happy for me as possible.I would not hesitate to recommend my friends and family to enjoy a stay here.

Room Tip: All the rooms look very comfortable,obviously the ones at front of hotel have the most stunning view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Imperial Hotel is quaint and charasmatic. The hotel itself is beautifully located, overlooking the bay, providing walks with breath-taking scenery.
The bedroom was homely and comfortable and very clean. The bathroom was adequately sized and after a long walk, the hot shower was a perfect cure for aching muscles!
The food was exquisite! We did not venture anywhere other than the hotel for our evening meals as we were happy to stay where we were and experience as many of the culinary delights from the menu as we could. Hats off to the chef! Fantastic!!
Staff were wonderful! Upon arrival we were met with the manageress who greeted us with a winning smile and welcoming manner. Throughout our stay, both the manager and the manageress were very approachable, helpful and attentive to our needs. The staff at the Imperial, give the impression of being a 'happy family' of workers. They always had a smile on their face and were happy to have a conversation, making the experience a more pleasant and meaningful one.
Without a doubt, we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ukguest2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torteval
4.9 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#5 of 6 in Castel
224 reviews
4 mi away
La Trelade Country House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
2 mi away
Driftwood Inn Hotel
Driftwood Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Saint Saviour
13 reviews
5.7 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Imperial Hotel Pleinmont, Torteval GY8 0PS
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Torteval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Price Range: £39 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivalled panoramic sea views ,safe sandy beaches with crystal clear waters , adjoining twenty miles of south coast cliff paths have made the Imperial Hotel a popular choice for over a 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torteval
Imperial Hotel Guernsey/Torteval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing