We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A quiet break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A quiet break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

My wife and I had a really enjoyable short break at the Imperial. The hotel location was ideal from our point of view - just about as far as you can get from St Peter Port. The bus stop was just across the road which meant for a pound each we could travel all over the island. Actually our travel was free because the hotel gave us a travel card with 18 journeys already prepaid. They also said that if it ran out, buy another £25 credit and they would refund us.

Our room (No. 4) was right at the front of the hotel overlooking Roquaine Bay and had been recently completely renovated as had the bathroom. It had a walk in shower with plenty of room to swing the proverbial cat. There was no bath but that didn't cause us any problems. One big difference from most of the chain hotels - we got clean towels every day.

Breakfast was always freshly cooked and offered a wide range. We had a half-board deal and the evening meals were excellent. Service was superb and left us with the feeling that all the staff had been well trained in the art of restaurant service.

If you are looking for a quiet time with excellent opportunities for walking, this is the hotel for you.

Although nothing to do with the hotel, be aware that taxi companies aren't too happy coming out from town as it means an unpaid journey of around 8 miles for them. We needed a taxi to get us to the airport on Sunday morning as the buses don't start until later. The hotel advised us to book one at least a week in advance (we did) but it was clear the driver wasn't too happy!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel give the best view of Roquaine Bay. Although we didn't see them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    68
    26
    13
    15
See reviews for
26
85
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

3 nights in aug., superb position on the edge of the bay overlooking the beach,paid £240 excelent room,reception staff very friendly and helpful only gripe poor breakfast selection,no menus and miserable staff

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ja27swindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey (C.I.)
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

This may be a 2 star Hotel, but what it lacks in style is more than made up for by the owners of the Hotel, who are fantastic hosts and accommodated our every need (including our dogs). The staff are friendly and helpful, the food is excellent and we will definetly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McConnell_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

The Island may only be 10 miles long but it takes half an hour to get here from town and its well worth it. I am not reviewing the hotel as I have not stayed here but what I have seen it looks nice enough. The location is superb overlooking the beautful bay from this stunning Victorian property which you can spot a distance off driving along the coast, however you could sample a few ales as the infamous 7a an 7 buses (just a quid anywhere) stop right outside, furthermore the other stunning west coast bays are just a short hop away, a great escape from the bustle of town.
The restaurant area overlooks the bay and I can say its probably the finest Sunday lunch in the Bailiwick, a choice of soup or generous cold buffet starter and a super carvery with a choice of meats cooked to all tastes, topped off with a super Yorkshire pud. If this is not enough then there are a range of tempting desserts. Make sure you book as the secret is out.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_and_Daniel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel thanks to Sabrina and Gavin.
The food was excellent and the staff could not be more efficient.
We stayed in room 9 which was recently refurbished. It had a fantastic sea view and was luxurious.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerPCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogmore-by-Sea, Wales
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

If you are looking for a sterile, characterless experience then this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a warm, entertaining, caring and complete Guernsey experience then this is the hotel for you. The most outstanding feature of the hotel, apart from the breathtaking, panoramic views, is the stunning old world restaurant, laid out as the galley of an old sailing ship, complete with mast and rigging, overlooking Rocquaine Bay. The food is mouth wateringly fresh and tasty and is served by experienced and friendly staff who will cater to your individual needs. During our stay Karolina was our waitress and she made each day brighter with her smile and willingness to help. I would also like to mention Lauren and Jane who made our stay in the hotel unforgettable and, it goes without saying that Sabrina and Gavin, the owners, were more than kind and welcoming - we were very sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Two large rooms at the front of the hotel have stunning views over the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

First I will review this place purely on what the place actually is, because as far as a review is concerned this is what I was interested to find out myself, I mean by that this review isn't about the setting of the place or even where it is situated, be it in the mountain, by the sea etc...and in Guernsey or elsewhere, one wouldn't go to the Eiffel tower and state that the view is great from the top....obviously is bound to be! so this is from the hotel and staff itself.

Iam amazed that a lot of people found this place I quote "lovely, stunning, great" etc, etc... well sorry people we are probably talking about a different place altogether here, or people expectations are very low, please note Iam NOT the toffee nose type, I have traveled extensively around the world backpacking and stayed in places that would probably make a few people sick just by looking at them.

The imperial hotel was once upon a time probably a grand place to be, (Victorian time??)

The hotel: shabby building, worn out carpet, creaky floorboard, general decoration needs reviewing, the dining room features a kind of "sail" that is saturated by years of ingrained dirt / grease and stained by smoke when smoking was allowed.

The food /service: the cutlery, plates etc has seen better days, the service was delivered by a chap that had troubles lining up few English words correctly together, being a waiter is a skilled job that requires attention, finesse, care etc.. we are not in McDonald's here!!! for god sake,
Dinner took ages to come once ordered, then I asked for an extra portion of chips which was agreed upon by the waiter but first clearly had to show that he wasn't happy with it as he had other more important things to do, £19.95 for two courses !!! , normally £10 but I dared asking for an extra and it turned out to be three bits of miserable white fish soaked in cream.... People !!!please....(McDonalds wasn't a bad idea after all)
At breakfast we were served coffee which was so strong I could spooned it out the cup, standard fried up single plastic like sausage, gooey dried up beans, and a rubber egg : )

Our room: featured its own illegal double wired bed side lamp ( two wires running to one plug), the bathroom smelled of damp, shower head clogged up with limescale, mirror delaminating, kettle not working and was right above the pub below, half midnight people brawling and singing and generally being busy being drunk and obviously not giving a monkey that they are in a hotel.

Sadly a place like this still run and will still make money.... why you're asking?? simply because they know they can get away with it, so many places are run the same way it wouldn't take much to improve things, attention to details and caring for customers should be priority and be at the top of the list, it is so short sighted from the owner, cutting corners by offering a bad product and charging the earth for it, false saving Sir

I forgot a single highlight, reception staff was pleasant and polite

£95 for a double room....one night? people !please.... look around the world what you can get for that amount.....
I will not recommend this place

Imperial hotel get a grip!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBlue984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torteval hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torteval
4.4 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
4.9 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
3.5 mi away
Le Chene Hotel
Le Chene Hotel
#1 of 2 in Torteval
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Trelade Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Imperial Hotel Pleinmont, Torteval GY8 0PS
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Torteval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torteval
Imperial Hotel Guernsey/Torteval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing