We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but clean !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
poole dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Basic but clean !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Just returned from a few days break we stayed at this hotel because they take dogs , we were in room 5 at the back of the hotel, but for great views over the bay ask for a room at the front of the hotel,our room was very clean but a bit tired in places the bed was comfortable the only problem we had was with the t v as the reception was not great at times and we had to keep re-tuning it !
The breakfast was really good with plenty to choose from and the waiter was very pleasant and helpful, this hotel has a great position right on the beach with great views !
I would go back again if I had to accommodate my dog .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pilatus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    72
    27
    12
    15
See reviews for
28
84
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I recently returned to Guernsey with my two sisters, mother of 92! and her friend of 82 years. We decided to have an evening meal at the Imperial hotel having had an excellent lunch there a couple of years ago. We were not disappointed. Whilst the hotel is a little shabby particularly in the bar area we had booked a table in the restaurant. This room was much more up to date and although we were too late to get a window seat our table was still in a position where we could see out of 3 big windows and get a great view of the rocky bay and the setting sun. We only had a couple of courses and on the set menu it was £10 for 2 or,I think, £12-95 for 3. Very good value. I had salmon fishcakes to start followed by the duck stir-fry both very nice. Others had various other options and the portions were so generous that to be honest one or two people did leave a little....certainly not because of the quality of the food. To be frank I think we could all have just managed with one course but you don't know do you?.and you want to try other things. The staff, mainly from Eastern Europe,were very pleasant and effcient and had a good command of the English language. This is a good un-pretentious hotel and deserves good feedback. Well done Imperial!!.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deepestdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights 12 - 15 June 2013. We previously stayed 5 years ago and I must say it is still as good as it ever was. Sabrina was very welcoming and made us feel at home. The room we had was booked last minute so I assume it was one of the smaller rooms but was still comfortable and the facilities were very good. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and if any extra food was required, we only had to ask. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and I will possibly be contacting Sabrina with the intention of booking 3 or 4 rooms for a family trip early next year.

Room Tip: Book early for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Good food, excellent breakfast, staff very accommodating.
We took our little dog along which was a great bonus. And he stayed for free.
Not many pet friendly hotels about.
Will certainly return if I am Guernsey.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdhenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

This may be listed as a 2 star hotel but the service and accommodations could not be faulted. Excellent food, spacious accommodation, scenic views and welcoming and pre-friendly staff. Will definitely be returning

Room Tip: Rear rooms do not have view so best to request front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

When booking, I had read the most recent, varied, reviews and went hoping that our review would be better than average. Unfortunately, we were a bit disappointed on a number of counts.
From first entering the hotel, the appearance was dowdy and tired, with a well trodden track across the mat inside the door and no sign of any staff.
Our check in was 'done' by a member of staff from the bar ( Notice on hotel desk read ' if un-attended, please call member of bar staff') Greeting was non-existent and we were given our key (17) and when we asked for directions to the room were told 'up the stairs and look for the number!'...........no offer of assistance with cases or any other form of welcome at all.
We had booked a room with balcony and sea view and and number 17 did have these, but looked nowhere near as clean and smart as the hotel literature and website pictures would suggest. Very much let down by the dirty window frame, poorly hung net curtain and curtain with missing hook.
The bedding was very clean and tidy with soft, clean, very white towels on the bed and in the bathroom and were replaced each day. The decor was fresh and clean looking, but the furnishings were ageing and dowdy, especially the well stained refreshments table which also acted as the stand for the miniature TV. This would have been far better wall mounted and away from the kettle!
The Waters Edge Restaurant, with well laid tables and 'proper' tablecloths, was used for breakfast and the breakfast served was very good and the views superb.
The menu choice in the bar and restaurant was good and the food tasty and plentiful and good value (also same price in both bar and restaurant) and much visited by locals and non residents. They have, quite rightly, a good reputation locally.
The location is great, car parking on site (if you are lucky) but available opposite the hotel on the sea front for 23 hours a day. Wifi ? occasionally connectable, but only near to the 'hub' in the reception area.
Would we return again? Yes, at some time in the future when other reviewers have reported a reasonable level of refurbishment, especially of the rooms. (Room note - of the balconied rooms, 17 has the only un-interrupted view)

Room Tip: Of the balconied rooms, No. 17 (furthest away from reception) has the best uninterrupted seaward vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GLADMAN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were met by the owners and were given a lovely greeting as well as our dog Ellie. The room with a sea view was perfect and an ideal location for our dog as across the road and you are on a lovely sandy beach and many walks close by.
Our friends joined us for an evening meal and they said it was some of the best mussels they had had on Guernsey for some time.
For a 2 star hotel we could not fault and will definitely be going back, excellent value for money

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave5119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torteval
4.9 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Le Chene Hotel
Le Chene Hotel
#1 of 2 in Torteval
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
5.7 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
5.3 mi away
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#5 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Imperial Hotel Pleinmont, Torteval GY8 0PS
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Torteval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torteval
Imperial Hotel Guernsey/Torteval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing