We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, attractive staff”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
1 review
“Fantastic stay, attractive staff”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Having recently stayed in the Imperial for a week with my Grandad i quickly came to realise how fantastic the hotel actually is. Apart from being moved table a few times at breakfast by a stunningly beautiful waitress who looked remarkably like Lauren from Eastenders, i really have nothing to be disapointed by. Great table service by young, short , attractive English waitress, whom i might add should have no hesitation in giving me a phonecall

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomfewkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    76
    27
    13
    15
See reviews for
28
90
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

.A favourite restaurant for us as great views and good value food . Welcome we felt was less than warm albeit service was good except the wait of 30 minutes for a lamb shank and sirloin steak. At least two other tables who ordered after us were served with their food first. The lamb shank was excellent as was the sirloin steak- sadly the 'chips' were cool, there were 40 mushrooms- excessive. Spent most of the meal trying to swat away a nuisance of a fly. Remarkably quiet for nomally such a popular restaurant

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerardWiltshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Just returned from a few days break we stayed at this hotel because they take dogs , we were in room 5 at the back of the hotel, but for great views over the bay ask for a room at the front of the hotel,our room was very clean but a bit tired in places the bed was comfortable the only problem we had was with the t v as the reception was not great at times and we had to keep re-tuning it !
The breakfast was really good with plenty to choose from and the waiter was very pleasant and helpful, this hotel has a great position right on the beach with great views !
I would go back again if I had to accommodate my dog .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilatus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I recently returned to Guernsey with my two sisters, mother of 92! and her friend of 82 years. We decided to have an evening meal at the Imperial hotel having had an excellent lunch there a couple of years ago. We were not disappointed. Whilst the hotel is a little shabby particularly in the bar area we had booked a table in the restaurant. This room was much more up to date and although we were too late to get a window seat our table was still in a position where we could see out of 3 big windows and get a great view of the rocky bay and the setting sun. We only had a couple of courses and on the set menu it was £10 for 2 or,I think, £12-95 for 3. Very good value. I had salmon fishcakes to start followed by the duck stir-fry both very nice. Others had various other options and the portions were so generous that to be honest one or two people did leave a little....certainly not because of the quality of the food. To be frank I think we could all have just managed with one course but you don't know do you?.and you want to try other things. The staff, mainly from Eastern Europe,were very pleasant and effcient and had a good command of the English language. This is a good un-pretentious hotel and deserves good feedback. Well done Imperial!!.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepestdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights 12 - 15 June 2013. We previously stayed 5 years ago and I must say it is still as good as it ever was. Sabrina was very welcoming and made us feel at home. The room we had was booked last minute so I assume it was one of the smaller rooms but was still comfortable and the facilities were very good. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and if any extra food was required, we only had to ask. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and I will possibly be contacting Sabrina with the intention of booking 3 or 4 rooms for a family trip early next year.

Room Tip: Book early for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Good food, excellent breakfast, staff very accommodating.
We took our little dog along which was a great bonus. And he stayed for free.
Not many pet friendly hotels about.
Will certainly return if I am Guernsey.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdhenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This may be listed as a 2 star hotel but the service and accommodations could not be faulted. Excellent food, spacious accommodation, scenic views and welcoming and pre-friendly staff. Will definitely be returning

Room Tip: Rear rooms do not have view so best to request front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torteval
4.9 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
204 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
757 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
545 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Imperial Hotel Pleinmont, Torteval GY8 0PS
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Torteval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivalled panoramic sea views ,safe sandy beaches with crystal clear waters , adjoining twenty miles of south coast cliff paths have made the Imperial Hotel a popular choice for over a 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torteval
Imperial Hotel Guernsey/Torteval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing