We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Location”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 8 March 2007

My husband, daughter (15) and I spent 5 nights at the Imperial as my daughter was on a mid-term break we decided to go somwhere different. After some surfing we came accross this hotel and whilst there was only one bad report on Tripadvisor we decided to go ahead. We got a great deal which even included a free car whilst we were there! The hotel location is a great plus as we were looking out onto Rocquaine Bay. The hotel proprietors Sabrina & Gavin Marsh made us feel very welcome as did the hotel staff who were very nice and attentive. They food was also excellent with a wide variety to suit everyone palate! The main restaurant is beautiful with views of the sea, make sure to ask for a table by the window! Our room with a view of the bay was very clean and comfortable with all the mod cons, hairdryer, power shower, tv with DVD player. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone as it was great value, good food, excellent views, clean accommodation and most of all friendly proprietors and staff.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank TommyLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    75
    27
    12
    15
See reviews for
28
87
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2007

we booked our holiday in June of 2006 during a particularly bad year thinking a break at Christmas would help cheer us up.

The Christmas lunch consisted of processed turkey, plated up with hot gravy, frozen veg including 2 brussell sprouts cooked for the same period of time as peas. This was produced on a tea plate with 2 new potatoes in their skins, two processed roast potatoes and bits of frozen veg. We were shocked - the restaurant was full - if they cannot cope with all numbers and produce decent food they should stick to limited amounts.

On despairing of the meals we went a la carte - big mistake.
My prawn cocktail turned up on the plate as a prawn salad and two medium rare steaks turned up - with no embellishment - as a very strong rare. In fairness, after complaining we did not pay for these.

The lounge bar in the hotel has been transformed into an additional restaurant which means there is nowhere to sit and have a drink except the public bar - this entails going outside and in again round the side, not very convenient.

When I booked this hotel we read this site and believed it would be a really good break but unbeknown to us the hotel changed hands in November - be warned, unless they pick up their game a stay here could dissappoint you badly.

  • Liked — we were only there for a short time
  • Disliked — that we were stuck there
  • Tips/Secrets — try another hotel
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NorwichCheated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2006

We have stayed on Guernsey many times, mostly self-catering. But in April we stayed at the The Imeprial Hotel. Well what a fantastic location for a hotel. Friendly staff and Ray our host was excellent.
The food was moer than we had expected. With our sea-view room, to go to sleep with the sound of the sea was great.
We only stayed for 4 days but wished it could have been longer. We have no hesitation in recommeding The Imperial to others.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank canonman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 May 2005

We stayed at the Imperial for ten days recently. We had a fabulous time. We found our room to be spotlessly clean and towels were changed every day.
The view from our window of the bay was quite breathtaking.

We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly especially the staff in the restaurant. The food was exellent and plenty of it!

The Hotel is in a very handy location being right opposite the bus stop and also with a spectacular cliff walk which starts about 500 yards from the Hotel.

All in all, we had no complaints apart from one small one. There is no lounge for residents to relax in after dinner. Well, it's not really a complaint, more of an observation.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 May 2005

stayed in this hotel in april 2005.

low cost, less than 30 pounds a night. Lovely view of the bay.
full english breakfast included. Nice walks directly from the hotel.
bus to st peter port stops outside if you do not have a car, and with their
twisty roads, this is a relaxing way to travel. The rooms are a little worn, but very clean. Staff are helpful

  • Stayed April 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torteval
4.9 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
5.7 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
5.3 mi away
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#6 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Imperial Hotel Pleinmont, Torteval GY8 0PS
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Torteval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivalled panoramic sea views ,safe sandy beaches with crystal clear waters , adjoining twenty miles of south coast cliff paths have made the Imperial Hotel a popular choice for over a 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torteval
Imperial Hotel Guernsey/Torteval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing