We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views, super food, lovely staff”

Le Gouffre Cafe and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Torteval
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$44
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: rui and angelina welcome you to le gouffre cafe and restaurant.alfresco dining with south coast views over the cliff tops and out to sea. beautiful cliff walks
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful views, super food, lovely staff”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The restaurant has a cliff top setting with beautiful views over the Channel. On a sunny days, as you eat you can watch the yachts pass by. Wild flowers are prolific and there are interesting birds to see as well.
There are a good number of tables outside, which on a warm day is a real bonus. From inside the restaurant still has fantastic views and it's furnished in a country style. The food, which after all is what really afters, is delicious. Shellfish and fish are fresh, well-presented and reasonably priced. Meat dishes are good too. There's plenty of choice, so there's something for everyone. Salads are prepared to order, so no drooping lettuce and dried up cucumber! We aren't into puddings or cakes, but looking at other people's orders made us sorely tempted!
We found all the staff attentive, friendly
and very helpful. I can't rate this restaurant too highly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaLeVasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    77
    11
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly and accommodating”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We found the restaurant by accident and enjoyed a delightful lunch - I had a crab sandwich that could have been a main course due to its physical size not its cost. Over the week we returned several times either at lunchtime or for dinner and they were always friendly and helpful, accommodating however many of us arrived and giving us good service and a friendly smile. The menu was several pages long offering something for everyone; the lobster thermidore was delicious and I wish they were closer to home as I would love to visit again and again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arnab_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The waitress was blunt and unhelpful when we arrived, almost like we were a nuisance. The waiter when we were eventually seated was friendly and hospitable though. Not much choice on the menu and very over priced. Food was average and starter of crab cakes very small and over seasoned so couldn't taste the crab at all. Nice atmosphere and beautiful views but I would have expected more since I was paying so much!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“What a delightful place”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by the lady looking after the shipwreck museum and we were certainly not disappointed. During our 4-night stay on Guernsey, we managed to have morning coffee, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner at this restaurant. Real ale as well which was a nice bonus.

Superb location (relatively accessible by Guernsey standards!) and run by a lovely Portuguese family. For dinner, we had the sea bass for two to share and it was absolutely magnificent. The beef looked magnificent also.

Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“No one had a clue what was going on”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We went into this place in a lovely setting to get afternoon drinks and a snack. We sat down and eventually after 5 minutes of sitting around I asked for a menu... The waitress said "yes" and then did nothing. Eventually a woman who was possibly the owner came over and asked us what we wanted. We asked for a menu? And were then told kitchen was shut (which is fine but surely they still have a menu for cakes and stuff.... No.... We were then shown the small stand of cakes, and taken out back and shown the ice cream freezer. We asked for cake and coffee... No idea how much any of this was. Another couple seemed to have tea and scones but god know how that was obtainable. We then sat watching countless other couples coming in and having the same bizarre baffling experience. In their defence the cakes and coffee were actually very nice but the service was confusing and unfriendly which ruined the experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Gouffre Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

St Martins, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
Guernsey, Channel Islands
 

Been to Le Gouffre Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing