We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so raving review for Le Chene”
Review of Le Chene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Chene Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not so raving review for Le Chene”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was our third visit to Le Chene within a year, we had two visits in 2013 June and September and our Third visit was last week for 8 nights on the Half Board basis, where as during 2013 it was B&B.

I have to say after our first visit in June 2013 we both raved about Le Chene, we really enjoyed our stay, first and foremost, we were looking for excellent meals at each end of the day, and we got that hence the reason for booking on Half Board basis in June 2014. Unlike many other reviews talking about dated decor this was not a problem with us, as we had good accommodation, the room was clean throughout as with all our visits.

The main thrust of this review is bring attention to the Meals during our visit last week, Breakfast is the same as last year, this includes a full range of Cereals, Juices, Fruits, a full English Cooked Breakfast, Cooked Fish including Kippers, Smoked Haddock, as well as Continental Breakfast with Sliced Ham and Cheese.
Our recent visit; Full English Breakfast was served Cold, this was on cold plates as well as cold food. The Smoked Haddock was served partially cooked, this was still raw.

Our recent Dinners over the 8 evenings were yet again mostly served on Cold Plates for the Main, the Menu lacked imagination as the main meal over 3 nights were just an adaptation of the previous nights meal, food was heavily Salted also, we are not adverse to a heavy salt diet more especially due to our Health. The Desert was a joke; one evening we had Glaced Banana which was two finely cut strips of Banana which could have been eaten in one spoonful. We also had Chocolate Mousse, this was served in a very small type Clip Top Kilner Jars,, frankly speaking we found this unacceptable.

The waiting staff are perfect as always and there have been no changes from last year, however I do understand there have been some changes with the Chef, evidently this is where the problems are with our visit this year,

Within the first couple of days of our visit we drew our concerns to the management of Le Chene, only to be advised that the Hotel Inspectors found no problems with the Menu. I had hoped that the management would have been more proactive in the sense by saying how can we remedy your stay with us rather than saying what the Inspectors found. Baring in mind we are all Hotel Inspectors when we can bring the matter into such a forum as The Trip Advisor.

We regarded Food and our Meals to be our # 1 priority.

The Total cost of our stay at Le Chene for 8 days was £1271.00 on the Half Board basis for a Superior Room and two people.

it is now with a heavy heart that we'll not be staying at Le Chene on future visits to GCI Guernsey.

Thank you for reading my report.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerlechene, Manager at Le Chene Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2015
thank you for your review. we appreciate customer feed back and have undergone a major refurbhisment in the winter of 2014, given a more fresh look to our public areas, restaurant, bar and most rooms including bathrooms. we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again to le chene in the future. Kind regards Niek van Zutphen Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    56
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
74
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Krapkowice, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The service was excellent and the food tasty. My wife and I had used property' s facilities such as sauna and jacuzzi. Very enjoyable stay. We will definitely come back there
Pozdrowienia z Polski:)
Greets from Polen!

Room Tip: Service, rooms, views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maciek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis de Sabinillas, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel was a £10 ride out of town and to close to the airport for most taxis to pick up, maybe the hotel should consider an airport shuttle. Having said that, the airport bus, stops right outside the hotel.
Le Chene is clean,tidy and very friendly

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seapath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I first stayed at Le chene nine years ago after my chosen hotel had double booked and had no room for me.The welcome I received was wonderful. The hotel is always very clean;the food delicious and plentiful. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. This year Niek has added a hot tub and sauna in the garden. Beautiful walks are a couple of minutes from the front door and the lovely Petit Bo beach a fifteen minute walk downhill. I am looking forward to visiting again next year - my twelfth visit I think.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guernseygirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

During the Tennerfest in October we usually try restaurants that we would not frequent. We are normally pleasantly surprised with our choices... not so Le Chene.
We had never been to this hotel before so thought we would give it a try.
On walking through the front door we did have second thoughts, very old décor that had seen better days but we thought we would give them the benefit of the doubt.
We didn't see anyone about so wondered down to the bar which I must say also made us think again about our choice for an evening meal. Tatty plastic seating, round tables with no covering, and a general air of decay.
We were greeted eventually by a waiter who took our order.
The dining room was an improvement on the bar area, but the food was not!
Frozen tartlet, with mixed wilted leaves, steak with a dressing that was sour and inedible, and potatoes that looked and tasted as if they had been re used!!
We left most of our meal and vowed never to return

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tortoisetheterrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I recently spent four days staying here, visiting friends on the island. The hotel does have an old-fashioned air, but for me that's a plus. As a solo traveller, I was expecting to be shoved into a gloomy, dirty broom-cupboard next to a noisy boiler, because that's the usual pattern. But no, I was treated from the start, when I rolled in tired at the crack of dawn and was asked if I'd had breakfast, as a "proper" guest. My room was spacious, quiet, clean, warm and comfortable. OK, it looked out the side of the building.. But you can't have everything.

Most importantly, Niek and his team were attentive without being intrusive, and couldn't have been more helpful. They were happy to suggest short walks for a tired traveller (the 15-minute stroll down through woods to the beautiful bay of Petit Bot is a must) and longer cycle rides for a recovered one.. The pool had been put to bed for winter when I arrived, but the water was still warm enough to swim in, and they were happy to take the cover off again, just for me.

Breakfasts were very good (killer poached egg!) and served with efficiency and courtesy - just what you need first thing! I didn't eat in in the evening, but if breakfasts were anything to go by, the standard would be good.

The availability of - good, well-maintained - bikes (electric ones if you like) is a bonus. There's a route guide, on quiet lanes and back-roads and one of the circular routes can be done straight from the hotel; this one takes in the German Underground Hospital and the mad but intriguing Little Chapel.

The hotel's in a very handy spot, fifteen minutes walk from the airport, on bus routes into St Peter Port (about 20 mins) and the route that goes round the island. The stop is right outside and timetables are available in the hotel. The airport isn't busy enough for noise to be a problem, but plane enthusiasts can still enjoy some close-up views just 5 minutes from the door!

Minor down sides: The decor is a bit shabby, which mostly doesn't matter, but things like peeling wallpaper in bedrooms could be a bit depressing.. And my shower had to be hand-held, because in its bracket the only thing it washed was the wall. (Hence the nit-picky four, rather than five, vote rating) But things like this won't stop me from coming back, or recommending the hotel. Over and above anything else, it has a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerlechene, Manager at Le Chene Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. ref the wallpaper / shower you are right your room was getting a bit tired, we are closing at the end of October (end of season) and will then have the time to give everything a proper fresh up for 2014, re-opening in March and hoping to welcome you once again :)
Warm regards and once again thank you for your review,
Niek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have just spent 4days/5nights at this hotel and it was a very pleasant stay. The staff were friendly and helpful we had b/b and the food was great we also ate in 2 nights and the quality and quantity was excellent. The hotel has a very continental feel about it which we liked quite old fashioned but very clean. The pool was available whilst we was there and it was warm and peaceful and I took full use of it The hotel is a 20 minute walk down a steep hill to the beach which is lovely and well worth the effort.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cueball64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torteval
3.6 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#6 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chene Hotel

Property: Le Chene Hotel
Address: Forest Road, Torteval GY8 0AH
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Torteval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Chene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chene Guernsey
Le Chene Hotel Guernsey/Torteval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing