We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 Night stay at Le Chene”
Review of Le Chene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Chene Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My friend and I have just got back from our holiday in Guernsey where we have been many times before and love the island. I decided to book Le Chene as there was a bus stop outside the hotel, my friend is disabled and we don't drive. There was also a free bus pass included which proved very useful and lasted the week. We had a twin room overlooking the garden on there were a few stairs to go down to the bedroom from the reception but once down them we were on a level with lounge and dining room and garden and pool.
The room we had was number7 and it was good and a bathroom with shower everything was spotless. very comfortable mattresses we slept well.

We had half board and the food was good and plentiful. The staff were very helpful and friendly I would like to go back one year The weather was hot and sunny the whole week

Room Tip: our room was a superior room and we could walk out into the garden
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Le Chene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago for three nights. The hotel was clean and comfortable,the bedroom was quite small but with plenty of storage space, but the decoration was very dated and needs an update. Great breakfast served by very friendly staff. We only had one evening meal at the hotel and this was very good. Be warned that it is near the airport and some people might find the noise a problem, we didn't. A good location for exploring the island.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobhellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had an unexpected few days at Le Chene this week and enjoyed ourselves very much. Having the pool outside was lovely and as long as you ate in the hotel in the evening, you got free use of the jacuzzi and sauna for an hour at night (odd I know).
The hotel was very clean with friendly staff, although the furnishings were quite dated and the bath and shower screen needed renewing. Once I'd rehung the curtains and my husband had put WD40 on our squeaky door (and the neighbours asked as well!) we felt much more comfortable. The manager was a bit lackadaisical, but the rest of the staff were lovely. Don't try to get a drink at the bar after 11 though, because it closes and they turn the lights off on you lol - first time that's happened to us in a hotel. Being close to the airport had an unexpected hitch, when a plane crashed 200 yards down the road and the road was closed off, but they couldn't help that!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerlechene, Director of Sales at Le Chene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2015

Thank you for your review. this winter the hotel, it's public areas and hotel rooms have been given a facelift to provide a more fresh look whilst maintaining it's traditional character we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the future. kind regards niek van zutphen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was our third visit to Le Chene within a year, we had two visits in 2013 June and September and our Third visit was last week for 8 nights on the Half Board basis, where as during 2013 it was B&B.

I have to say after our first visit in June 2013 we both raved about Le Chene, we really enjoyed our stay, first and foremost, we were looking for excellent meals at each end of the day, and we got that hence the reason for booking on Half Board basis in June 2014. Unlike many other reviews talking about dated decor this was not a problem with us, as we had good accommodation, the room was clean throughout as with all our visits.

The main thrust of this review is bring attention to the Meals during our visit last week, Breakfast is the same as last year, this includes a full range of Cereals, Juices, Fruits, a full English Cooked Breakfast, Cooked Fish including Kippers, Smoked Haddock, as well as Continental Breakfast with Sliced Ham and Cheese.
Our recent visit; Full English Breakfast was served Cold, this was on cold plates as well as cold food. The Smoked Haddock was served partially cooked, this was still raw.

Our recent Dinners over the 8 evenings were yet again mostly served on Cold Plates for the Main, the Menu lacked imagination as the main meal over 3 nights were just an adaptation of the previous nights meal, food was heavily Salted also, we are not adverse to a heavy salt diet more especially due to our Health. The Desert was a joke; one evening we had Glaced Banana which was two finely cut strips of Banana which could have been eaten in one spoonful. We also had Chocolate Mousse, this was served in a very small type Clip Top Kilner Jars,, frankly speaking we found this unacceptable.

The waiting staff are perfect as always and there have been no changes from last year, however I do understand there have been some changes with the Chef, evidently this is where the problems are with our visit this year,

Within the first couple of days of our visit we drew our concerns to the management of Le Chene, only to be advised that the Hotel Inspectors found no problems with the Menu. I had hoped that the management would have been more proactive in the sense by saying how can we remedy your stay with us rather than saying what the Inspectors found. Baring in mind we are all Hotel Inspectors when we can bring the matter into such a forum as The Trip Advisor.

We regarded Food and our Meals to be our # 1 priority.

The Total cost of our stay at Le Chene for 8 days was £1271.00 on the Half Board basis for a Superior Room and two people.

it is now with a heavy heart that we'll not be staying at Le Chene on future visits to GCI Guernsey.

Thank you for reading my report.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerlechene, Manager at Le Chene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2015

thank you for your review. we appreciate customer feed back and have undergone a major refurbhisment in the winter of 2014, given a more fresh look to our public areas, restaurant, bar and most rooms including bathrooms. we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again to le chene in the future. Kind regards Niek van Zutphen Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The service was excellent and the food tasty. My wife and I had used property' s facilities such as sauna and jacuzzi. Very enjoyable stay. We will definitely come back there
Pozdrowienia z Polski:)
Greets from Polen!

Room Tip: Service, rooms, views
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maciek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel was a £10 ride out of town and to close to the airport for most taxis to pick up, maybe the hotel should consider an airport shuttle. Having said that, the airport bus, stops right outside the hotel.
Le Chene is clean,tidy and very friendly

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seapath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I first stayed at Le chene nine years ago after my chosen hotel had double booked and had no room for me.The welcome I received was wonderful. The hotel is always very clean;the food delicious and plentiful. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. This year Niek has added a hot tub and sauna in the garden. Beautiful walks are a couple of minutes from the front door and the lovely Petit Bo beach a fifteen minute walk downhill. I am looking forward to visiting again next year - my twelfth visit I think.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guernseygirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torteval
1.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
608 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
873 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Trelade Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
820 reviews
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chene Hotel

Address: Forest Road, Torteval GY8 0AH
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Torteval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Torteval
Price Range: £84 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Le Chene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chene Guernsey
Le Chene Hotel Guernsey/Torteval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing